Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Crysis And F1 2010

Z68 Express Roundup: Three Motherboards Do Battle Around $200
By

A new series of motherboards allowed us to change the benchmark suite, but Crysis still gathers interest and amusement among many enthusiasts. An actual game that few people play, this is the closest thing we have to a “synthetic” bench in today’s tests.

We’re looking for the mythical performance loss that supposedly comes from enabling onboard graphics on Z68 (with Lucidlogix's Virtu software running), yet the P67 platform only tops one of the two Crysis charts.

P67 also tops one of the F1 2010 charts, again at low settings. It appears that any performance loss, if applicable, affects some part of the system other than the add-in graphics card.

Display all 60 comments.
  • 0 Hide
    user 18 , May 16, 2011 4:27 AM
    ASrock comes with 4 eSATA cables?
  • 0 Hide
    Kisakuku , May 16, 2011 6:23 AM
    The first UEFI screenshots for ASRock and Asus are switched.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , May 16, 2011 6:48 AM
    user 18ASrock comes with 4 eSATA cables?
    KisakukuThe first UEFI screenshots for ASRock and Asus are switched.
    Fixed, thanks!
  • 2 Hide
    pirateboy , May 16, 2011 8:34 AM
    mayankleoboy1a little something from MSI would have made this more interesting.


    +1
  • 0 Hide
    evga_fan , May 16, 2011 8:38 AM
    ->Thomas

    "Gigabyte’s Quick Boost application sets our processor at 200, 400, or 700 MHz beyond its rated frequency."

    Just so you know. Anyways, keep up the good work!

    Cheers
  • 2 Hide
    crisan_tiberiu , May 16, 2011 9:57 AM
    so, basicaly there is no difference in performance between theese boards as i can see.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , May 16, 2011 10:29 AM
    hmm .. was thinking of getting an Asus P8Z68-V Pro .. not so sure now knowing that the other boards offer the same performance and are both cheaper.
  • 2 Hide
    Olle P , May 16, 2011 12:01 PM
    One additional feature of the ASRock card that isn't mentioned is its set of holes matching a socket 775 cooler. That feature was the main reason I ordered one of these cards three days ago, since I won't have to spend money on a new CPU cooler.
  • 2 Hide
    tommysch , May 16, 2011 12:29 PM
    So a P67 is superior... interesting.
  • 0 Hide
    crisan_tiberiu , May 16, 2011 12:42 PM
    Olle POne additional feature of the ASRock card that isn't mentioned is its set of holes matching a socket 775 cooler. That feature was the main reason I ordered one of these cards three days ago, since I won't have to spend money on a new CPU cooler.


    ermm thats pro, since i have a socket 775 core 2 duo atm. Any other motherboards out there that suport this?? i would love to know

  • 0 Hide
    adamcom25334 , May 16, 2011 12:53 PM
    mayankleoboy1a USB 3.0 speed comparison between them would be more informative

    Agree. A USB 2.0 speed comparison would have been nice as well. Otherwise, nice review.
  • 0 Hide
    Olle P , May 16, 2011 1:56 PM
    crisan_tiberiu... socket 775 core 2 duo atm. Any other motherboards out there that suport this?
    The other two (cheaper) ASRock Z68 mobos do support it as well, but I haven't seen it with any other manufacturer.
  • 1 Hide
    User69 , May 16, 2011 2:12 PM
    It would be interesting to experiment with having multiple graphics cards, adding hard drives, using controllers, basically testing how performance between all motherboards is affected by eating up bandwidth by using the pci-e slots and controllers.
  • 1 Hide
    huron , May 16, 2011 2:44 PM
    Thanks for the excellent review. How appropriate for me, since I was just in the market for a Z68.

    Also, thanks (to the commentor) for the info about the LGA 775 compatibility with coolers - I was wondering if I was going to have to replace mine...not it looks like I might be able to use it still.
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , May 16, 2011 3:21 PM
    I'm itching for June to get here so I can finally decide, BD or SB, but in either case, the mobo will likely be ASRock.
  • -1 Hide
    cryptz , May 16, 2011 3:21 PM
    16/0/4 pcie is a joke. that really doesnt leave you room for much of anything. video card, i cant even use my raid card properly (x8) at that point. i hope x68 hurries up and gets here fast.

  • 0 Hide
    compton , May 16, 2011 3:28 PM
    I sure do love motherboard roundups. Incidentally, when I ordered my 2500k, the only motherboard in stock at the time was a H67 uATX board. So I bought it, and figured that the Z68 chipset would certainly be worth the wait. I think that it is for the most part. I'm using a pretty stripped down H67 board to boot. Even running at stock speeds, the 2500k and 2600k are pretty damn fast, so I really haven't regretted the decision. It sure feels like an upgrade from an aging Phenom II/Athlon II. The Z chipset might be icing on the cake.
  • 0 Hide
    festerovic , May 16, 2011 7:09 PM
    In previous reviews of various chipsets, I've noticed that ASrock consistently has boards with slower than normal bus speeds. Perhaps this is why they are slightly off the performance of other boards (especially the ones with faster bus speeds ie over 100Mhz)
  • 0 Hide
    huron , May 16, 2011 7:49 PM
    huronThanks for the excellent review. How appropriate for me, since I was just in the market for a Z68.Also, thanks (to the commentor) for the info about the LGA 775 compatibility with coolers - I was wondering if I was going to have to replace mine...now it looks like I might be able to use it still.

  • 0 Hide
    huron , May 16, 2011 7:49 PM
    Ooops...sorry...clicked the wrong button - was hoping to edit the post, not re-post
Display more comments
React To This Article