Distortion from car speakers when bass hits

arthos4551

Reputable
Dec 26, 2014
I recently bought two sets of Polk DB652 and a JVC kd-r888bt receiver to install into my 1984 Nissan 300zx GL. The previous owner had installed a cheap receiver but did not change any of the 33 year old stock speakers. When i purchased the car and got it running i never used the receiver he put in due to it lacking any modern capabilities like Bluetooth or any type of aux/USB connections.

I then installed the new JVC unit and tested out the stock speakers for the first time. They sounded pretty good but there was distortion on bass/loudness in general. I originally thought i was just overpowering the stock speakers due to how old and low their specs were.

So i installed DB652s in the doors and the rear "deck". To my discomfort I'm still getting distortion from all my speakers when any type of bass hits. I've gone through each speaker to make sure the visible wiring was correct.

I'm not an expert on audio in general but does anyone know of any ideas on what could be causing this distortion? Could i be under-powering the speakers now and would the distortion sound the same as when overpowering them? Could there be something wrong with the hidden speaker wires underneath the carpet?

To add, the GL models had a common ground system where the left front and rear shared a ground and the right front and rear share a ground. Could this be causing the problem?

Solution