AMD Unleashed: Four CPUs, Two GPUs, All Overclocked

Test System Configuration and Benchmarks

System Hardware
Processors
AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition (Deneb) 3.0 GHz, 1800 MHz HT, 6MB L3 Cache
AMD Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition (Heka) 2.8 GHz, 2000 MHz HT, 6MB L3 Cache
AMD Phenom X4 9950 Black Edition (Agena) 2.6 GHz, 2000 MHz HT, 2MB L3 Cache
AMD Athlon 7750 Black Edition (Kuma) 2.7 GHz, 1800 MHz HT, 2MB L3 Cache
Motherboard
Asus M3A78-T (AM2+) 790GX / SB750, BIOS 0802
Chipset, BIOS version
RAM
Corsair 4 GB ( 2 x 2GB) DDR2-1066, 5-5-5-15, 2.1V
Hard Drives
Western Digital Caviar Black WD 6401AALS 640GB, 7200 RPM, 32MB Cache, SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB, 7200 RPM, 16MB Cache, SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Graphics Cards
AMD Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB GDDR5 750 MHz GPU, 900 MHz GDDR5
AMD Radeon HD 4870 512MB GDDR5 750 MHz GPU, 900 MHz GDDR5
Power supplies
Antec Neo Power 650W
Antec True Power Trio 650W
CoolersXigmatek HDT-S1283
Artic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
System Software And Drivers
OS
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition, 32-bit, SP1
DirectX Version
DirectX 10
Display Driver
Catalyst 9.2
Benchmarks and Settings
3D Games
Crysis
Version : 1.2.1, Video Quality : Very High Details, Demo : CPU-Benchmark + Tom’s Hardware Tool
Supreme Commander Forged Alliance
Version : 1.5.3599, Video Quality : Highest Settings, Demo : WallaceTX_006_006, Benchmark : Fraps 2.9.4 - Build 7037
Unreal Tournament 3
Version : 1.2, Sound and DirectX10, Texture Details : 5, Level Details : 5, Demo : vCTF-Reflection_bot, Time : 12/60
World In Conflict
Version : 1.0.0.9, Video Quality : Very High details, Demo : Game-Benchmark
Audio Encoding
iTunes
Version : 7.7.0.43, Audio CD (Terminator II SE), 53 min, Default format AAC
Lame MP3
Version : 3.98 Beta 3 (05-22-2007), Audio CD ""Terminator II SE, 53 min, wave to MP3, 160kb/s
Video Encoding
TMPEG 4.5
Version : 4.5.1.254, Import File : Terminator 2 SE DVD (5 Minutes), Resolution : 720x576 (PAL) 16:9
DivX 6.8.3
Encoding mode : Insane Quality, Enhanced Multi-threading, Enabled using SSE4, Quarter-pixel search
XviD 1.1.3
Display encoding status = off
Mainconcept Reference 1.5.1
Reference H.264 Plugin Pro 1.5.1

MPEG2 to MPEG2 (H.264), MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec, 28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG2), Audio : MPEG2 (44.1 kHz, 2 Channel, 16-Bit, 224 kbp/s), Mode : PAL (25 FPS), Profile : Tom’s Hardware Settings for Qct-Core
Applications
Autodesk 3D Studio Max 9
Version : 9.0, Rendering Dragon Image at 1920x1080 (HDTV)
Grisoft AVG Anti-Virus 8
Version : 8.0.134, Virus base : 270.4.5/1533, Benchmark : Scan 334 MB Folder of ZIP/RAR compressed files
WinRAR 3.80
Version 3.70 BETA 8, WinZIP Commandline Version 2.3, Compression = Best, Dictionary = 4,096 KB, Benchmark : THG-Workload (334 MB)
WinZip 11
Version 11.2, Compression = Best, Benchmark : THG-Workload (139 MB)
Synthetic Benchmarks
3Dmark Vantage
Version : 1.02, GPU and CPU scores
PCMark Vantage
Version : 1.00, System, Memory, Hard Disk Drive benchmarks, Windows Media Player 10.00.00.3646
SiSoftware Sandra XII SP2
Version 2008.5.14.24, CPU Test = CPU Arithmetic / MultiMedia, Memory Test = Bandwidth Benchmark
Create a new thread in the US Reviews comments forum about this subject
This thread is closed for comments
53 comments
    Your comment
  • setting aside 1366 and AM3

    In 2 or 3 years when QX9770 chips start showing up for $250-$300.

    Will AMD have a cheaper socket AM2+ compatible chip on the market that will outperform it?

    If so, AMD would be a nice alternative.
    -21
  • setting aside 1366 and AM3

    In 2 or 3 years when QX9770 chips start showing up for $250-$300.

    Will AMD have a cheaper socket AM2+ compatible chip on the market that will outperform it?

    If so, AMD would be a nice alternative.
    -24
  • In 2 or 3 years Intel will have 16 cores on a single cpu, and amd tech will, as always, be useless, outdated, and worthless... Just like they are now.
    -31
  • So did I miss somthing or where does it say what each of these processors is overclocked to. I get that the p2 x3 720be is at 3.67 but what about the rest of them. Am I missing it somewhere (very possible) or do I have to look back at your previous articles to figure it out? shouldn't that be on the test systems and configuration page. I am trying to sort through the data.
    5
  • Nice article Paul and some exhaustive work! Don't overlook the 780G/SB710 that also feature ACC for a price of $72
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157154
    making the Phenom2 x3 720 a viable option in the SBM budget category. I'm also going to be curious about the new Phenom2 x2 and Athlon2 x2 processors that are coming out June 2nd.
    2
  • Has anyone noticed the benchmarks for the i5's on anandtech yet?
    0
  • Great article guys - love the comparisons to the SBM machines - really gives some insight into CPU and GPU scaling and how much to spend on your processor versus your graphics for gaming builds. Thanks!
    1
  • apache_livesHas anyone noticed the benchmarks for the i5's on anandtech yet?


