Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Windows 9 Preview May Appear in February 2015

By - Source: My Digital Life | B 25 comments

The latest tidbit of news coming from the Windows rumor mill is that Microsoft plans to release a preview version of Windows 9 "Threshold" on February 3, 2015. There's no indication that this will be a developer preview or a public one, but given that Windows 9 is expected to ship in April 2015, the latter option seems more likely.

For Windows 8, Microsoft launched the Developer Preview in September 2011 during the BUILD 2011 event. The company then released Windows 8 Consumer Preview at the end of February 2012. Windows 8 went RTM in August 2012 and hit consumer PCs in October 2012. The public beta of Windows 8.1 wasn't released until June 23, 2013, followed by the full release in October. Windows 8.1 Update (8.1.1) arrived in April 2014.

Using this release schedule as a reference, Microsoft is expected to launch Windows 8.1 Update 2 (Windows 8.1.2) sometime this fall, bringing a host of new features like the revised (and beloved) Start Menu, and the ability to run windowed apps on the desktop. This may also be the time period when Microsoft releases the Developer Preview of Windows 9 "Threshold."

The news arrives by way of FaiKee who claims to have obtained a screenshot of Microsoft's plans and posted it on My Digital Life. The tiny smidgen of a schedule reads "Preview Release @ 2015-02-03." That could either mean February 3 or March 2…. you decide.

"OK, seems WZor's "5/15 win9 trial version" is not going to happen..... so here's the part below my last screen-shot," FaiKee writes. "If it's real (couldn't see why it isn't), then you could scrap all previous win9 release speculations."

We know very little about Windows 9; all eyes are glued to Windows 8.1.2 arriving this fall. However, there's speculation that Microsoft will make the platform more desktop friendly. By this October, we should know more about Threshold, especially if the Developer Preview begins to leak onto the Internet.

For now, consider everything about Windows 9 and Windows 8.1.2 to be mere rumor and speculation. Of course, we know they'll eventually make an appearance, but until then, everything is just dips into the rumor pool.

Discuss
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the News comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

This thread is closed for comments
  • 9 Hide
    Jerky_san , May 19, 2014 8:59 AM
    And god said every other version of windows will be better than the last but you'll suffer through the evens..
  • 2 Hide
    drethon , May 19, 2014 9:11 AM
    Well 8 was an improvement over Vista but I'm not sure Vista was any better than ME...
  • 2 Hide
    Duckhunt , May 19, 2014 9:31 AM
    windows 8 is annoying , trying to use the touch mouse is annoying.
  • Display all 25 comments.
  • 7 Hide
    Vlad Rose , May 19, 2014 9:42 AM
    Actually, I've never really had any issues at all with Windows 8. The performance improvement is noticeable, the task manager is 'greatly' improved and with a 3rd party app like classic shell, the start menu is back. Metro feels like just an addon program afterwards.
  • 5 Hide
    diffra , May 19, 2014 10:02 AM
    It seems pretty obvious that the date is Q2-Q3 based on the image.
  • -4 Hide
    voltagetoe , May 19, 2014 10:12 AM
    I've got a feeling that Windows 9 will be a cash grab - nothing new or better or more advanced over 7 or 8.1. I predict that it will be pure panic shit of money greed men from the pyramid top.
  • 5 Hide
    Martell1977 , May 19, 2014 10:55 AM
    Windows 9 will be what 8 should have been. Be that good or bad remains to be seen. With 7 being a finished and polished versions of Vista, 9 should have a similar relationship to 8. However, 9 will probably walk back the massive mistakes made in 8 in the PC version.

    I've used Windows 8 on all the platforms and only on the PC does it fail. My phone is great with WP8, tablets are smooth and easy to use, but on a PC, without a touch screen, it just get frustrating. I preferred the Start menu because it put everything in one easy to browse place. I don't want to change screens whenever I want to open a program, and I don't want every window at fullscreen. Nor do I want my taskbar filled with things that should be on the menu, as I don't want the clutter. I only want to see it when I need it and I don't want to have to search a screen of tiles for it.
  • 1 Hide
    hannibal , May 19, 2014 10:57 AM
    Tik, tok...
    Win9 is win8 with more eye candy and most bugs killed. So a little bit better version of win8. Same as win7 was a little bit better version on Vista.
    Interesting to see, if the new disk operation system is ready for win9? And does the DX12 also come to win 8.1 machines? Most probably it will, but who knows.
    All is all late 2015 or early 2016 may be the first time to really think hardware upgrades. Maybe we even have 20nm GPUs out then, even better would be if second generation of 20nm GPUs are out, so that the worst mistakes has been corrected also in that front.
    Interesting to see if they continue to produce new os in every 2-3 year from now on. So the win10 will be out 2017 or 2018. About the same time when win7 will be near the end of its support cycle.
    I have been using win8.1 and has been very happy how well it works. Very stable and so on, but I also use Start8 and Modern mix, so I don't see Modern UI menu when I use my Tabletop PC. So this user experience should be quite the same as with win 8.1.2. I have start menu and all programs start in windowed mode. So I expect that win8.1.2 that will be out next autumn will be quite nice from normal user perspective.
    The win 9 will also most likely to allow easier virtualization and other aspect that are more suitable to power users. The MS employees have said that win8 was meant to be the "easy" mode to computer usage and later there should be more power user utilities... Heh... Didn't go exactly how they expected, but as I said win8.1.2 seems to be familiar enough to also those not so computer literate persons.

