Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

New SSDs Comparison Table And Test Setup

Hot or Not? New Samsung and Solidata SSDs
By
Manufacturer
Intel
Intel
Mtron
Mtron
Family
X25-E
X25-M
SSD MOBI
SSD MOBI
Model Number
SSDSA2SH032G1GN
SSDSA2MH080G1
MSD-SATA3525-032
MSD-SATA3525-064
Capacity
32 GB
80 GB
32 GB
64 GB
Other Capacities
64 GB
160 GB
16, 64, 128 GB
16, 32, 128 GB
Flash Memory Type
Flash SLC
Flash MLC
Flash SLC
Flash SLC
Form Factor
2.5"
2.5"
2.5"
2.5"
Interface
SATA/300
SATA/300
SATA/150
SATA/150
Cache ( MB)
16 MB
16 MB
N/A
N/A
NCQ
Yes
Yes
No
No
Height
6.5 mm
6.5 mm
9.5 mm
9.5 mm
Weight
78 g
80 g
60 g
84 g
MTBF
2 Million Hours
1.2 Million Hours
1 Million Hours
1 Million Hours
Operating Temperature
0-70°C
0-70°C
0-70°C
0-70°C
Specified Idle Power ( Low Power)
0.06 W
0.06 W
N/A
N/A
Measured Idle Power ( Low Power)
0.5 W
0.5 W
1.1 W
1.1 W
Operating Shock ( 2 ms, read)1000 G
1000 G
1500 G
1500 G
Web site
Intel
Intel
Mtron
Mtron
Warranty


3 years
3 years
Manufacturer
Samsung
Samsung
Solidata
Solidata
Super Talent
Family
SSD SATA 3.0Gbps 2.5"
PB22-J
X Series
X Series
MasterDrive OX
Model Number
MCCOE64G5MPP
MMDOE56G5MXP-0VB
X1-64
X2-128
FTM64GL25H
Capacity
64 GB
256 GB
64 GB
128 GB
64 GB
Other Capacities
32 GB
128 GB
128, 256 GB
256 , 512 GB
16, 32, 128 GB
Flash Memory Type
Flash MLC
Flash MLC
Flash MLC
Flash MLC
Flash MLC
Form Factor
2.5"
2.5"
2.5"
2.5"
2.5"
Interface
SATA/300
SATA/300
SATA/300
SATA/300
SATA/300
Cache (MB)
No
128 MB
N/A
N/A
N/A
NCQ
No
Yes
No
No
No
Height
9.5 mm
9.5 mm
9.5 mm
9.5 mm
9.5 mm
Weight
74 g
82 g
98 g
98 g
66 g
MTBF
2 Million Hours
1 Million Hours
2 Million Hours
2 Million Hours
1 Million Hours
Operating Temperature
0-70°C
0-70°C
0-70°C
0-70°C
0-70°C
Specified Idle Power ( Low Power)
0.24 W
0.19 W
3 W
3 W
N/A
Measured Idle Power (Low Power)
0.21 W
0.15 W
4.6 W
4.7 W
1.4 W
Operating Shock ( 2 ms, read)
1500 G
1500 G
N/A
N/A
1500 G
Web site
SamsungSamsung
Solidata
solidata
Super Talent
Warranty


2 years
1 year

Manufacturer
Mtron
Mtron
PhotoFast
PhotoFast
Family
SSD PRO
SSD PRO
G-Monster
G-Monster-V2
Model NumberMSD-SATA3525-032MSD-SATA3525-032

Capacity
32 GB
32 GB
32 GB
128 GB
Other Capacities
16, 64, 128 GB16, 64, 128 GB64, 128 GB

Flash Memory Type
Flash SLCFlash SLCFlash SLC
Flash MLC
Form Factor
2.5"2.5"2.5"2.5"
Interface
SATA/150
SATA/150
SATA/300
SATA/300
Cache (MB)
N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
NCQ
N
N
N/A
N/A
Height
9.5 mm
14.8 mm
9.5 mm
9.5 mm
Weight
82 g
196 g
92 g
82 g
MTBF
1 Million Hours1 Million Hours1.75 Million Hours1.75 Million Hours
Operating Temperature
0-70°C0-70°C-10-70°C-10-70°C
Specified Idle Power ( Low Power)N/A
N/A
N/A
N/A
Measured Idle Power (Low Power)1.1 W
1.5 W
0.8 W
2.4 W
Operating Shock ( 2 ms, read)2000 G
2000 G
1500 G
1500 G
Website
MtronMtronPhotoFastPhotoFast
Warranty
5 years   
5 years
1 year
1 year
System Hardware
Hardware
Details
CPU
Intel Core i7 920 (45 nm, 2.66 GHz, 8 MB L3 Cache)
Motherboard
Supermicro X8SAX (Socket LGA1366)
Revision: 1.0
Cipsatz: Intel X58 + ICH10R
BIOS: 1.0B
RAM
2 GB DDR3-1333 Corsair CM3X1024-1333C9DHX
System Hard Drive
Seagate NL35 400 GB
ST3400832NS
7,200 RPM, SATA/150, 8 MB cache
Power Supply
OCZ EliteXstream 800W
OCZ800EXS-EU
Benchmarks
Performance Measurements
h2benchw 3.12
PCMark Vantage 1.0
I/O Performance
IOMeter 2006.07.27
Fileserver-Benchmark; Webserver-Benchmark; Database-Benchmark; Workstation-Benchmark
Throughput Testing
Streaming Read Test; Streaming Write Test
System Software and Drivers
Drivers
Details
Intel Chipset Drivers
9.1.0.1007
AMD Graphics Drivers
Radeon 8.12
Intel Matrix Storage Drivers
8.7.0.1007
Display all 50 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 14 Hide
    jpdykes , April 30, 2009 7:31 AM
    Can we have the drop down list of pages back?
    I really don't want to go through every single page to get to the results and conclusions.
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    Eric The Red , April 30, 2009 6:37 AM
    Nice artice, but 1 small note, on page one.. isn't Samsung’s new PB22-J available a little bigger than 256 MB? Seems small..

