Suggestions for first £1000 - £1500 Films / Games / Internet machine

ssp212

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
Hi,

I posted on here a couple of months ago and it was suggested I should possibly wait a few weeks for prices to change, etc. My budget and requirements have changed slightly and I wondered if anyone could offer any suggestions.

I'm new to building a complete system, although I have opened up PCs and changed / upgraded components like RAM, drives, etc. I'm a bit nervous about things like cooling and exactly what extra stuff I'll need on top of the obvious bits like motherboard, processor, graphics card, drives, case, PSU, etc.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Next few weeks

BUDGET RANGE: £1000 - £1500

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Watching TV / films (Downloaded / streaming content and DVD currently, but may well want HD stuff later) Gaming, Internet, Music production

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Speakers, keyboard, mouse

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: UK based

PARTS PREFERENCES: At least 24" LCD monitor

OVERCLOCKING: Not planning to

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe later if necessary, but would prefer not to for now

MONITOR RESOLUTION: -

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I really would prefer a quiet, small, plain looking PC, but I want enough power to be able to run games at a decent level of graphical quality now and at least a little way into the future. I would also like to be able to upgrade individual parts easily. Is it possible to build a decent games machine in a smallish case? I only need one optical drive and one internal hard drive really. I just want to get the balance right as my old case was gigantic and had loads of space (not what I really wanted).

I've looked through quite a few threads and lots of people seem to be basing new systems around an i7 processor and ASUS P6T motherboard. Would that be a good place to start for what basically needs to be an all rounder? I really would appreciate some help! Cheers.

Helloworld_98

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2009