Sign in with
Your question

‚

Last response: in Systems
May 10, 2010 6:31:45 PM

Hello there!
My current pc is a Dell laptop that has been carried around a lot, and thus has not been ageing gracefully. I managed to keep it working when it threathened to die completely by finally tossing of Vista a while back and running XP again. But alas, the keyboard no longer works, the desktop has trouble loading from a cold boot and it claims my battery is missing even though it is firmly in place and feeding it perfectly fine.
So I thought I'd get a new one.

Until a while ago, my knowledge of hardware was, though not completely insignificant, mostly limited to "bigger numbers are usually better". However, I wanted quality and longlivity for my money this time, so I studied up, something for which TH and it's incredible community has been very helpful.
So I thought I'd build it myself, now that I know what a PCIe slot is and since I keep hearing it's really not that hard. After going through all the helpful lists and threads I could find, I decided I should check with all of you to plead some help in going over my parts, since compatibility is less documented and/or easy to find than it should be.

I live in Europe, Belgium to be precise, which made comparing prices somewhat harder since none of the e-tail vendors so common here are willing to ship outside the US, and shipping is going to be less if I look closer to home anyway.

Here is that handy list stickied to the board:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: End of the month, likely.

BUDGET RANGE: €1100 not including shipping, though an extra hundred won't break me. That's about $1400 by current rates.