Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Antec High Current Pro HCP-850

80 PLUS Gold: Four Efficient 700-850 W Power Supplies
By , Patrick Afschar

The name of Antec's PSU leaves no doubt as to why it was developed: High Current Pro. The exclusive feature of the High Current Pro is its use of 16 AWG cables, which purportedly reduce resistance, increase efficiency, and improve power delivery. Antec's spec sheet heightens our expectations, which are already lofty given the company's claims. Each of four 12 V rails is designed for a current of up to 40 A. The combined power of the 12 V lines is 840 W, just slightly below the 850 W sustained output claimed by Antec.

The Antec HCP-850 comes in a compact paper box. The power supply itself and its cables are wrapped in a pouch. When it comes time to unpack the Antec HCP-850, the first things you notice are the workmanship of the dark blue housing and the partially-modular cable configuration. Only the lines for the motherboard, CPU, and two PCI Express connectors are hard-wired. The wire harnesses are designed as high-quality round designs, and they are comparatively long.

The number of connections also doesn’t give you anything to complain about; quite the opposite, in fact. With two eight-pin CPU power plugs, six 6+2-pin PCIe connectors, and nine SATA power leads, the manufacturer is very generous. Even the largest systems should have no problems connecting a large number of drives and graphics cards. The Antec HCP-850 is certified for both Nvidia SLI and AMD CrossFire X.

Antec HCP-850
AC Input100-240 V, 50-60 Hz
DC Output+3.3 V+5 V+12 V (#1)+12 V (#2)+12 V (#3)+12 V (#4)-12 V+5 Vsb
25 A25 A40 A40 A40 A40 A0.5 A3.0 A
Individual Output     6 W15 W
Rail UtilizationSysSysCPU & VGA
Combined Output160 W840 W
Total Continuous Output850 W
Peak Outputn/a


Display all 51 comments.
  • 3 Hide
    compton , May 19, 2011 4:44 AM
    Every now and again you can catch the Seasonic X series on sale. I picked up a X-650 for about $110 with shipping. For that price, there isn't really anything better. With out a sale, I still say full modular and 80+ Gold is worth the premium over less auspicious contenders.

    Thanks for an excellent review.
  • 1 Hide
    jjb8675309 , May 19, 2011 6:06 AM
    no need for a 200 dollar psu for me
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 19, 2011 6:12 AM
    on the seasonic X-760 introduction, the first paragraph states that it comes with hard-wiring. But if you look at the pictures, and further down the review, you'll notice that it is fully-modular.

    no pun intended here ;-)
  • 0 Hide
    The Greater Good , May 19, 2011 6:13 AM
    comptonEvery now and again you can catch the Seasonic X series on sale. I picked up a X-650 for about $110 with shipping. For that price, there isn't really anything better. With out a sale, I still say full modular and 80+ Gold is worth the premium over less auspicious contenders.Thanks for an excellent review.


    I've used the X 650 in builds for two of my friends. I can't wait to get mine. The cabling is perfect for the Antec 1200 case.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , May 19, 2011 7:47 AM
    What about noise? Only had a quick glance at the article but that didn't seem to have been measured.
  • 0 Hide
    flong , May 19, 2011 8:27 AM
    Great review, but where is Corsair???? Certainly Corsair is one of the industry leaders and most recommended PSUs on the market.

    This review would have benefited greatly by including both silver and gold rated PSUs from 750W - 1000W. Some Silver rated PSUs actually perform at nearly at gold levels (Corsair) and so they are a great value.

    It would have been nice to have some expert comment on Au's claim that a non-modular cable setup improves efficiency. This appears to be a myth because we see many modular units outperform non-modular units in their class.

    Still I really enjoyed this review.
  • 1 Hide
    jah_33 , May 19, 2011 9:05 AM
    Not to forget is that a 80+ PSU generates about twice the heat of a 80+ Gold PSU, 20% compared to 10% of the power output. So a gold certified PSU should be significantly more quiet then a 80+ given equal cooling.

    flongGreat review, but where is Corsair???? /citation]
    Corsair don't build there own PSU:s the are mostly Seasonic built, some CWT. For example the Corsair AX series are nearly identical to the Seasonic X series, the only difference is the fan.
  • 0 Hide
    darreng101 , May 19, 2011 9:34 AM
    I have a SeaSonic X-760 fitted to an O/C'ed i7.

