Sign in with
Your question

£2300+ Build - Suggestions and Comments please

Last response: in Systems
August 24, 2012 6:52:44 PM

Hi Guys.

New on this forum, but I've known and read tomshardware for years and years.

I've been of the whole 'Having a dedicated gaming rig' thing for a couple of years now. But since I've moved to the UK now, I've decided to build myself a proper gaming / overclocking rig to play a bit around.

I made a video explaining the bits and pieces i expect to go in it. I am by no means an expert, but i do have a good understanding of how to build and assemble a computer. Although, ANY advice is good, so if you've got a suggestion, please dont hesitate to leave a comment!

Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RVZ5bOpOfm4

Part2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nz7kHH7QlvI

a breakdown of the components:

Mouse RAT 7
Keyboard Cyborg STRIKE
Case Corsair Obisidan 800D
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula (W/O the ThunderFX)
CPU Intel i3770K Ivy Bridge
GFX GTX 670 OcUK Custom Watercooled Card (AquaGraFX block)
SSD OCZ Vertex 4 256gb
PSU Corsair AX850
CPU WaterBlock Koolance CPU-370SI
Cooling control card Koolance TMS-205
Pump Koolance PMP450 (not the S model)
Radiator Koolance 3x120mm
Monitor Dell U2410

What I still need to decide on:
Fans
Ram
Tubing
Fitttings

It's my first time involving a community in a build like this, and the first time that I've made a video like this, so please bear with me on that part.

No component is unchangeable as i see it, but if you think you've got a better suggestion, please leave a good explanation as to why.

I would especially want some good suggestions on motherboard alternates, as the Formula board doesn't have thunderbold (but it has a watercooled chipset, and good overclocking capabilities!)