Upgrade Help Please

thunderhorse007

Prominent
Jan 21, 2018
I have a Gateway DX4370g - uw10 desktop. What could i do to upgrade it better for gaming?

specs-
AMD a6 3620 processor
Rradeon 6530d graphics
6gb ddr3 memory
^ not a solid list but its whats on the side of the case.

im new to computer internals and PC gaming so if you could give me some advice or choices for upgrades thatd be a big help, and if anyone wants to explain how you know these things are compatible (wisdom from years, a web site i could visit, etc) that would be much appreciated

thanks very much

PS
On a post from over 2 years ago someone said try a radeon 7790 and a corsair cx430- 400 W power supply, are those still valid options?

thunderhorse007

Prominent
Jan 21, 2018

honestly I've no idea. I dont know what that is, and i spent like 4 hours trying to find the motherboard specs online but they're nowhere to be found.

I took a quick look around but couldn't find detailed specs. So what I would do is this:

First, open your case and take a look at your power supply. It'll have a label on it that says, among other things, the total power it puts out such as "300W". For cost effectiveness, it would be best to pick a card that did not require you to spend money on a power supply as well. To do that you need to know how much power you have.

Next, you should specify the games you hope to play. Your APU is not that powerful, so to be honest some newer games will be out of the question. For example, yes an HD 7790 aka R7 260x aka R7 360x is a viable card for gaming. But not for the most demanding games at 1080p. For less demanding games, esports type games, stuff like CSGO, sure.

Vic 40

Titan
Ambassador

I linked the appearance above and as suggested above can you look in the pc at the motherboard itself. Have seen pc's like yours where they just didn't put it on the motherboard for whatever reason so better to check.

thunderhorse007

Prominent
Jan 21, 2018
Hey guys,