Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

An Experiment: Gaming Performance, Tegra 2-Porting

The Amazon Kindle Fire: Benchmarked, Tested, And Reviewed
By

No matter how Tegra 2 performs, Nvidia is to be commended for its effort in advocating game development on mobile hardware. And let's draw a distinction between the masses of graphically-unimpressive titles and the ones that do legitimately cool stuff with 3D.

Unfortunately, the games most likely to sport truly impressive graphics are often exclusive to Tegra 2-based devices. That's a real problem if you're on a different hardware platform. It's even worse for the Kindle Fire because Amazon's Appstore offers an even poorer selection of games.

There is a technical reason for this limitation, beyond Nvidia's habit of swinging its marketing around like a baseball bat. Software developers writing for Tegra 2 often use Nvidia's proprietary 3D libraries. As such their games just won't work on Android-based devices powered by TI or Qualcomm SoCs.

As an experiment though, I extracted the APKs for Riptide GP, Sprinkle, and Shadowgun from our Motorola Xoom and installed them on the Kindle Fire. Note that Riptide and Sprinkle started as Tegra 2-exclusive games on Android, but were eventually ported to iOS.

Kindle Fire: Shadowgun CrashesKindle Fire: Shadowgun Crashes

Unfortunately, Shadogun crashes immediately after we select game difficulty.

Amazon Kindle Fire: Running Riptide (Game)

Riptide is playable without any problems, but screen shots always end up with artifacts.

Kindle Fire: Riptide GP, Screenshots With ArtifactsKindle Fire: Riptide GP, Screenshots With Artifacts

Xoom: Riptide GP, Artifact-Free ScreenshotXoom: Riptide GP, Artifact-Free Screenshot

We haven't featured Sprinkle in any of our hardware reviews, but it's similar to Angry Birds. The difference is that you use a water cannon to put out fires that threaten villagers. While the concept sounds cheesy, the water effects are downright impressive, making the game more enjoyable. On the Kindle Fire, we still get tearing effects in screen shots.

Kindle Fire: Sprinkle, Screenshot With ArtifactsKindle Fire: Sprinkle, Screenshot With Artifacts

Xoom: Sprinkle, Artifact-Free ScreenshotXoom: Sprinkle, Artifact-Free Screenshot

Game play is smooth, but as you can see in the video below, water effects are incorrectly rendered. Instead of one continuous stream, we get a lot of individual bubbles.

Amazon Kindle Fire: Playing Sprinkle

The mobile game compatibility landscape looks a lot like the desktop scene did 15 years ago, when titles were more inherently tied to a compatible 3D accelerator. Things won't really change, though, until game developers and SoC vendors all agree to abide by a common gaming framework and driver architecture.

If you're planning to root and install games on your Fire, make note of our experience with these three titles. Some will work. Some won't. And others simply don't look quite right.

Display all 33 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 18 Hide
    acku , November 24, 2011 7:51 AM
    Quote:
    How do I win a Radeon 6990?


    Ummm.... what? :heink:  This is a Kindle Fire review.....

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
Other Comments
  • -3 Hide
    JeTJL , November 24, 2011 4:55 AM
    Should of done other comparisons with Tablets around the Kindles Price range like the Coby Kyros. I personally don't have either the Kyros or the Kindle Fire. But recently My sister bought it and she is thoroughly enjoying it. I received a Ipad2 though because of the Academy at my School that I belong to and I'm quite pleased with it, even though I'm a big android fan.
  • 18 Hide
    acku , November 24, 2011 7:51 AM
    Quote:
    How do I win a Radeon 6990?


    Ummm.... what? :heink:  This is a Kindle Fire review.....

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
  • 6 Hide
    Goldengoose , November 24, 2011 9:24 AM
    ackuUmmm.... what? This is a Kindle Fire review.....Cheers,Andrew KuTomsHardware.com

    Just give him the 6990, the poor fellow just wants to play BF3.
  • -8 Hide
    amk-aka-Phantom , November 24, 2011 9:48 AM
    ackuUmmm.... what? This is a Kindle Fire review.....Cheers,Andrew KuTomsHardware.com


    Ever heard of bots? There're tons of those on Tom's nowadays.

    GoldengooseJust give him the 6990, the poor fellow just wants to play BF3.


    A GPU of a 560 Ti level maxes it out @ 1080p, no need for a 6990.

    Back to topic...

    Quote:
    Notably, it's missing a slew of features, including a GPS, front- and rear-facing cameras, and a microphone.


