Windows 10 components across 2 disks?

May 25, 2018
Hi,this is my first time posting here. I hope this is the right place.

I recently reinstalled Windows to my new SSD, with my HDD plugged in, After that, when I look at Computer Management (see attached image), the EFI, WINRETOOLS, and Image partition are still on my HDD. Now, the computer is booting and working ok, but my main concerns are:

1. If the HDD fails before the SSD at some point in the future, Windows won't be able to boot.

2. If I were to do a system image backup of my C drive, the backup won't be complete nor usable because there are Windows components on another disk.

Are those 2 concerns worth worrying about? Would you recommend reinstalling Windows, or are there easier ways to move/ create those partitions on my SSD? Thank you in advance.

Capture.PNG.fb362e6eace4070defad4590c91890bd.PNG

Solution
well 1 is a big pain if you also decide to replace hdd later on

If you haven't installed a great deal I would reinstall win 10 on the ssd without hdd in PC as then it won't repeat this action
If there is data on the ssd you want to save, put it on drive 1 for now since D drive won't be in PC when you reinstall.

You might want to run diskpart at a later time and remove the spare efi on the hdd

there are ways to create an EFI but its safer and easier to just fresh install

@robert1600 that won't work as windows boots off the active or system partition and its on drive 1 (the hdd)

Colif

Win 11 Master
well 1 is a big pain if you also decide to replace hdd later on

If you haven't installed a great deal I would reinstall win 10 on the ssd without hdd in PC as then it won't repeat this action
If there is data on the ssd you want to save, put it on drive 1 for now since D drive won't be in PC when you reinstall.

You might want to run diskpart at a later time and remove the spare efi on the hdd

there are ways to create an EFI but its safer and easier to just fresh install