Sign in with
Your question

£600-800 CAD/Media System for Tech. Ed. Teacher

Last response: in Systems
April 2, 2011 2:13:59 PM

I'm new to the forums here and am looking to build my first PC from scratch. I have a reasonably good knowledge of all aspects of computing but I lack the real deep knowledge that is required for the best possible build with regards the latest components, their features and whetehr or not they work well together. I have done a lot of upgrades to my old eMachine PC but at 10 years old and having become completely rejigged over those years it is becoming unable to perform the way I need it to work.
I am a Technical Education teacher and do a lot of CAD and graphics work. I also produce some electronic music and would like to start editing and producing educational videos. These tasks all require a fair bit of juice and I'd like to invest about £600 - £700 in building a crazy powerful system that will last me at least 10 years.

====================================================
This is my proposed system:
CPU = £148.88 = AMD Phenom II x6 1090t 3.2Ghz
MOBO = £71.63 = ASUS M4A77T, USB3, ATX, Socket AM3, GB Ethernet, HD Audio,
RAM = £76.98 = Corsair CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 1600Mhz CL9 (4x 2GB DDR3 SDRAM Memory)
GPU = £91.95 = XFX Radeon HD 5770
PSU = £51.50 = Cooler Master RS550-ACAAE3-UK GX-Series 550W
SSD = £125.78 = OCZ Vertex 80Gb (OPTION for OS + programs)
HDD = £63.69 = Western Digital Caviar Black, 1Tb, 7200RPM, 64Mb Cache (or 2x 500Gb RAID 1)
Case = £49.98 = Antec 300
OPTI = £14.99 = Sony D7261S 24x DVD±RW DL & RAM with LightScribe SATA
OS = £65.00 = Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

TOTAL HARDWARE COST = £569.60 (£695.38 with SSD option for OS)
TOTAL SYSTEM COST = £634.60 (£760.38 with SSD option for OS)

I already own 2x Samsung 920n 19" monitors which I use in a dual monitor setup. These will all also be used in the new system. I also have a Philips 32"HD TV which I could also use as a VDU.