Need Suggestion - Getting Eye Strain From LG LCD Monitor

shedlight

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2011
Hi,

I'm a web developer and I've to do programming and reading work on PC almost the whole day. I use LG 17" LCD monitor (Model No:- L177WSB -- it's a worst monitor, I let you know in a while how did I discover it and also looking for your suggestion).

My eyes are getting strains these days, I did many things to get relief like:- lessen the brightness and contrast to the extend, taking rest after sometime, never work on PC on holiday, I'm also using a eye drops but even then I didn't get full relief.

Then It recalled me when I used to work in my last company and I had to work on PC for 8 hrs and I never felt strain in my eyes even once, the monitor was HP 14" LCD (I don't know the model no.) the resolution was cool.

Then I looked the specification of my current monitor LG 17" LCD (Model No:- L177WSB) and found it doesn't have Anti-Glare and Contrast Ratio is also too high :- 5000:1 then I visited to HP website, and looked at the specification of HP Monitor 19" ( Model No:- HP LE1901w) and found it has anti-glare
anti-static features and Contrast ratio is 1000:1 static. Might this was reason that in my last company I felt pain while working on HP monitor.

Now I'm planning to buy HP Monitor 19" ( Model No:- HP LE1901w) but I don't know much about these technical matters so I request you please look at the below LCD monitors specifications and let me know is my guess is correct that I'm getting eyes strain because LG monitor doesn't have Anti-Glare feature and it's contrast is high.

My Current Monitor Specifications
LG Monitor Model No:- L177wsb
Screen Size: 17"
Resolution: 1440x990
Brightness((cd/m2): 250
Contrast Ratio: 5000:1
Response Time(ms): 8
Viewing Angle: 160/160
Color Depth (Number of colors): 16.2M
PixelPitch(): 0.255mm

More Information:- http://www.lg.com/id/it-product/monitor/LG-office-monitor-L177WSB.jsp