Sign in with
Your question

Review my first gaming rig (1600€/2200$/1400£)

Last response: in Systems
January 30, 2011 1:24:49 PM

I'm new to computerbuilding, so i would really appreciate the help.

I'm going to use this computer for

1. Gaming: FPS (TF2,Crysis,Borderlands,L4D...->all steam games) , MMO's (like WoW), Indie games...

2.Watching movies: I'm a huge moviefan

3.In the future i'll do video-editing

Please read the notes i put in with some components.

MONITOR:

MEDION AKOYA 23,6" TFT screen - 1920 x 1080 (16:9)

CPU:

i5-2500 - I will not OC

GPU:

AMD Radeon HD 6950 or 6870 (don't know which one yet)

HDD:

WD Caviar Black 2TB

Motherboard:

ASUS P8P67 DELUXE - Note: I've read about some problems with the DELUXE. Should i be worried or something? Is it a stable MOBO?

OD:

Samsung SH B123L

RAM:

G-skill Ripjaws (2x4GB) model: F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL - Note: I found this in QVL list for my P8P67 DELUXE motherboard, but not at the QVL of G-skill. Is this a simple mistake, or is it non-compatible?

CASE:

NZXT Phantom Black

SPEAKERS:

Logitech 5.1 Z 506

PSU:

Cooler master silent pro gold 700W

KEYBOARD:

Logitech Illuminated keyboard

MOUSE:

Logitech G500 mouse

Final notes:

1. I'm going to purchase all the components this week (first week of february)

2. I'm living in Belgium, Europe. We use € around here, but i'm OK if u say prices in $ / £ or link to Newegg or some other site, because i have a currency converter with me at all times.

Thanks for reading through my post.
January 30, 2011 2:40:37 PM

It's easy to determine which discreet gpu to get for gaming. Look at the 1920x1200 benchmarks of the games you're playing. Pick out the fastest card that you can afford. 30 fps is minimum. Old games on new cards won't get new reviews so I wouldn't worry about those benchmarks.

http://www.techspot.com/review/349-amd-radeon-6950/page...
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/radeon-h...