    The 'fan-on' at 20% (i think without looking back) is worst case, mine kicks on at about 30-35% depending on ambient temp, so its awesome quiet. Even when on its quiet.

    It works very well in a dual gaming/home cinema box...

    I'd definiately recommend one
  • -3 Hide
    Anonymous , May 19, 2011 11:10 AM
    lol. 200 dollar psu's!

    are you guys complete noobs! do you think we need this ...?
  • -1 Hide
    dominatorix , May 19, 2011 11:37 AM
    ok., compare: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-psu-efficiency,2796-11.html
    with: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/750-watt-psu-80-plus-gold,2927-3.html
  • -1 Hide
    cmartin011 , May 19, 2011 11:57 AM
    nice review happy see the other small companies making good equipment. need more brands for the gold spec to be tested 500-700
  • 0 Hide
    dalta centauri , May 19, 2011 12:05 PM
    bent540lol, why get a 200$ PSU when there's cheaper models that work just as good?

    Fix'd.
    Efficency, being modular, Cable quality, and Amperage. Larger priced models have more features, and that's why companies like Corsair usually have a large array in a series such as their "Enthusiast Series."
  • 1 Hide
    jdamon113 , May 19, 2011 12:16 PM
    Bent540
    Stand back. These psu are for people who Do things your pc will not.
    I have the seasonic. Let me tell you my system dosen't crash. It never fails. Its runs every thing. I can run Crysis and watch HD on two different screens. Do that with your oem PSU>
  • -2 Hide
    jdamon113 , May 19, 2011 12:18 PM
    Toms you should have put the enermax in this test. The silverstone is total crap.
  • -2 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , May 19, 2011 12:51 PM
    great article.
  • -1 Hide
    flong , May 19, 2011 12:55 PM
    "Corsair don't build there own PSU:s the are mostly Seasonic built, some CWT. For example the Corsair AX series are nearly identical to the Seasonic X series, the only difference is the fan."

    Actually, this isn't true anymore. Corsair does have other manufacturers build its PSUs but it has its own specs and it tweaks them. But even if the Corsair PSUs are similar to the Seasonic, they deserve to be in this lineup.
  • 2 Hide
    scook9 , May 19, 2011 1:29 PM
    I know my Corsair AX1200 has been awesome for me :D 

    Sure I spent $280 on a PSU....because for at least the next 7 years I will never have to even think about getting a new PSU again.....so for a dime a day I have one of the best PSUs ever made.....Good luck making me feel bad about that ;) 
  • -1 Hide
    Ubrales , May 19, 2011 1:52 PM
    Good review. I am disappointed not to see Corsair listed. Corsair has excellent products and superior customer service!
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , May 19, 2011 2:20 PM
    I picked up the X-560 that HardwareSecrets reviewed when they were done with it [for $71 iirc]. I expect that it, and my Antec SG-650, will both last for decades. I fully agree with scook9. Buying excellent PSUs means there are entire classes of problems I'll simply never have.
  • 2 Hide
    hunter315 , May 19, 2011 2:20 PM
    Much better article this time! For those who are concerned about not seeing corsair listed, they only have 3 80+ gold units which could have been in this review and all three have been thoroughly tested and reviewed at jonnyguru.


    Two things that got me this time(much less than last time), you ding the HCP 850 for only getting 60% efficiency at 3% of its max load, no system that it should be running should be at only 25W at idle, and you also dont say your load distribution for your custom load profiles, heavy 12V will yield better efficiency while heavy 3.3V and 5V will hurt the efficiency.

    And i still want to see shots of the innards, because most PSUs can pass for the short term, but one with 80C rated chinese caps wont make it too long past the initial test, and its the quality of the innards that tells you if the initial quality will stay around for 5 years.
Display more comments
React To This Article