  • 14 Hide
    jpdykes , April 30, 2009 7:31 AM
    Can we have the drop down list of pages back?
    I really don't want to go through every single page to get to the results and conclusions.
  • 3 Hide
    dafin0 , April 30, 2009 7:41 AM
    jpdykes there is a table of contents at the very top.. but i to like the drop down menu
  • 3 Hide
    christianspoer , April 30, 2009 7:45 AM
    Price?! I can't seem to find it in the article...
  • 0 Hide
    mschu_52 , April 30, 2009 7:47 AM
    Also note that on the graphs the Intel x25-M is labeled as 64GB, where on pg 8 it says it comes as 80 or 160.. Also did the x25-M have the new firmware?
  • 0 Hide
    jpdykes , April 30, 2009 7:49 AM
    Good point - I missed that!
  • -2 Hide
    pcworm , April 30, 2009 7:53 AM
    i like the new table of contents
    nice edit
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , April 30, 2009 7:53 AM
    The 256Gb Samsung is available for general sale in the UK; I bought one last week.
  • 5 Hide
    mschu_52 , April 30, 2009 7:57 AM
    I just wish new Table of Contents (TOC), or drop down was on every page, after I get past page 1, you either have to go back to page 1 to jump ahead/around or page though
  • 8 Hide
    renozi , April 30, 2009 8:04 AM
    no OCZ Vertex?
  • 1 Hide
    alert101 , April 30, 2009 8:12 AM
    Considering that the Samsung PB22-J is a MLC-based drive like Intel's X25-M, Samsung beats the crap out of Intel with write speeds.

    Also, Register Hardware reviewed the same drive six weeks ago!
    http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2009/03/17/review_storage_ssd_samsung_mmd0e56g5/
  • 0 Hide
    rags_20 , April 30, 2009 10:54 AM
    @ 1st poster. It think they meant GB
  • 1 Hide
    krazyderek , April 30, 2009 11:56 AM
    page 2 hard drive specs, 80-500gb??? shouldn't that be 2tb?? and price $100 for 320gb?? try $50 for 320gb or $80 for 500gb
  • 3 Hide
    xsamitt , April 30, 2009 12:24 PM
    We used to get 3 and 4 new articles a day.Now it's been reduced to one.
    I would think with all new teck in the market place we can find more than just hard drives to talk about.
    As I mentioned before there are a new host of monitors out there.One that do 120htz and the response times have gotten better.It would seem the 24 inch monitors have been catching up to the smaller 22 inch counter parts in terms of speed.
    This is the would be article you won't get for a long time I am afraid.

  • 0 Hide
    xsamitt , April 30, 2009 12:33 PM
    What I also find odd is that there are more ads on Toms than before but they get rid of our avatars?I have to wonder why?
  • 0 Hide
    neapolis , April 30, 2009 12:41 PM
    Thank You for making the "Table of contents" actually accessible!!!
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , April 30, 2009 1:33 PM
    Place the table of contents in every page, not just the first. And put it at the bottom of the page, so you can use it after you read the page. Currently you read the page and have to scroll up to use it.
  • 8 Hide
    Anonymous , April 30, 2009 2:01 PM
    This article avoids detailed discussion of the controllers used in the SSDs, does not emphasize the importance of small random write tests, and implies that OCZ does not have a product, when in reality the OCZ Vertex using the Indilinx controller has the second best performance to Intel at half the price. The JMicron controller is garbage. Read the vastly superior articles on AnandTech "The SSD Update" and "The SSD Anthology" for more information.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , April 30, 2009 2:06 PM
    Perhaps this is an irrelevant question, and you'll understand why in a moment, but would owning an SSD with a throughput of over 200 mb/s help in situations where the amount of available ram is exceeded? IE - in games where instead of writing to RAM, the program would have to write to the HD as virtual ram. Oftentimes I would notice a stuttering when a new area in a game was streamed from the HD when I didn't have available ram, would this effect be eliminated? (The reason I felt it was somewhat irrelevant would be because those of us who can afford to buy a $400-600 SSD drive can probably afford a few more gigs of ram - or would have the ram in the first place.)
  • 2 Hide
    kschoche , April 30, 2009 2:11 PM
    Drop down list again please, forcing me to see all of your ads by removing drop downs, or having a dozen image pages instead of text only forces me to add more things to adblock.
Display more comments