Sign in with
Your question

Affordable GPU (less than £50) in an old PC

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 22, 2010 7:29:58 PM

Hi all,

I have an older PC 2005 build (I think). An old Compaq Presario 1519UK.

PSU 300 Watts
Athlon XP 64 3200+ 2Ghz Venice (overclocked slightly to 2.2Ghz)

Mainboard - MSI Amethyst M 1.0 (Northbridge ATI RS480/ Southbridge SB400) Bios Phoenix Tech v.3.47
Memory: 1.5GBytes DDR3200 (200Mhz) Memory on two modules
Graphics: Integrated ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M showing 256Mbytes on ZPU-Z (I think from the Northbridge - not sure)

I'm no expert , and I'm way out of touch on the components of the day (although I'm reseraching as we speak)

What I need is recommendations on a Graphics Card upgrade on the PCI-E x16 1.0 slot on the MSI Amethyst board that can run decent games (not Crysis or anything like that but maybe Left 4 Dead or HL2: Epsiode 2 as atm it crawls along at 10 -12 fps (unplayable) etc, etc)

I can afford up to maybe £50 but if possible but without having to upgrade the PSU.

If you need any more info just ask and I'll try and find out.

Thank you in advance for any advise.

More about : affordable gpu

August 22, 2010 7:45:24 PM

Thank you for your reply, but I can't get the link to work.
Related resources
a c 153 U Graphics card
August 22, 2010 7:54:14 PM

Odd, sorry about that, type in EVGA 512-P3-1242-LR in NewEgg.
August 22, 2010 9:50:09 PM

Thank you again.

Unfortunately, (being out of touch and a bit of a noob) I've just realised that Newegg.com is American based and don't ship out to other countries i.e. UK.

Any other suggestions, I've looked for the same here in the UK but i'm having no joy.

On the other hand the ASUS EAH4350 SILENT DI/512MD2(LP) Graphics adapter looks like it might suit my PSU and PCI-E slot, although it seems a bit underpowered for proper gaming. Then again so does my 5 year old PC lol.

Is the ASUS any good or are there any other suggestions.

Thanks Helltech, very much appreciated.