First build - Help please! - £2,000

DarkSacred

Honorable
May 8, 2012
I've never built a PC before and was looking at giving it a go with the new Ivy Bridge processors hitting earlier this year and Diablo 3 on the verge of release.

I've had a bit of a play about on Scan and this is what I've come up with thus far.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Approximate Purchase Date: 3-6 Weeks

Budget Range: £2,000 (Rebates???)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Media, Internet, Office

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Scan.co.uk

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

External:

Case: Corsair Obsidian Series 650D All Black Mid Tower Case with SATA Dock & Side Window w/o PSU £136.38

Optical Drives: Sony AD-7800H Slot 8xDVD+/-R, 6xDVD+DL, 6xDVD-DL, DVD+RW x8, -RWx6, x5 RAM, Notebook, SATA, Black £26.86

SilverStone SST-FP58B, Bay Device 5.25": 1x slot loading slim optical drive and 4x 2.5” HDD/SSD, Black £11.83

Internal:

Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K,1155, Ivy Bridge, Quad Core, 3.4GHz, 5 GT/s DMI, 650MHz GPU, 6MB Smart Cache, 34x Ratio, 77W, OEM £169.38

Cooling: Corsair H100 Hydro Series Extreme Performance CPU cooler, S775/1155/1156/1366/2011/AM2/AM3 £76.92

Boot Drive: 128GB Crucial RealSSD M4, 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD, MLC-Flash, Read 500Mb/s, Write 175Mb/s *New Version* £88.94

Data Drive: 2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 Barracuda 7200.14 SATA 3 6GB/s 7200rpm 64MB Cache 8ms OEM NCQ £84.83

RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Racing Red, PC3-12800 (1600), Non-ECC, CAS 9-9-9-24, XMP, 1.5V £40.56

Power: 650W PSU, Corsair Pro Series Gold 9020006, Modular, 90% Eff', 80 PLUS Gold, SLI/CrossFire, EPS 12V,Quient Fan, ATX £108.78

Software: