New Gaming PC around £800

ahb

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2012
Hey guys, been looking into building myself a gaming pc and have finally got my student loan to be able to do so :D. Will be building myself, so am very cautious as I have never done this before. Am currently looking for help in choosing components as I have little to no knowledge of them.

Approximate Purchase Date: As soon as possible, but no real hurry

Budget Range: £800 would be nice but am willing to go over if necessary

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, movies/films

Parts Not Required: keyboard and mouse

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Never purchased any pc components so have no preference, but UK retails are a must

Parts Preferences: Think I am set on 2500k as from what I've read that is a good processor for the price.

Preferably a 24' monitor no qualms with a 22'

Research also suggests that a Z68 motherboard fits will with 2500k and is also good for OC and SLI/xfire which I may do in future. Although I have no idea of what Z68 board is best.

Graphics cards I have little to no knowledge of, I was however looking at the AMD 6950 which seemed reasonable performance for price but as I said I have no idea. Willing to SLI/xfire if necessary.

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: Any and all advice welcome, I really don't want to mess this up :D

Thank you

Cripple13

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2011
I would take the time to write up a list of components, but in all reality there are 5714890570129345 builds on this forum with your budget, I would suggest looking at some of those threads to get a solid idea of what you want. For the most part, they are all identical builds with the same core components, and most of them suggest the same few video cards

(not trying to be rude, just stating the obvious because there are so many of these posts a day with the same budget)

ahb

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2012