Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Benchmarks

AMD Desktop Trinity Update: Now With Core i3 And A8-3870K
By
Test Hardware
Processors
AMD A10-5800K (Trinity) 3.8 GHz (19 * 200 MHz), Four Cores, Socket FM2, 4 MB Total L2 Cache, Turbo Core enabled, Power-savings enabled

AMD A8-5600K (Trinity) 3.6 GHz (18 * 200 MHz), Four Cores, Socket FM2, 4 MB Total L2 Cache, Turbo Core enabled, Power-savings enabled

AMD A6-5400K (Trinity) 3.6 GHz (18 * 200 MHz), Two Cores, Socket FM2, 1 MB Total L2 Cache, Turbo Core enabled, Power-savings enabled

AMD A8-3850 (Llano) 2.9 GHz (14.5 * 200 MHz), Four Cores, Socket FM1, 4 MB Total L2 Cache, Power-savings enabled

AMD A8-3870K (Llano) 3.0 GHz (15 * 200 MHz), Four Cores, Socket FM1, 4 MB Total L2 Cache, Power-savings enabled

AMD A8-3850 (Llano) 2.9 GHz (14.5 * 200 MHz), Four Cores, Socket FM1, 4 MB Total L2 Cache, Power-savings enabled

Intel Core i3-2105 (Sandy Bridge) 3.1 GHz (31 * 100 MHz), Two Cores, LGA 1155, 3 MB Shared L3 Cache, Hyper-Threading enabled, Power-savings enabled

Intel Core i3-2100 (Sandy Bridge) 3.1 GHz (31 * 100 MHz), Two Cores, LGA 1155, 3 MB Shared L3 Cache, Hyper-Threading enabled, Power-savings enabled
Thermal Paste
Zalman ZM-STG1
Motherboard
ASRock FM2A75 Pro4 (Socket FM2) AMD A75 FCH, Beta BIOS

ASRock A75 Extreme6 (Socket FM1) AMD A75 FCH, BIOS v.2.00
Memory
G.Skill 16 GB (4 x 4 GB) DDR3-1600, F3-12800CL9Q2-32GBZL @ 9-9-9-24 and 1.5 V

Kingston 4 GB (2 x 2 GB) DDR3-2800, KHX2800OCC12D3T1K2/4GX @ 1.5 V
Hard Drive
Intel SSD 510 250 GB, SATA 6 Gb/s for gaming tests

Intel SSD 520 240 GB, SATA 6 Gb/s for productivity/content creation tests
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7660D

AMD Radeon HD 7560D

AMD Radeon HD 7540D

AMD Radeon HD 6670
Power Supply
Cooler Master UCP-1000 W
System Software And Drivers
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
DirectX
DirectX 11
Graphics DriverHD Graphics Driver For Windows 7 (15.26.8.64.2696)
Game Benchmarks And Settings
Batman: Arkham City
Game Settings: Lowest Quality Settings, Anti-Aliasing: Disabled, V-sync: Disabled, DirectX 11 Mode, 1280x720 / 1680x1050 / 1920x1080, Built-in Benchmark
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Game Settings: Medium Quality Settings, FXAA disabled, V-sync: Disabled, 1280x720 / 1680x1050 / 1920x1080, 25-second playback, Fraps
World of Warcraft: Cataclysm
Game Settings: Good Quality Settings, Anti-Aliasing: 1x AA, V-sync: Disabled, 1280x720 / 1680x1050 / 1920x1080, Demo: Crushblow to The Krazzworks, DirectX 11, 64-bit Binary
Diablo III
Game Settings: Low Quality Settings, Anti-Aliasing: Disabled, V-sync: Disabled, 1280x720 / 1680x1050  / 1920x1080, The Siege Of Bastion's Keep, 120-second playback, Fraps
Audio Benchmarks and Settings
iTunesVersion: 10.4.10, 64-bit
Audio CD ("Terminator II" SE), 53 min., Convert to AAC audio format
Lame MP3Version 3.98.3
Audio CD "Terminator II SE", 53 min, convert WAV to MP3 audio format, Command: -b 160 --nores (160 Kb/s)
Video Benchmarks and Settings
HandBrake CLIVersion: 0.9.5
Video: Big Buck Bunny (720x480, 23.972 frames) 5 Minutes, Audio: Dolby Digital, 48 000 Hz, Six-Channel, English, to Video: AVC Audio: AC3 Audio2: AAC (High Profile)
MainConcept Reference v2.2
Version: 2.2.0.5440
MPEG-2 to H.264, MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec, 28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG-2), Audio:
MPEG-2 (44.1 kHz, 2 Channel, 16-Bit, 224 Kb/s), Codec: H.264 Pro, Mode: PAL 50i (25 FPS), Profile: H.264 BD HDMV
Application Benchmarks and Settings
WinRARVersion: 4.11
RAR, Syntax "winrar a -r -m3", Benchmark: 2010-THG-Workload
WinZip 16.5Version: 16.5
WinZip GUI, Benchmark: 2010-THG-Workload
7-Zip
Version 9.22 beta
LZMA2, Syntax "a -t7z -r -m0=LZMA2 -mx=5", Benchmark: 2010-THG-Workload
Adobe Premiere Pro CS 5.5
Paladin Sequence to H.264 Blu-ray
Output 1920x1080, Maximum Quality, Mercury Playback Engine: Software Mode
Adobe After Effects CS 6
Version: CS5.5
Tom's Hardware Workload, SD project with three picture-in-picture frames, source video at 720p, Render Multiple Frames Simultaneously
Adobe Photoshop CS 6 (64-Bit)Version: 11
Filtering a 16 MB TIF (15 000x7266), Filters:, Radial Blur (Amount: 10, Method: zoom, Quality: good) Shape Blur (Radius: 46 px; custom shape: Trademark sysmbol) Median (Radius: 1px) Polar Coordinates (Rectangular to Polar)
ABBYY FineReaderVersion: 10 Professional Build (10.0.102.82)
Read PDF save to Doc, Source: Political Economy (J. Broadhurst 1842) 111 Pages
3ds Max 2012
Version: 10 x64
Rendering Space Flyby Mentalray (SPECapc_3dsmax9), Frame: 248, Resolution: 1440 x 1080
Adobe Acrobat X Professional
PDF Document Creation (Print) from Microsoft PowerPoint 2010
SolidWorks 2010
PhotoView 360
Render 01-Lighter Explode.SLDASM (SolidMuse.com)
Image Output Resolution: 1920x1080, Render: Preview Quality “Good”, Final Render Quality “Best”
Visual Studio 2010
Compile Chrome project (1/31/2012) with devenv.com /build Release
Synthetic Benchmarks and Settings
PCMark 7Version: 1.0.4
3DMark 11
Version 1.0.3
SiSoftware Sandra 2012 SP4a
CPU Test=CPU Arithmetic/Multimedia, Memory Test=Bandwidth Benchmark, Cryptography, Cache Latency
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 145 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 32 Hide
    belardo , July 2, 2012 4:55 AM
    OOOPS!!

