raycarley

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Hopefully this weekend/within the next week (while I'm off college)

BUDGET RANGE: Around €800-900 (I hope you don't mind working in Euros :) )

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: General everyday usage, surfing internet, media collection, office, maybe some light gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: komplett.ie (I can get free delivery if I pick it up from their local office), amazon.co.uk, aything that delivers cheaply to Ireland
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Ireland

PARTS PREFERENCES: Intel Processor, ATI gpu, Gigabyte Mobo (these sound the best at least)

OVERCLOCKING: Yes, but nothing extreme
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050 at the moment at least

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: This is my first time building a computer :)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Processor:
Intel i5-750
€170 + Free Shipping from Amazon
I don't think I need to break the bank with the i7, as I've heard the i5 does a pretty good job. Amazon was the cheapest I could find.

Motherboard:
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3, P55, Socket-1156
€ 116.03 from Komplett
I've heard Gigabyte are a very reliable make. I don't think I need the Crossfire capabilities the UD4 and higher models offer. USB 3.0 etc. is nice futureproofing.

Graphics Card: I'm not 100% sure here
Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
With Vapor X €159 from Komplett
Without Vapor X €138 from Komplett

Sapphire Radeon HD 5750 1GB GDDR5
With Vapor X €133 from Komplett

Any advice on this? Should I get the 5770 or is the 5750 enough? And then is the Vapor-x technology worth the extra €20 or so?

PSU
Corsair TX 650W PSU
€83 from Komplett
OR
Corsair TX 750W PSU
€109 from Komplett