    I did. Considering the pricing scheme of the i5 (so close to AMD) and it's high performance numbers (so close to the i7) AMD is in big trouble.

    Intel will shift all the processors that are now under the i7 (even if the 920 is rumored to become EOL, one step down on it's portfolio, which means high end Intel dual cores, will go into or under the mainstream, where AMD already has a hard time.

    This doesn't make me very happy, even if I am an Intel fanboy. Aggressive pricing schemes are overrated. AMD needs something new. Now.
    8
  • ... BIG THX to the Tom's crew... was not so hard after all? ... now, thx to YOU, we have a info about intel, nVidia and AMD/ATi solutions... how they stack up in price/performance/cost of ownership... NICELY DONE!!!
    1
  • Yes thanks, many people complained in the system builder marathon and you listened to the complaints... great.
    5
  • The E5200 seems to hold up a bit better than I previously thought, an incredible value for
    3
  • sihastruI did. Considering the pricing scheme of the i5 (so close to AMD) and it's high performance numbers (so close to the i7) AMD is in big trouble.Intel will shift all the processors that are now under the i7 (even if the 920 is rumored to become EOL, one step down on it's portfolio, which means high end Intel dual cores, will go into or under the mainstream, where AMD already has a hard time.This doesn't make me very happy, even if I am an Intel fanboy. Aggressive pricing schemes are overrated. AMD needs something new. Now.


    AMD doesn't need something new now, they are going to flood the market with low to mid range processor (see computex in a couple of days) that will cater to the masses. On the high end side of things the PII remains an options since it's direct competitor, the intel penryn quads will fade out to be replaced by the new kid on the block, the i5. As for the enthusiast (lots of money, no jaw dropping performance increase)segment the i7 will rule them all. So the battle between blue and green will continue as is, for almost 3 years now AMD has lost the crown, another year isn't going to hurt them much. Things will get heated this time next year when more and more bulldozer and fusion rumors will start spreading.

    As of now, nothing new, in this review or the ones that will follow.
    0
  • radguySo did I miss somthing or where does it say what each of these processors is overclocked to. I get that the p2 x3 720be is at 3.67 but what about the rest of them.

    Thanks for pointing this out. No you didn't miss anything, the CPU-Z screenshots should have been put up in pairs CPU Tab / Memory Tab.

    Phenom II X4 940 BE - 3.793 GHz (18.5* 205) 1.5375V
    Phenom II X3 720 BE - 3.672 GHz (18.0* 204) 1.500V
    Phenom X4 9950 BE - 3.400 GHz (16.5*206) 1.425V
    Athlon 7750 BE - 3.383 GHz (16.5*205) 1.425V
    6
  • All I can say is Thank you. What a great article! I can't see anyone not considering the PhII X3 720 for a budget build.

    I'm glad to see my X4 940 is holding up so well. Prolly be another 2 months before I feel obsolete again!
    5
  • O, BTW isn't 1.5V extremely high for a PhII? I've never taken mine beyond 1.45V. I'm chicken
    3
  • These benchmarks are obsolete and shouldn't be compared to anything. Firstly cat 9.2 is from february, now its june and cat 9.5. AMD also has had 7850 and 955 processors available quite awhile for better performance.
    0
  • radguySo did I miss somthing or where does it say what each of these processors is overclocked to. I get that the p2 x3 720be is at 3.67 but what about the rest of them. Am I missing it somewhere (very possible) or do I have to look back at your previous articles to figure it out? shouldn't that be on the test systems and configuration page. I am trying to sort through the data.


    Check out screens from CPU-Z. Good article.. i say: FINALLY!

    How about using AMD and Intel CPUs in GPU tests in the future? I'm not gonna buy Intel no matter what, so furter articles with AMD processors i would gladly welcome
    0
  • That's odd, most of my previous post is no displaying... Maybe that's why it has a negative score? I noticed, I hunted for a post I submitted last last week on a different article and it looks like it never posted.
    0
  • Nice article, plz include more AMD cpus in normal reviews in the future.

    on another note...

    That i5 article is some biased Anandtech fanboy crap, they start it off with this:

    "Note: This article was not condoned or supported in any way by Intel. We obtained all pre-release hardware on our own. Enjoy."

    Surely, it's some Intel marketing BS, and they actually did give them the silicon, but look at the benchmarks they did. They cherry picked every single benchmark so that the i5/i7s would do well. Video encoding, rendering, that bull-shlt excel Monte Carlo benchmark, and then a few select games. Never were video encoding and cpu-based rendering such 'important' benchmarks until the i7 came out, now they must comprise 50%+ of the total benchmarks for an Anandtech review.
    3
  • Great article with both AMD and ATI which helps me alot. Last year I bought the top of the range AMD cpu X2 3.2 ghz & motherboard k9a2 platinum with cheeper ATI 4850 1ghz and 4ghz DDR2 1066 on a nice budget and this year I have already bought one more HIS HD4850 1ghz and towards the end of the year I will get the Phenom II x4 to drop in with one more HIS HD4850 1ghz ( in the long run I am paying more but this is over a 2 too 3 year period
    So the results you have given me in this article will give me an Idear of what I might be able to get from my computer thanks heeps
    Gazz
    6