£500 Gaming PC, need suggestions.

f2k8

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2011
I'm new to PC building, and I need a few suggestions on what parts to buy.
This will be my first build ever, so I'm not looking for anything too fancy.

Budget: £450-£550

Country: UK (More than happy for US users to give me their inputs)

Parts not required: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor

Overclocking: Not at the early stages, but will be looking to overclock after a year or so.

Uses: Gaming at max graphics capabilities. Games such as BF3, Diablo 3, GTA etc.

SLI: In the future, same as overclocking.

Monitor res: 1920 x 1080 always.

Main parts of the PC:
I've already picked a few parts that I want to revolve this PC around.

CPU: AMD FX-8150 (I know alot of people will point me towards Intel, but I will also be streaming/rendering videos WHILE gaming, therefore, I think an 8-core would be practical)

GPU: A second hand EVGA GTX 570, I've been monitoring the bids on Ebay, and usually they end up going for around the £150 mark, which is around £60 cheaper than brand new.

So, that's around £285 of the budget already gone, the rest is up to you.
Thank you for helping out.

If you need any more comments, just reply to the thread. :)

maui67

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
I'm in the US and am not sure what outlets you have available to buy from. But I would suggest you save some money and get the FX-8120 instead and then overclock it. I know you stated you wanted to wait a year before trying to overclock, but from what I have read a simply multiplier change could get the 8120 to the 8150 level and then later you could try for a higher overclock. Over here in the States the 8120 runs about $40-50 cheaper than the 8150 and that's money you could put towards other parts.

f2k8

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2011

Good point, and I appreciate your input, but here in the UK.. the FX-8150 is only around £15 more than a FX-8120.