Dell - Studio XPS Desktop with Intel® Core™ i7-920 Processor

Elliryx

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
This is my new computer i just bought 2 weeks ago. im thinking about overclocking it? is it possible? and also i want to buy the Corsair Dominator Memory. i just need help because im new to overclocking and i dont want to fry my motherboard. pls HELP me thx this is a Dell pc i got from bestbuy thank you
ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7

Processor Speed2.66GHz

Cache Memory8MB on die Level 2

System Memory (RAM)4GB

System Memory (RAM) Expandable To12GB

Type of Memory (RAM)DDR3 SDRAM

Hard Drive TypeSATA (7200 rpm)

Hard Drive Size640GB

GraphicsATI RADEON HD 4850

Video Memory512MB

silversurfernhs

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2009
why do you need to overclock it... it seems too much of a mainstream pc to overclock. does it use a dell proprietary mobo? your risk could be higher, and obviosly youd void the warranty for the whole system... how much was it, the 899 one? honestly if you were to get into overclocking, you shoud start with custom built sys so that if you do fry a part youd have only wasted the amount that part was, instead of voiding the whole sys warranty

i dont mean to sound like a negetive nag but, the price : performance gain ratio is a lil high consodering the risk involved, good luck!!

Elliryx

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
ahhh ok i only use my pc for WOW (dota) Counter Strike and Ragnarok Online. but it came with a 4 GB Memory. and i want to make it to 9GB Memory is that possible? and also id like to buy the Corsair Dominator? or i should just buy the Corsair dominator 6GB Memory and dont use the other 4 memorys that i have i got this pc for 999 @best buy. how do i find out which motherboard i have? to make sure i buy the right Memory for my pc ty

silversurfernhs

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2009