[SOLVED] Understanding my Laptop

Dec 31, 2018
So, I've had this gaming laptop for 3 years now. It's a Levono 80DU. I am no computer expert, as in I understand the names, I understand what they are used for (RAM for graphics, CPU is the processor, and a few others.) but I have no idea what's better, what GHz is, and all that crazy stuff is. I'll explain more on here.
In DirectX it says I have;
System
Processor: Intel Core i7-4720HQ CPU 2.60GHz (8 CPUS).
Memory: 16384MB Ram

Display
Intel HD Graphics 4600
Approx. Total Memory: 2160 MB
Display Memory (VRAM): 112 MB

Render
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Approx. Total Memory: 12203 MB
Display Memory (VRAM): 4055 MB

but one thing I'm confused about is within my computer's settings it says my RAM is 16.0 GB
That, I would just like to understand is all.

What I really started this for what about Framerate on games and such. See, I don't understand what the difference betwen the intel i5 and the intel i7 is. Is one better than the other or no? I have two things to help my laptop to stay cool but it still gets up there in tempurature.

Thank you! ~<3

Solution
An Intel I5 of your CPU's generation only has 4 cores and doesn't support hyperthreading. An i7 (like your CPU) has 4 cores but supports hyperthreading. What hyperthreading does is creates 4 virtual cores so that your CPU acts like it has 8 cores. You have the better of the 2 CPU choices. It is more complicated than that now, but that is basic difference.

GHZ is the speed of the CPU, 1 hz = 1 cycle = 1 action CPU can do ina second. so 1 Gigahertz = 1 billion cycles per second. So yes, PC are pretty fast and competent these days. Your CPU can do 3.6 billion cycles per second, potentially on multiple cores at once. https://ark.intel.com/products/78934/Intel-Core-i7-4720HQ-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3-60-GHz-

Framerate in games in your PC...

Colif

Win 11 Master