Computer keeps freezing, happens noticeably more while gaming

Sep 10, 2018
It all started when I was playing Battlefield 4 one day. Suddenly my primary monitor froze. My second monitor stayed on however, and my music and some game sounds continued as well. After around 15 seconds, my second screen froze and the sound stopped as well. I thought that this must have been a one time crash of the game, but it keeps happening since. So now I start my desktop, and after like 2 hours of gaming it freezes. I restart my desktop and everything is normal again, till I start gaming and soon it freezes again. It also has happened once while I was video editing and another time while I was watching Netflix, but it mostly happens when I'm gaming.

I have looked with MSI afterburner, but overheating or a full RAM memory doesn't seem to be the problem.
I'm not really experienced with the tool, but with the eventmanager the only thing I could find was the sudden powering off by me restarting the desktop.
I never received a blue error screen or something similar so I'm not sure what to do now.

My specs:
MB: ASUS P9X79
CPU: Intel Core i7 4820K
RAM: 2x8GB DDR3 933MHz
GPU1: NVIDIA GTX 1070 for monitor 1
GPU2: NVIDIA GTX 650 for monitor 2
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO (1TB)
HDD: Seagate ST1000DM003-1CH162 (1TB)
Nothing overclocked or things like that

Who has any ideas what could be happening or what I could do to find the cause? Thanks in advance!

Bas Cornelissen

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
Run CCleaner first and do the Clean and Registry portions both. Once that is done, run a full virus scan followed by a malwarebytes scan. Then eliminate as much stuff in the tray that starts with Windows that you can. Run those things on an as-need basis if you can live w/o them. After all that, you can be fairly certain that it isn't a software conflict causing the issue. Until you know that, there's no sense looking for hardware problems.

Sep 10, 2018