Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Brightness And Contrast

AOC G2460PQU 24-inch 144 Hz Gaming Monitor Review
By

Uncalibrated

Before calibrating any panel, we measure zero and 100-percent signals at both ends of the brightness control range. This shows us how contrast is affected at the extremes of a display's luminance capability. We do not increase the contrast control past the clipping point. While that would successfully increase a monitor’s light output, the brightest signal levels would not be visible, resulting in crushed highlight detail. Our numbers show the maximum light level possible with no clipping of the signal.

For the comparison group, we’re including the 144 Hz Asus VG248QE and BenQ XL2720Z, plus a 60Hz BenQ RL2460HT. Rounding out the group are our recently-reviewed QHD professional screens from NEC.

The G2460PQU is the brightest monitor we’ve seen in a while. In fact, only Planar's PXL2790MW measures higher in our tests. It’s a shame there’s no backlight strobing feature available, because the extra output would likely combine to provide blur reduction and decent brightness.

A bright display often means higher black levels, though.

Sure enough, we measure a less-than-great black level result. But if you need to turn the backlight up all the way, it’s not a big deal. Why? Because as you’ll see below, this screen maintains solid contrast ratios at all light levels.

The max contrast result doesn’t suffer at all considering the G2460PQU’s prodigious output.

Any contrast ratio over 1000 to 1 is good. Even with an elevated black level, the image still has plenty of depth and detail. You’d have to be sitting in a brightly-lit room or outside to really need this much brightness, though it's good to know the option is available.

We believe 50 cd/m2 is a practical minimum standard for screen brightness. Any lower and you risk eyestrain and fatigue. The G2460PQU bottoms out at 91.5339 cd/m2. For our taste, that's a little high if you're gaming in a dark room. A small amount of ambient light helps offset the effect, though.

Even though AOC finishes last in our comparison group, .0866 cd/m2 is still a decent black level result. The other screens have much lower white levels when their backlights are at the minimum, which accounts for their superior black levels. The exception is Asus' VG248QE. That display has almost freakishly-high contrast.

The G2460PQU maintains its contrast result of over 1000 to 1. While the Asus is another universe at over 6500 to 1, it’s not consistent at different backlight settings like the other displays are. I prefer monitors to not have a sweet spot for contrast. Rather, I like to see the same contrast performance at all backlight settings.

After Calibration

Since we consider 200 cd/m2 to be an ideal point for peak output, we calibrate all of our test monitors to that value. In a room with some ambient light (like an office), this brightness level provides a sharp, punchy image with maximum detail and minimum eye fatigue. On many monitors it’s also the sweet spot for gamma and grayscale tracking, which we'll look at on the next page. In a darkened room, many professionals prefer a 120 cd/m2 calibration. We have found it makes little to no difference on the calibrated black level and contrast measurements, though.

The G2460PQU’s black levels don’t suffer after calibration like some displays do. We didn’t have to make any large adjustments to the RGB sliders or the contrast control, so excellent contrast can be maintained without sacrificing color accuracy.

The corresponding reduction in contrast is very minor.

Sometimes you're forced to choose between high contrast or better color accuracy. That’s not the case with the G2460PQU. It only loses eight percent in the final contrast ratio measurement. We doubt anyone will notice.

ANSI Contrast Ratio

Another important measure of contrast is ANSI. To perform this test, a checkerboard pattern of sixteen zero and 100-percent squares is measured. The test is somewhat more real-world than on/off measurements because it gauges a display’s ability to simultaneously maintain both low black and full white levels, and factors in screen uniformity. The average of the eight full-white measurements is divided by the average of the eight full-black measurements to arrive at the ANSI result.

