Sign in with
Your question

Buying SSD under £100. Trusted advice?

Last response: in Storage
March 24, 2012 6:26:54 AM

Morning, or afternoon.
I'm upgrading my last bottlenecks, OS and Drives.
I thought I may as well do them at the same time, I like the look of these insane boot speeds I've been seeing on youtube.
I'm getting Windows 7 Pro and a SSD but I'm new to SSD. I'll plan to reinstall my programs to the SSD and use HDD for Data only.
My motherboard has 2 SATA III ports so I may as well get a III.
This SSD will only be holding my OS, Sony Vegas, Cubase, and a few other editors so it doesn't need to be big.
I don't use my system for gaming and whenever I upgrade my media editors I uninstall the old one so I'll never use more than around 20GB. I have 2 X 7200rpm sata hard drives for my data.
Could I get away with a 32GB SSD? I'd rather get a smaller one that's fast.
Is it they don't slow down even as they fill up?
Finally, can you recommend a drive for under £100?

Antec P180
Antec true 480w
Asus P8Z68 vlx
Intel 2700k i7
4 x 4GB 1600mhz vengeance
Seagate HD400LJ & Seagate HD501LJ
Samsung 2232BW & Samsung 2333SW
XP Pro 64bit
Sony Vegas Pro 8
Cubase 5

Cheers guys!
April 3, 2012 7:28:35 AM

The 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 has just dipped just under £100 for a 120Gb drive (from scan.co.uk for example) But you need to add mounting plate, SATA3 cable and postage on to that price. Probably making it about £115-£120

I have recently done a fresh install of Windows 7 on a 120Gb SSD and its quite shocking how much space a "fresh" install of of Windows 7 takes. So far Win 7 Pro fully patched up is taking 35gb of space. This is with no extra applications besides Flash and anti virus.