    Win10 was supposed to be first real cloud os for MS...Let see if they keep on to that plan...
  • 3 Hide
    nitrium , May 19, 2014 11:21 AM
    As others have pointed out, it pretty much MUST say "Preview release @ 2015 Q2-Q3". How can you tell with the bottom missing? Look at the 0 in "2015" - see how the NUMBER is narrower than an O or Q? "O2-O3" wouldn't make sense, but "Q2-Q3" does.
  • -2 Hide
    JD88 , May 19, 2014 2:42 PM
    The better not expect anyone to pay for it. I find it hard to believe it could be much better than Windows 8.X in terms of performance. If they are expecting to put the Start Menu back in and charge a full upgrade fee than Microsoft is in worse trouble than I thought.
  • 5 Hide
    soldier44 , May 19, 2014 3:40 PM
    Will see how 9 goes next year, but until then I'm keeping 7 and staying away far away from 8 as possible.
  • 5 Hide
    Mathew Reuther , May 19, 2014 3:45 PM
    Microsoft tradition dictates that 9 will be the OS people want, and then they'll screw up 10. 8 was clearly NOT what desktop computers needed and they've spent the whole time since it was released trying to get people to switch.

    I'll be sticking with 7 and will be cautious about seeing what 9 brings. My main concern is typically in the gaming space. Microsoft is trying to withhold features from Windows 7 and bait gamers into a Win 8.x upgrade, of course.

    Hopefully they'll pull their collective heads out and design a desktop OS with Win 9.
  • -5 Hide
    voreo , May 19, 2014 4:42 PM
    I hope 8 users get a discount.
    Let 7 users suffer for being to stubborn to adjust. :D 
  • 7 Hide
    Mathew Reuther , May 19, 2014 5:50 PM
    Quote:
    I hope 8 users get a discount.
    Let 7 users suffer for being to stubborn to adjust. :D 


    But 8 users have had the "benefit" of using such an "excellent" OS for the whole duration between 7 and 9...surely they need no more "reward" than that...
  • 1 Hide
    Trav1856 , May 19, 2014 9:34 PM
    THRESHOLD....TAKE US TO THE THRESHOLD
  • 2 Hide
    T-Bag , May 20, 2014 1:39 AM
    Hope Microsoft don't fuck this one up. IMHO, Windows 7 was the best Operating System Microsoft have ever developed.
  • 2 Hide
    Trav1856 , May 20, 2014 2:11 AM
    Quote:
    Hope Microsoft don't fuck this one up. IMHO, Windows 7 was the best Operating System Microsoft have ever developed.


    I dunno...I think XP might disagree with you. Don't get me wrong, I *like* 7...but as far as longevity and stability....XP was quite nice...and call me crazy, but I really liked 2000 and used it for a long while after XP came out. (not for fear of new stuff, but because it was stable for its day and was really retired before its time)
  • 0 Hide
    back_by_demand , May 20, 2014 4:37 AM
    Quote:
    Hope Microsoft don't fuck this one up. IMHO, Windows 7 was the best Operating System Microsoft have ever developed.

    Funny, but a lot of people think that Chrome is better than IE, so they download it and install it themselves, then they are happy. Nobody really complains that Microsoft hasn't preinstalled it for them.

    Roll forward to Windows 8, technically a more efficient, faster and more secure OS than Windows 7. All it needs is ClassicShell installed and it looks and feels exactly like Windows 7. But people will stamp their feet in rage that they have to do this and want Microsoft to have the Start Menu pre-enabled for them.

    There is no difference in these 2 things, an install to get it "just right" the way you like it. Windows 8.1 is the best OS they have ever made, because it does everything Windows 7 does and much much more. Spend as much time configuring it as people do moaning about not having something and they would actually have what they wanted.
  • 1 Hide
    Vlad Rose , May 20, 2014 6:23 AM
    Quote:
    Quote:
    Hope Microsoft don't fuck this one up. IMHO, Windows 7 was the best Operating System Microsoft have ever developed.

    Funny, but a lot of people think that Chrome is better than IE, so they download it and install it themselves, then they are happy. Nobody really complains that Microsoft hasn't preinstalled it for them.

    Roll forward to Windows 8, technically a more efficient, faster and more secure OS than Windows 7. All it needs is ClassicShell installed and it looks and feels exactly like Windows 7. But people will stamp their feet in rage that they have to do this and want Microsoft to have the Start Menu pre-enabled for them.

    There is no difference in these 2 things, an install to get it "just right" the way you like it. Windows 8.1 is the best OS they have ever made, because it does everything Windows 7 does and much much more. Spend as much time configuring it as people do moaning about not having something and they would actually have what they wanted.


    You're completely right about the "just right" comment. Windows XP used to take nearly a full day to configure it just the way I want it; not to mention hunting down drivers,etc,etc. Windows 7 again took hours to configure it the way I want it as many of the default apps aren't good enough for my needs. Windows 8 is the same way. I find it crazy to see people who buy a machine with Windows 8 on it, wipe the OS off it and buy a copy of Windows 7. They're basically throwing away money to get a worse experience to Win8 + Classic Shell.
  • 0 Hide
    KarterJK , May 25, 2014 6:40 AM
    Quote:
    Actually, I've never really had any issues at all with Windows 8. The performance improvement is noticeable, the task manager is 'greatly' improved and with a 3rd party app like classic shell, the start menu is back. Metro feels like just an addon program afterwards.

    I will agree on version 8.0, however, 8.1 and up they started stripping things, and many of my programs failed to run,. I can only use 8 at this time, unless I buy a different WiFi.

    Quote:
    Win10 was supposed to be first real cloud os for MS...Let see if they keep on to that plan...


    I believe this was/is going to be the subscription version, much like Office 365. But, I see issues, if that were the case. I don't thing a subscription OS is a salable product.
Display more comments