Gaming PC budget £800 - £1000

G

Hey guys,

I'm hoping to build a gaming PC by mid 2010 and just need to know what to get as I'm new to buidling PCs.
My budget will be around £800 - £1000 (if I can stretch that far).

As said above, I'll be using it for Gaming but also for a lot of sound processing and multimedia based software.

I've already got a mouse, keyboard etc., but wouldn't have much of a clue on what monitor to get.

I'd prefer to buy things off a UK based website; cheapest if possible.

I've loved AMD for years but after reading much about the i7 920 I may have been converted and would be more than willing to give that a shot.

Not sure on overclocking so wouldn't be into that... depending on how easy or hard it is.
I've been reading about Sli and how not many people seem to use it today, maybe because single Graphics Cards are that damn good today?

I wouldn't want anything thats overkill e.g. buying a motherboard that just isn't needed to run the CPU and stuff but I do want quality... hopefully wich is what I can get for my budget.

The PC will probably need the ability to have 16GB ram, am I right?
The biggest thing that really worries me is not getting the right motherboard that I'll run into serious compatibility issues... the same goes for the case and danger of getting a crappy power supply. Also, what about cooling?.. will that come with some cases?

Cheers for any help,

Graham ;)

restatement3dofted

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2010

A couple of thoughts:

First, if you're thinking about buying by mid-2010, researching now might end up being useful, but the fact of the matter is that the hardware landscape is likely to be quite different in six months' time, in terms of availability of parts, pricing, etc. Trying to plan that far ahead may leave you with a list of parts that are not nearly as good as what you could get if you did your planning in the month leading up to your purchase. Just a thought.