    And it still doesn't make sense to only reserve the best graphics for the high-end chips. People who want such performance in a desktop or notebook may likely have a dedicated GPU anyway.

    The i3' should have HD graphics 3500/4000.
  • 22 Hide
    Reynod , July 2, 2012 5:23 AM
    She did a good job getting the point across with the tech jargon.

    I'd like to see her doing some more short videos on various products.

    She has improved with each new video too.

    Good move Chris and team.

    :) 
  • 22 Hide
    Onus , July 2, 2012 5:00 AM
    This gives me real hope that Piledriver will be a worthwhile chip to put on my 990FX rather than scrapping it for Intel as software becomes more demanding.

    I made myself read the entire article. I consider myself a literate person, but I still cannot find words to properly (and respectfully) express just how physically Beautiful your announcer is.
Other Comments
  • 32 Hide
    belardo , July 2, 2012 4:55 AM
    OOOPS!!

    And it still doesn't make sense to only reserve the best graphics for the high-end chips. People who want such performance in a desktop or notebook may likely have a dedicated GPU anyway.

    The i3' should have HD graphics 3500/4000.
  • 13 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , July 2, 2012 4:58 AM
    where are the OpenCL benchmarks ? specially in winzip ?

    if Intel cant run those, then technically its a loss for intel and win for AMD, right?
  • 22 Hide
    Onus , July 2, 2012 5:00 AM
    This gives me real hope that Piledriver will be a worthwhile chip to put on my 990FX rather than scrapping it for Intel as software becomes more demanding.

    I made myself read the entire article. I consider myself a literate person, but I still cannot find words to properly (and respectfully) express just how physically Beautiful your announcer is.
  • 20 Hide
    Anonymous , July 2, 2012 5:11 AM
    The video review girl is lovely, but being able to see her black brassier pushing her incredible breasts through that see-through shirt made me not pay attention at all to what she was talking about.
  • 0 Hide
    ojas , July 2, 2012 5:13 AM
    Hmmm...you think you could fix to them to the same clock rate and test one real-world productivity test? And perhaps one game with discrete graphics (maybe i've missed this particular test if you've already done it, if i have, sorry about that)...i mean with the i3 benchmarks for comparison.

    Apart from that, i think Trinity is clearly a win if AMD prices it the same as Llano.
  • 3 Hide
    caqde , July 2, 2012 5:18 AM
    I saw a Trinity Desktop from HP on Walmarts shelves. I just wish the processors and motherboards would show up at places like newegg so I could build them for people.
  • 22 Hide
    Reynod , July 2, 2012 5:23 AM
    She did a good job getting the point across with the tech jargon.

