Triple-Monitor Setup Need Feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

SkyNT2

Distinguished
Jun 20, 2011
Hello,

First let me start by saying that I am an engineer. I use my computer for everything from media to programming to video editing to AutoCAD to Matlab and a bit of gaming too, I need a desktop as big and as robust as a workshop bench.

Now that that's out of the way I am looking for some ideas and feedback on a display setup I plan to do for my main workstation.

Currently I have two widescreen monitors on my Sapphire HD 5770: A Samsung P2350 1920*1080 and Samsung 2253BW 1680*1050 both on DVI (and a third USB-based Display Link external monitor but this will be superseded).

My plan is to purchase a large TV around 32-47" and flip the two monitors into portrait mode on either side of the TV, the idea being that for text documents, particularly websites and programming, height offers much more desktop space than width. it would look something like this:

Code:
Front View

1                    2                3
----------                             ---------- 
|         |  ------------------------  |         |
|         |  |                       |  |         |
|         |  ------------------------  |         |
----------                             ----------

I've been doing some research and I am still a little unsure about a few things:

1- HD 5770 can triple screen with two DVI and a Display Port, but not with 2 DVI and HDMI apparently. So I would need a Display Port to HDMI converter, and an "Active" one at that. Lots of people are complaining that that will run them an extra 100$, but there seem to be some on Newegg ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814999030&cm_re=active_display_port-_-14-999-030-_-Product ) for 25$, no external power conector that I can see. Will these work? What's the catch? I am also wondering what the point of the HDMI port is on the card is...