Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Comparison Table And Test Setup

Laptop Storage: 640GB And 500GB Drives From WD And Fujitsu
By
Manufacturer
Fujitsu
Western Digital
Model
MJA2500CHScorpio Blue WD6400BEVT
Form Factor
2.5" (9.5 mm)2.5" (9.5 mm)
Capacity
500GB640GB
Spindle Speed
5,400 RPM5,400 RPM
Other Capacities
80, 250 gigabytes80, 120, 160, 250, 320, 400, 750, 1000 gigabytes
Platters
2
2
Cache
8MB8MB
NCQ
Yes
Yes
Interface
SATA/300SATA/300
operating Temperature
5-55°C0-60°C
Specified Idle Power
0.6W
0.85W
Measured Idle Power
0.7W0.7W
Operating Shock (2 ms, read)
350 Gnot specified
Warranty
3 years3 years


Test Setup

System Hardware
Hardware
Details
CPU
Intel Core i7-920 (45nm, 2.66 GHz, 8MB L3 Cache)
Motherboard (socket 1366)
Supermicro X8SAX
Revision: 1.0, Chipset: Intel X58 + ICH10R, BIOS: 1.0B
RAM
3 x 1GB DDR3-1333 Corsair CM3X1024-1333C9DHX
HDD
Seagate NL35, 400GB, ST3400832NS, 7,200 RPM, SATA/150, 8MB Cache
Power Supply
OCZ EliteXstream 800W
OCZ800EXS-EU
Benchmark
Performance Measurements
h2benchw 3.12
PCMark Vantage 1.0
I/O Performance
IOMeter 2006.07.27
Fileserver-Benchmark
Webserver-Benchmark
Database-benchmark
Workstation-Benchmark
Streaming reads
Streaming Writes
System Software & Drivers
Driver
Details
Operating System
Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
Intel Chipset Drivers
Chipset Installation Utility 9.1.0.1007
AMD Graphics
Radeon 8.12
Intel Matrix Storage
8.7.0.1007
Display all 8 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , November 2, 2009 8:11 AM
    toshiba and fujitsu have already merged
  • 3 Hide
    davidgrenier , November 2, 2009 9:29 AM
    Random read + Random write please next time.
  • 1 Hide
    martin33w20 , November 2, 2009 2:45 PM
    While it may not fit every drive bay of the many laptop manufactures. WD has a 12.5mm 1TB 2.5" drive.
  • 0 Hide
    acme_petey , November 2, 2009 3:20 PM
    I bought the WD 500GB drive a few months ago now and am very pleased with it. I don't have benchmarks, but it feels a LOT faster than my older 60GB drive and extended my battery life a bunch. Running Win7 on top of that almost doubled my battery life under normal usage.
  • 0 Hide
    pharge , November 2, 2009 5:38 PM
    Wondering can a 12.5mm 2.5" drive fit in the PS3?

  • -3 Hide
    Zoonie , November 2, 2009 9:12 PM
    phargeWondering can a 12.5mm 2.5" drive fit in the PS3?


    I wouldn't bet on it, but 640gb should be enough for a while :) 
  • 1 Hide
    ssslip , November 4, 2009 7:22 PM
    Yes I too am wondering if the 9.5mm 120GB/250GB 2.5" Toshiba hard drives that Sony ships inside the PS3 Slim can be replaced with a 12.5mm 2.5" drive. I don't have access to a PS3 Slim or a fat 12.5mm drive so I can't confirm myself.
  • 0 Hide
    tmc , November 4, 2009 7:40 PM
    Oh, that's why these HD makers have capacities as low a 80gb.. newsflash... flash memory is beginning to overlap these.. a redesign of the PS3/XBOX be made to use usb flash or sdhc flash instead of a HD at comparable prices!

    I was about to comment that the numbers of hd's shipped in the 2.5" capcacities seemed like oversupply.. but when you factor in the low capacity hd's for consoles, it's about right. Still, anything below 250gb should be discontinued, IMO and come with 16mb cache memory (that's a big spread to have 80gb - 1000gb capacity in HD's when flash is beginning to overlap 64gb & 128gb usb sticks coming out and prices are bound to come down eventually).