New Build - £1500 Budget - Noob - Help!

pfogarty

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010
Hi All,

Im looking for some help with my first build.

Background:

I recently moved over to Mac as I produce music and was seduced by stability. Im still very happy with that decision but really miss high level gaming. I want to build a separate rig for gaming and keep the music production on my mac book pro.

Facts:

• I have a flexible budget of around £1500. (Including peripherals), I would push this up if I need to.
• Looking for best gaming performance I can achieve for this, would be disappointed if I wasn’t maxing out.
• I need the pc to be as quiet as possible as it will live in my recording studio.
• I would like to try to overclock, I have never done this before but have watched some YouTube vids and it seems to be a relatively straight forward process to follow.

Questions:

• Should I incorporate a solid state drive?
• Should I wait for i9?
• Is gaming on a 30” any good? I’ve been considering an ultrasharp.
• Where is the best place to buy components in the UK?

What im really after is some suggestions on components, pro’s & con’s, what I can expect to achieve etc…

Would really appreciate any help, £1500 is a lot of money for me and I want to make good decisions.

Thanks a lot in advance.

shravankale

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2009
1) You wont need a solid state drive...it's a matter of personal choice

2) Since you are looking forward for high end game u won't need an i9 6 core processor....only a few games utilise 4 cores, so an i7 will be a good choice or even the AMD Phenom II x4 955/965 will do good.

3)If u want to game on a 30" see that u have a realtively good graphic card....since it takes resources to blow up games on a 30"

4) Go for a ATI Raedon HD 5850/5870...

5)Use good cpu coolers since the stock peripherals SUCK....look up watercooling

6) Buy a minimum mid-size cabinet and a good 650 Watt power supply from Corsair or Antec

Some things to point out...