32-46" (1080p) LCD gaming HDTV or 30" PC monitor? please recommend

agentdcooper

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2008
Here's my background :: I have been using 21" Sony Trinitron CRT monitors forever, just because I've never spent the cash on an LCD, so Im new to this. I game on my PC (FPS primarily), I do NOT own any consoles, nor ever expect to - but I want blu-ray down the road. I watch all my movies on my PC. Ideally, I'd like to use a HDTV set as a PC monitor really because of sheer SIZE... I am NOT AGAINST a 30" PC monitor, and half think I might want to get one instead if someone is persuasive enough (I quite like the sounds of the well-rounded Dell 3007WFP-HC, and Gateway XHD3000 for native resolution gaming).

I've been pouring over reviews, reading forums, yadda yadda... I just cant quite find the right HDTV or monitor for me. I want something with low lag for games, sharp text for web browsing, and would also like to find something that has the capability to watch HD movies in 1080p/60 and 1080p/24 + has full HDCP compliance - and lastly P-in-P would be cool, but not necessary.

So what do you guys think of this monitor/HDTV? = Sharp Aquos LC37GP1U 37-Inch 1080p LCD Gaming HDTV

By the description it sounds like it has just about everything - I'd love to locate something like that = a 1080p LCD gaming HDTV but if possible even bigger as long as the lag is low.

Is there a 42" or 46" LCD HDTV around that is good for gaming, has sharp text, and ideal for being used as a PC monitor? personally, I'd love to grab a display larger then 32 inches.

This is another HDTV I saw with low latency (4.5ms), 10bit IPS that sounds pretty decent = JVC LT-47X898 or the JVC LT-42X899 8ms 2008 model.

I own 2x eVGA NVidia 9800 GTX in SLI'd = to drive whatever monitor or HDTV I buy. I think I am leaning towards buying a HDTV because they are larger then 30"s - I just haven't seen a PC monitor bigger then 30" that has all the HD capabilites I am looking for + low lag...