First Build ~£500 Gaming Rig

nofear90

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2010
Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP - a week or two

Budget Range: £500 but will stretch to £600-£700 if it will be worth it

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, watching movies, surfing the internet

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: http://www.ebuyer.com/

Country of Origin: UK

Parts Preferences: none

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: Have 17" monitor but may pick up a new one if cheap enough.

Additional Comments: I would like a quiet PC

I play several different games but the main game I play is World of Warcraft and my computer can play it okay, although not on highest settings but with the upcoming expansion and patches I think my current computer will struggle. I want a computer that will last for around 3/4 years, that will also be able to play the games that will be released in this time.

I am a student so have budgeted myself at £500 but as mentioned above I could stretch this if the upgrade is considerably worth it - up to a definite maximum of £700. If possible, £500 build suggestions would be nice then suggest possible upgrades that would fit within the £600-£700 limit.

For just the gaming on a 17" LCD 500 quid is actually a lot hehe

Off Ebuyer UK

457 quid
Untitled-1976.jpg

nofear90

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2010
Thanks Batuchka :)

If I was to buy a new bigger monitor, would this build still suffice? If so, can you suggest any decent monitors.

Also, are there any upgrades worth the extra money?

nofear90

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2010
I had a look around this forum and other forums and put together the following build. Does this build work? i.e. will all the parts be compatible? and does the motherboard have enough connections for the other components?

Any comments/suggestions to changing components is greatly appreciated - but if possible could you include reasons why.

Thanks