    I'd like to see her doing some more short videos on various products.

    She has improved with each new video too.

    Good move Chris and team.

    :) 
  • 12 Hide
    de5_Roy , July 2, 2012 5:24 AM
    trinity's igpu humiliates intel's sb igpu, like llano's did almost a year back. all three are 32 nm products, so i think the comparison's fair. :)  if the igpu was well-scalable, intel should have built a 85/95w sb core i3 with 20-30 eus to be competitive with the apus, at least in terms of igpu performance. if intel once again slaps hd 2500 on core i3s and overprices the hd4k + core i3s, trinity will win in terms of price/performance.
  • -3 Hide
    vmem , July 2, 2012 5:30 AM
    REYNODShe did a good job getting the point across with the tech jargon.I'd like to see her doing some more short videos on various products.She has improved with each new video too.Good move Chris and team.

    Agreed, but she is also now completely covered up do to people "complaining". Would a low v-neck really be too much? She is overly covered compared to news anchors
  • 5 Hide
    Marco925 , July 2, 2012 5:35 AM
    Chris Angelini, What software do you use to create the RAM Drive?
  • 13 Hide
    amdfangirl , July 2, 2012 5:37 AM
    At least the single threaded gap is smaller... makes Trinity very competitive.

    Still amazing that a Core i3 with 1100mhz disadvantage (if you count turbo of 4.2Ghz) can beat Trinity.

    What a world we live in. :) 

    Interesting to see how Ivy Bridge Core i3 performs. Will Intel ramp up the clockspeed and risk cannibalising the Core i5 series? Given this turn of events, I wouldn't be surprised if Intel decides to make HD 4000 standard, or at least a cheap upgrade from HD 2500.

    For desktop Piledriver, Trinity competes well with Intel's Core i3 but I have a few concerns for Piledriver AM3+, mainly that there are unlocked Core i5s and i7s which may be able to negate the clockspeed advantage AMD has here.. Depending on how well Piledriver for AM3+ overclocks, AMD will need quite a hefty stock clock and OC ability to beat or match Intel.

    More likely than not, desktop AM3+ Piledriver won't be K8 to P4, but if it's just PhII to Core i5/i7 (bloomfield, lynnfield), I'll be happy.
  • 8 Hide
    csbeer , July 2, 2012 6:04 AM
    I wish these sites would do a thorough review of the dual graphics/asymmetrical crossfire set up of the APU chips. From what I've read there are certain situations where they shine but are highly dependent on the drivers.
  • 3 Hide
    goodguy713 , July 2, 2012 6:06 AM
    good review +1 for the lady she did a good job.. :p  any way was there any particular reason you did this review without discrete cards or is it that these are all laptop parts? just wondering hybrid crossfire would of been helpful.
  • -5 Hide
    _Pez_ , July 2, 2012 6:27 AM
    why amd memory cache and ram sucks badly ? does anyone know the technical answer?
  • -1 Hide
    we_san , July 2, 2012 6:27 AM
    Games : Just add both config 1 low-med discrete card and still intel cant beat amd. Hybrid cfx in action !
  • 8 Hide
    colinp , July 2, 2012 7:05 AM
    Would love to see some stats on the power draw and temperature, given that Trinity is a 100W part and the i3s were 65W (supposedly)
  • 8 Hide
    belardo , July 2, 2012 7:06 AM
    Thing is... in truth, Piledriver is more than good enough for todays needs. But if I am going to spend close to $200 for a CPU... i5-3570K without blinking.

    When I look at $100 CPUs for a budget user, I have to think: Is this an office/typical work or a low-cost gaming PC. If they are getting a dedicated card, the GPU part of the AMD CPU becomes useless. if its a biz PC that won't play 3D games... then the HD2000~3000 is overkill.

    The Trinity platform is FM2, so any AMD lovers (snif) are going to have to buy FM2 motherboards. Things that won't be on the market soon, and doesn't matter so much as people who are building their own PCs are going intel anyways.

    For AMD to compete, their A10 CPU needs to cost as much as an i3 class CPU... you get about the same performance + gaming abilities, if needed. Selling the FX at i5~i7 pricing didn't help at all.


    I don't consider any of the AMD dozer/driver CPUs to be true 4/6/8 CORE CPUs... they are not complete enough to be so and their performance against TRUE dual and quad core CPUs shows it.

    With that said... I think I can go with FM2 with a $100 quad core *IF* AMD had such a CPU for clients who need a good office PC. I can't go with FM1 or AM3 since those are EOL... and there are no FM2 products for us to choose from yet.
  • -1 Hide
    Yuka , July 2, 2012 7:08 AM
    Nice review guys.

    Can you make a quick decoding round up with the HD2k and HD3K against Trinity and Llano? Specially the HD2k, since mos of the Intel lineup in that segment has that.

    Cheers!
Display more comments