The G2460PUQ’s ANSI contrast stays solid at 953.9 to 1. That’s only a two-percent drop from the uncalibrated, full-brightness result. There is absolutely no penalty for calibrating this display, and you can set the backlight at any level to enjoy consistently excellent image depth.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 43 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 5 Hide
    PandaV4 , July 10, 2014 1:57 AM
    I have a AOC G2460P monitor myself, and a unpleasant surprise was that refresh rate of 144 Hz wasn't supported if using the DisplayPort connection. Does G2460PQU have the same limitations, or does it actually support 144 Hz over DisplayPort?
  • 7 Hide
    PandaV4 , July 10, 2014 2:15 AM
    After some googling it seems that G2460PQU and G2460P is the same model. So beware if you want to use Displayport you wont be able to use the 144 Hz setting too! And this doesn't have any blur reduction either! It seems there is actually a new updated model to be released this month the AOC G2460PG. And it has nvidia g-sync support and blur reduction, and supports 144 over dIsplayport.
    TL;DR: G2460PQU = DO NOT BUY, G2460PG = BUY.
  • 0 Hide
    ubercake , July 10, 2014 4:12 AM
    Good review. Thanks.

    A typo:
    Bezel width: 0.6-1 inched / 15-25 mm
  • 1 Hide
    ceberle , July 10, 2014 5:10 AM
    Quote:
    I have a AOC G2460P monitor myself, and a unpleasant surprise was that refresh rate of 144 Hz wasn't supported if using the DisplayPort connection. Does G2460PQU have the same limitations, or does it actually support 144 Hz over DisplayPort?


    The PQU does accept 144 Hz over DisplayPort.

    -Christian-
  • 3 Hide
    PandaV4 , July 10, 2014 5:24 AM
    Quote:
    Quote:
    I have a AOC G2460P monitor myself, and a unpleasant surprise was that refresh rate of 144 Hz wasn't supported if using the DisplayPort connection. Does G2460PQU have the same limitations, or does it actually support 144 Hz over DisplayPort?


    The PQU does accept 144 Hz over DisplayPort.

    -Christian-

    A bit of googling brought up this article - http://pcmonitors.info/reviews/aoc-g2460pqu which says: " The image provided by DisplayPort is very similar on this monitor and it should also support the maximum (144Hz) refresh rate. Unfortunately that was not the case during our testing" and "The PC resolutions below this should feature 1920 x 1080 with 100Hz, 120Hz and 144Hz selectable – but that isn’t the case.". It seems there are different revisions of this monitor with the same model number. So if you buy one of those than you are practically gambling about the 144 Hz support.
  • 0 Hide
    npyrhone , July 10, 2014 6:11 AM
    Will we ever see here a review of even one non-TN gaming monitor? The reduced color depth renders to image quality absolutely disgusting.

    I will be the first one to congratulate you when you publish the next review of a monitor with a non-TN panel working over 60Hz.
  • -1 Hide
    rantoc , July 10, 2014 7:05 AM
    Yet another low res 1080p panel - Yawn!
  • -3 Hide
    3Dns , July 10, 2014 7:12 AM
    I have that model too and i buy it after a HP 23xi IPS LED Panel.
    I understand that.
    It doesnt worth 300€ for this model. All you need is 60hz and 24" Panel that you can take it with 120€. For me IPS Panels offer you way better colors so for me its better. Now if you want it for a GTX780 and above and you wanna play over 60FPS it may worth.
    But have in mind that a normal monitor cost ~120$ and this model cost double. You can spend that money in other hardware areas like better GPU for example.
  • 5 Hide
    Adroid , July 10, 2014 7:30 AM
    Sorry, but I won't ever buy another 1080p "gaming" display. 1920x1200 is vastly superior for "gaming" screens, and it's a shame the industry has veered away from it.

    I guess the thought process involves "and you can watch HD movies on it". Needless to say the 16:9 ratio is cheaper for manufacturers, and it's a great sales pitch. Well, give me a break. I got suckered into that line of thinking and I probably watched 2-3 movies on my "gaming" 23 inch monitor in 4-5 years.

