New to PC Gaming. Been following a build guide from PC gamer. Is this a good build? Any suggestions and any advice is welcome!

djmarks92

Prominent
Dec 24, 2017
I am completely new to PC gaming. Building my first PC and I found this build guide and started ordering parts without doing much research. I just want some opinions on this build. Is it a good build and will it last for a while? Is the room to modify this build to keep up as parts become outdated? Like I said I'm new so any advice helps. Thank you in advance! I'm excited to play games like Escape from Tarkov and PubG at the best settings available. Hopefully this is enough.

CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K

Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix Z370-E

RAM: G.Skill Flare X 16GB DDR4-3200

Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti

Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2

Storage: Samsung 960 Evo 1TB

Cooler: NZXT Kraken X62

Tower: NZXT H440

http://www.pcgamer.com/pc-build-guide-high-end-gaming-pc/

jgustin7b

Commendable
Nov 17, 2017
That’s definitely top of the line. One change I would make is to bring the SSD down to somewhere in te 200-300gb area, maybe down to 120 if you want to save even more, and then put that excess money into 2+ Tb of storage in a traditional hard drive.

djmarks92

Prominent
Dec 24, 2017

Any suggestions on a good Hard drive to look into?

djmarks92

Prominent
Dec 24, 2017

thanks a lot. Will be definitely looking into those hard drives.

djmarks92

Prominent
Dec 24, 2017

Perfect thanks, And Happy Holidays to you as well!!

Yep, that's all top notch stuff, but you COULD trim the price a fair bit, particularly by dropping the SSD capacity and using a normal HDD for bulk storage OR by swapping to the slightly slower but far cheaper SATA 2 1/2" type SSD for all the storage. You could shave more money off by dropping to a lower output ( but not quality ) power supply and moving to a more value orientated motherboard.

Storage: