[HELP - Earn £30!] i7 3770k + Asus P8Z68-V Pro + Corsair 16GB + GTX 68

yinne

Honorable
Jun 2, 2012
Afternoon All,

I hope you can help me with this problem. I have just finished building my second system but it just doesn't boot. The specs are as follows:

NZXT Phantom Black Full Tower Case
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 Socket 1155
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz Socket 1155 8MB Cache
Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz Low Profile
Palit GTX 680 Jetstream 2GB Dual DVI HDMI PCI-E
Crucial 256GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III - Read 500MB/s Write 260MB/s
Western Digital 2TB SATA 6Gbps - Caviar Green
OCZ ZX Series 850W 80+ GOLD PSU Fully Modular PSU
LiteOn iHAS124 SATA DVD Optical Drive | OEM
Noctua NH-D14 Dual Radiator and Fan Socket LGA1366, LGA1156, LGA1155

I work in the ICT industry so I obviously know my way around a computer. I have previously built a system but it was a year and a half ago.

The main problem I have at the moment is that the system does not post. This is the exact series of events that happens:

1. Press the power button
2. CPU LED on mobo flashes on for half a second.
3. RAM LED flashes on for half a second
4. CPU LED flashes for a split second
5. RAM LED flashes on for a second
6. CPU LED flashes on
7. All power is suddenly lost. All lights go out except the power and reset lights on the motherboard.
8. After about 5 seconds, the computer restarts, all lights come on and the process starts again.

I have been extremely careful to handle the components carefully without touching anything that would short them out. I have tried the standard fixes, have used each single RAM module in each slot and the system does the same process.

I have another RAM set, 16GB (4x4gb) standard Corsair Vengance with the heat spreaders and have tried each of these modules in each slot (yes that is 32 different combinations of RAM with 8 different modules) and still the same sequence. Please note that these modules ARE on the motherboard compatibility list.