Sign in with
Your question

£500-600 Gaming PC, first time build

Last response: in Systems
July 28, 2010 12:32:19 AM

Hi All,

This is my first time attempting to build a PC.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: within the next month

BUDGET RANGE: £500-600, can stretch if needed

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Starcraft 2, watching movies, internet, TV

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Am open to suggestions

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: London, UK

PARTS PREFERENCES: I have done a bit of research and these seem to be of most interest to me.

> CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955
> GPU: Radeon HD 5770 (also considering the 5830 and 5850 but heard it was unnecessary due to the monitor resolution)
> Memory: DDR3 (as this is the newest)
> HDD: 1TB
> Case: Mid/full tower

OVERCLOCKING: No

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050, although I may upgrade the monitor in the future

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: My main stumbling block was the motherboard and what chipset to use. Also, I would want a mobo that can support a TV tuner port to stream live TV and preferably one with at least 4 USB ports.

I'm looking for something that can last, but nothing too excessive. And any advice on where to buy parts from the UK will be most helpful.

Also, any feedback on the parts I've chosen will be much appreciated. Thank you very much for all your help and I do apologise for not putting in any links as I'm still unsure of the difference between brands and best places to buy parts.

Best wishes,
Al
July 28, 2010 10:59:30 AM

Off Ebuyer UK
July 28, 2010 2:58:31 PM

Excellent build ! ^+1
I'd suggest the NZXT m59 tho, it is all painted black and has a big window to see you components. It's a nice case and not much more expensive
Related resources
Anonymous
July 28, 2010 2:58:46 PM