£1500 Budget including monitor and peripherals

samducker

Honorable
Dec 17, 2012
Hi guys,

I want to build a pc for gaming whilst also having a nice monitor (27 inch) and some nice headphones because I am studying music at university and appreciate good quality sound and always nice to have a big screen to do your essays on!

So basically I've discovered it would save me a *** ton of money to build my own pc well I'd get more for my money(is this very true then)? The games I play are like Diablo, Starcraft(want to play upcoming expansion at max settings and future games at max settings), league of legends. and I usually will have music playing in the background on spotify and some browser tabs open and maybe a word document or two.

Could you give me some advice on what components to buy as of today, and if its super beneficial to wait a month or two before buying or if me buying now is ok?

My budget is around £1500 for everything(monitor and pc), I mean if theres something abit above that, that will really push it to the next level I can afford to go higher but I'd prefer not to as I know the higher you go theres diminishing returns on the performance you get to cost.

It's a good budget to get a really nice setup, though a quality 27"er would eat into it quite a bit. I'd only ever recommend IPS-panel displays if you care about image quality and a 27" IPS is gonna cost you. The Dell U2412 is a really excellent 24" IPS panel, and there's a 27" option too. I was a bit dubious initially about Dell offering quality monitors, but they're actually some of the very best now (at least until you get into Eizos and Lacies costing you £800+ for a 24"er).