    ROFL, and who needs a tablet without all that? That's right, Amazon fanboys. That company is an utter POS that is not unlike Apple, designing underpowered useless products and delivering them as "innovative". The only "innovative" thing here is a complete dependency on the company's online services... oops, nevermind, Apple did it first :kaola: 
  • 7 Hide
    donovands , November 24, 2011 11:13 AM
    Wait, what? Is there such a thing as an Amazon fanboy?
  • 5 Hide
    donovands , November 24, 2011 11:39 AM
    The iPad took a part of the market away from the PC, in the sense that there are folks out there who don't need the full functionality of a PC and the media consumption tablet gave them a device more suited for their needs. The same thing is happening here, if not as dramatically. The Fire may not have all the functionality of an iPad, but there's a lot of folks out there that will get the Fire *instead* of the iPad because it provides all the functionality they need. It isn't an iPad killer. But it *is* going to hurt iPad sales.
  • 1 Hide
    SneakySnake , November 24, 2011 11:57 AM
    I think it's hilarious how the best selling droid tab this year is completely closed off, limited, and controlled. Sounds familiar doesn't it :p 

    And do not say "ya, but you can root it!!!". That's nice, people can jailbreak their iPads. You cannot include rooting and jailbreaking when you talk about something being open
  • 2 Hide
    acku , November 24, 2011 12:43 PM
    __-_-_-__"That rules out video conferencing using Skype or mapping out directions to the bar across town."There are some new devices called WEBCAM and bluetooth or usb GPS that would enable that. you might want to check this huge innovation. -.-


    The Fire doesn't have either of those things. Not going to work. You should check out the specs of the Fire first.
  • 1 Hide
    BlackHawk91 , November 24, 2011 3:20 PM
    Actually this tablet surprised me, I didn't expect that much from the kindle fire.
  • 4 Hide
    acku , November 24, 2011 3:55 PM
    BlackHawk91Actually this tablet surprised me, I didn't expect that much from the kindle fire.

    Oh yeah? You bought a Fire?

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
  • 1 Hide
    eklipz330 , November 24, 2011 7:05 PM
    i was playing with my classmate's kindle fire yesterday, an amazing little device. despite all the negative reviews ive been reading, it just showed me that we've been seriously spoiled with some amazing technology.... it's really an amazing piece of tech
  • -6 Hide
    jla0 , November 24, 2011 8:05 PM
    At that price ($199), why not buy a 16GB Playbook? At least it's a "real" full featured tablet. The QNX OS rocks too. Anyone who's tried it loves the interface compared to an Android tablet...

    This article is a big fail.. they should have included it to compare.

    Just sayin...
  • -3 Hide
    josh jones , November 24, 2011 9:31 PM
    Like the author implied, the fire will make a great Trojan for amazon store:) 
  • 1 Hide
    JeTJL , November 24, 2011 10:19 PM
    josh jonesLike the author implied, the fire will make a great Trojan for amazon store


    You can say the same thing with the Ipad and the Itunes store. Except for the fact that Amazon isn't making money with just selling the Kindle Fire alone.

    Still though I like both the Ipad and Kindle Fire.
  • 0 Hide
    quantumrand , November 26, 2011 5:11 AM
    Is the A5's RAM really clocked at 1066MHz, or is it actually 533MHz and 1066 after the DDR conversion? It's a little unfair to list it after the DDR conversion and the others before.

    Also, I want to elaborate on the GPU. The OMAP 4430's SGX540 runs at 300MHz, not 200MHz, so those figures are a little misleading.
  • 1 Hide
    eddieroolz , November 26, 2011 9:26 AM
    A very informative review. I was interested in the Kindle Fire for a while for its super-cheap price tag, but didn't pull the trigger on it because I don't really need a tablet.

    It seems like a good product from Amazon, but for my expected use, it isn't sufficient. I mainly use my iPod touch to read comics in JPEG format, so not being able to install many apps + having limited space really hurts.
  • 1 Hide
    acku , November 26, 2011 9:40 AM
    eddieroolzA very informative review. I was interested in the Kindle Fire for a while for its super-cheap price tag, but didn't pull the trigger on it because I don't really need a tablet.It seems like a good product from Amazon, but for my expected use, it isn't sufficient. I mainly use my iPod touch to read comics in JPEG format, so not being able to install many apps + having limited space really hurts.


    Glad you liked it! Most of the time I cringe when the table discussion turns to tablets. A lot of tech reviewers aren't even really technies. They come from a Communication background, which is why the Fire is always pitted in a iPad 2 fight. Plus, the investors want the Apple fight cause they only see things in terms of units sold.

    The engineers and consumers want a comparison based on features and usability. And the executives and PR people want a comparison based on demographics.

    The truth lies somewhere in the middle. For me, this tablet is very attractive, but then again, I like amazon. If you're not part of that crowd, it's a harder purchase to justify in the long run.

    Cheers,
    Andrew Ku
    TomsHardware.com
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , November 27, 2011 2:31 AM
    I pruchased on, love it! no need to root. Just sideloading is all you need. The interface is easy, quick, fun. My mom loves it and is getting one for xmas. My phone has a camera plus who uses video conferencing apps anyways? I'd rather wait for a Dick Tracy watch.
  • 0 Hide
    kartu , November 27, 2011 12:24 PM
    Good review, but not clear why Xoom makes it into review, while much more popular Galaxy Tab 10.1 doesn't
Display more comments