Sign in with
Your question

Partially build a gaming pc for under £500

Last response: in Systems
March 13, 2012 11:16:58 PM

Help! Basically, I'm due for a serious computer upgrade in the very near future, problem is, I'm on a budget, I'm educated to an extent at the prices, however, don't know enough about them to just spend extreme amounts of cash on them. I'm a gamer, and use alot of 3d programs such as Cinema 4d, and demanding games such as FSX. I want to upgrade, but below a budget. £500 is the maximum I'm willing to spend, even £450 is too much.

I'm looking at an upgrade in the following areas:

CPU
GPU
Motherboard
Ram
Possibly PSU and Case if need be

(Costs as low as possible!)

I've been looking at Intel's i7 2600k a GTX 550 Ti graphics card and 16gb of corsair ram. (All seen on www.aria.co.uk ) However, need to know from what's the best for my needs and best for my budget. I need help in this, I apologize for the lack of detail and description, I'm new to this, I apologize if I've made a right arse of myself by writing this lol! But I need help A.S.A.P!
March 14, 2012 1:22:13 AM

Intel i7 series will do nothing to improve gaming performance, but it will make a difference when you're using Cinema 4D if you're ready to pay the ~50GBP extra for it. It's only worth it if you're using Cinema 4D enough to pay an extra ~50GBP for it.

Same with 16GB RAM, mutadis mutandis...
Choose (Kingston/Corsair/Mushkin Enhanced/G.Skill/etc.) DDR3-1600MHz (preferably 1.5v, but whatever really).

Since you're on a budget, and using your old case (no front panel USB3) you have a choice regarding the motherboard:

Both are solid boards
Either you go with something basic: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Or you choose future expansion possibility: ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3 (usb3 internal headers and more rear ports, Intel onboard LAN, more SATA III sockets, PCIe 3.0 support with ivy bridge, onboard bluetooth, among others, might have missed some)

As for the GTX550Ti, it's also a very good choice.