£700 gaming build - needs checking

BobTheFish

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2010
This is my first time building my own PC, but I've done some research and I believe that this is a good build. I would just like to check that I haven't overlooked any compatibility issues, and any suggestions for small changes to the build are welcome, as long as the parts are available from my retailer of choice (ebuyer.com).

Case: Antec Three Hundred
CPU: Intel i5 750
Motherboard: Asus P7P55D LE
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
RAM: Crucial 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Hard Drive: Samsung Ecogreen F2 1TB
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Optical Drive: LG GH22NS40 22x DVD±RW

Also, will I be alright without a heatsink for the CPU, and do I need to buy any additional cables that won't come with these components?

BobTheFish

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2010
Thanks for the suggestion, although I was intending to stick with an i5/460 system, which is why I only said "small changes". I probably should've been more clear, sorry. I'm more bothered about whether or not what I've got works.

Unless your planning on overclocking the Rig, You'll be fine on the standard H.s/fan
people may advise you to change the psu,
but it looks a good build to me.
all cables supplied should be enough for your needs.
Moto

BobTheFish

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2010
Thanks for the replies. I'll admit I had an irrational prejudice towards Intel and Nvidia, but I'm now looking at your suggested build with an open mind. Are the differences between the Phenom II X4 955 and the i5 750, and the 5850 and the 460 that significant though?

njure

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2010