Liquid Cooling Dilemma for the i7-7700K

Andronew

Reputable
Jul 1, 2014
Hello,

I have the Intel Core i7-7700K processor. I work as a software developer, and I can put the CPU under quite a bit of load when working with it. Speccy shows that I idle around ~43°C and under load, can get upwards of ~75°C. This obviously isn't the greatest nor completely horrible but I've read around that this processor is known to run hot (correct me if I'm wrong). I am currently using the Hyper 212 EVO and have replaced the stock fan with a XIGMATEK FCB fan.

My current case is the Rosewill CHALLENGER and the space is getting pretty crammed. I want to get a closed loop liquid cooling solution but I'm not sure I'll have much room. I have come up with 2 solutions for myself:

Order a larger case now then a liquid cooling solution in December (financial reasons). I'm looking at the Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Series for the case.

Order a liquid cooling solution now then the case above in December (will want to upgrade my GPU in the future so a larger case is needed eventually). With my current case being crammed and wanting something good for the new case, I am looking at the EVGA CLC 240. I don't care for the RGB but this is going for a good price on Amazon at the moment and seems to be of good quality. The only way I would be able to get it to fit right now, though, is by removing one of the fans as it would need to be mounted on my side panel and slip past the GPU.

My main concern is the CPU running so hot. But, with point 2 there, would removing one of the fans make the cooler upgrade negligible to the current performance? Thanks in advance!

1. Your CPU isn't running that hot. Over 85 and I would worry. You wanting it to run lower is normal, but not,necessary.
2. I have the EVGA 280 and love it, one of the better performing AIO.
3. Phanteks Enthoo is a great case.

How you go about it from here is mostly personal preference. I like big space cases, I use a,Corsair 600c carbide.