Best OC HSF for E6750 for around £15-20

obuk2k

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2010
hey everyone

I want to overclock my aging e6750 just to squeeze a little more performance out (especially since i dont have money for a new processor atm). what is your opinion on the best HSF for this processor/type for around £15-£20. there are two that seem to stand out so far from what i have read.

the Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 and the Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus

Do you guys know of any others that might be good to consider ?

Im very new to the whole world of overclocking but, after reading some guides on the net, I have OC'ed the chip to 3ghz
and it runs at (according to core temp) 41C Idle and 55-7 Load and 67 during a Prime 95 test.

I dont really want to much beyond this atm because i read the max recommended temp for an E6750 was 70C (dunno if this is correct or not).

also what is the advantage/disadvantage of linked or unlinked FSB for cpu and memory ?

any help or advice on how to get the most out of this chip would be very appreciated :D

thanks very much

Spec:
Asus P5N32-E SLI PLUS
e6750g.jpg

Thermaltake Toughpower 800W
Thermaltake soprano DX case
2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer, 2GB Crucial ballistix (both ddr2 800)

Wolygon

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2010
Hello, the CM Hyper 212+ is a much better cooler than the other and also the best budget cooler available.

I wouldn't really want my chip at 67'C for long periods of time. Personally I'd probably say under 65 is good but I would prefer 60 for a constant OC. Thats for me with my 7400, assuming there the sameish.

I would have thought that your ram would have held you back by now (since its 800MHz)...What speed is it running at? I remember I think I had to OC my RAM slightly when I went for 4GHz, that was an FSB of 380 and I had 1066MHz RAM. Maybe your motherboard can lower the FSB:RAM multiplier more than mine...