    Let's keep the movies where they belong in the living room and re-focus "gaming" screens where they should have never left - in the 16:10 aspect ratio.
  • 3 Hide
    alchemy69 , July 10, 2014 8:35 AM
    If a game isn't enjoyable at 60Hz it isn't going to be enjoyable at 144Hz. And if it is enjoyable at 144, it still will be at 60. I've had some of the greatest fun over the last 30 years playing on tiny monitors, at low resolution and probably less than 30fps. I don't need the industry telling me what I need to have fun just so they can move more product.
  • 3 Hide
    moogleslam , July 10, 2014 8:57 AM
    With G-Sync monitors coming out now, technology like this already seems obsolete. Looking forward to an ASUS ROG Swift review.
  • 1 Hide
    PandaV4 , July 10, 2014 9:00 AM
    As i said before the AOC G2460PG coming this month has G-sync support too. There really is no sense in buying the model in this review.
  • 2 Hide
    ubercake , July 10, 2014 9:31 AM
    Quote:
    With G-Sync monitors coming out now, technology like this already seems obsolete. Looking forward to an ASUS ROG Swift review.


    I kind of agree, but if you don't have a G-sync capable GPU or don't want to throw the required funds at a G-sync monitor, these 144Hz monitors are the best options for gaming and they're far less expensive than G-sync monitors.
  • 2 Hide
    Adroid , July 10, 2014 1:14 PM
    Well my dream monitor is a 1920x1200 24" AH-IPS with G-sync, no ghosting, and extremely fast response times. I would be willing to shell out extra money for something like this, but quite honestly manufacturers may never make one, ever.
  • 3 Hide
    ceberle , July 10, 2014 1:40 PM
    Quote:
    Will we ever see here a review of even one non-TN gaming monitor? The reduced color depth renders to image quality absolutely disgusting.

    I will be the first one to congratulate you when you publish the next review of a monitor with a non-TN panel working over 60Hz.


    Yes. I just finished up testing of the Overlord Tempest X270OC. The article will publish soon. I'm also expecting a sample of the Asus PG278Q in the next few weeks. Please stay tuned!

    -Christian-
  • 0 Hide
    larsoncc , July 10, 2014 1:55 PM
    Does this support any 3d emitters and/or 3D Vision? Or is this one high refresh only, and not 3D?
  • 1 Hide
    ceberle , July 10, 2014 2:26 PM
    Quote:
    Does this support any 3d emitters and/or 3D Vision? Or is this one high refresh only, and not 3D?


    3D is not supported.

    -Christian-
  • 1 Hide
    JackNaylorPE , July 10, 2014 3:25 PM
    B to W ? No G to G ??????


    Quote:
    Well my dream monitor is a 1920x1200 24" AH-IPS with G-sync, no ghosting, and extremely fast response times. I would be willing to shell out extra money for something like this, but quite honestly manufacturers may never make one, ever.


    That should arrive right after the car that does 0 to 60 in 3.6 seconds, carries 9 people, gets 87 miles per gallon and is priced at $17,995 :) 
  • 1 Hide
    wtfxxxgp , July 11, 2014 12:51 AM
    I don't understand why people are complaining about "yet another 1080p TN monitor". This is still the more mainstream option for the greater majority of people out there. Toms has done a really good job of letting us know where it stands in comparison against its competitors. If it's not for you, then what is the point of bashing either THW or the manufacturer of the model that has been reviewed? Then sit back and wait for the review of the monitor that will eventually get your nod of approval, because I'll tell you right now - what most of you are "waiting for" will be DAMN EXPENSIVE.
  • 0 Hide
    Transsive , July 11, 2014 3:48 AM
    I love motion blur reduction (CRT-like strobbing). I have a lightboost2 monitor.
    But I hate the requirement of running 120fps at 120hz.
    Get any less than 120fps and the quality drops pretty noticeably (stuttering, double images). To the point where I prefer playing games like Civ 5 without motion blur reduction/strobbing.

    But G-Sync should remove the 120/144fps requirement, so I'm quite excited about that.
    Right now TN panels is where gaming is at, but hopefully not for much longer. I value motion clarity more than color accuracy and viewing angles.
Display more comments