Animation workhorse - £1000

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
August 10, 2010 10:24:30 AM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: The next couple of days

BUDGET RANGE: £1,000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: After Effects, 3DS Max, Photoshop. NOT gaming.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Anything outside the case.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I'm in the UK, the below build is all available at aria.co.uk but I'd also consider novatech, scan etc.

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: UK

PARTS PREFERENCES:

OVERCLOCKING: Yes, nothing heavy.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Not at this time

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I'm a designer about to start an MA in Animation. I'm accustomed to using macs but i'm not about to spend £2,500 on a machine that I could build as a PC for a fraction of the price. Plus i've never built a computer before and the idea of it quite appeals to me. This machine is intended as a home-based workhorse. I don't intend to do any gaming on it but will be doing a lot of 2D/3D work and rendering.

I've been researching this for a few weeks and I think the above is a pretty solid build that has good potential for future upgrades. Probably the only weakness is the graphics card but I thought that for my usage i'd be better off spending the money on processing power and upgrading the GPU at a later date if needs be. It's my first build so if i've missed anything obvious or made any glaring errors any advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Tom

More about : animation workhorse 1000

August 10, 2010 2:36:37 PM

The HD5770 is a solid general purpose/mid-level gaming GPU, but it will provide middling 2D/3D/rendering performance as compared to a Nvidia Quadro or ATI FireGL/FirePro/FireStream GPU. My preference is with the ATI family of workstation GPUs.

BTW, what type of monitor (particularly its native resolution) do you plan to use?
August 10, 2010 9:33:40 PM

Thanks for your reply - the monitor I have is an HP 2335, it's a 23" TFT that runs natively at 1980 x 1200.