First time build advice £800

tommau5

Honorable
Nov 12, 2012
First of all, hello. :) I've heard you guys are very helpful but I'm new to the PC building business, so be gentle. ;)

Approximate Purchase Date: in about a month

Budget Range: 800 (possibly more, not sure so 800 is max for now)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming is the main priority but I also would like to run DAWs like Cubase, FL Studio etc

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: CPU, GPU, mobo, case, ram, HDD, PSU, cooler

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: amazon, cclonline, overclockers.. not too fussy to be honest

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU is my only real preference

Overclocking: Maybe if I learn how

SLI or Crossfire: I think I would like the option to do either

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I don't care how the case/tower looks, as long as it does the job. I'm particularly interested in playing Skyrim with visual mods, if this is possible at my budget. I also want to play BF3, probably CoD, Minecraft, Guild Wars 2 and others.

This is currently what I've came up with. I really don't know what GPU or case to go with so feel free to add and change anything.

http://pcpartpicker.com/uk/p/ntmE

I'm sure I can probably get some of those parts for better prices, e.g there was an i5-3570k 3.4ghz in a store today for £140, which is worth bearing in mind I guess.

malbluff

Honorable
This basically meets your wish list.
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor (£166.16 @ CCL Computers)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£26.12 @ Ebuyer)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard (£119.24 @ Amazon UK)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory (£30.96 @ Scan.co.uk)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£54.99 @ Ebuyer)