Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Image Quality: GeForce Vs. Radeon

StarCraft II Beta: Game Performance Analyzed
By

As always, we hope that the graphical output remains identical across vendors. In the case of StarCraft II, we are not disappointed:

As you can see, there aren't any graphical differences to note between Radeon and GeForce cards. There are some minor differences between the screenshots in some of the glows, but this is caused by variations in the scene animations. There are no actual rendered differences as far as we can tell. 

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 131 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 18 Hide
    LLJones , April 26, 2010 6:28 AM
    Nice review, never played the original, will have to give this a try. I'm tired of run and gun.

    A small request. Would you be so kind as to include a 4 series Radeon in your next review? Maybe a 4870 or 90. I know that my CF/OC 4770's give me 4890ish performance, but have no idea where this is in 5 series.

    As you used older Nv cards, I will guess that the game is DX11 but DX10(.1) playable.

    With a little luck, a few months from now, I will only need to look at the 5 series charts.
  • 17 Hide
    JonnyDough , April 26, 2010 8:31 AM
    lljonesNice review, never played the original...


    ...and....STOP. Are you serious? Git out!
Other Comments
  • 18 Hide
    LLJones , April 26, 2010 6:28 AM
    Nice review, never played the original, will have to give this a try. I'm tired of run and gun.

    A small request. Would you be so kind as to include a 4 series Radeon in your next review? Maybe a 4870 or 90. I know that my CF/OC 4770's give me 4890ish performance, but have no idea where this is in 5 series.

    As you used older Nv cards, I will guess that the game is DX11 but DX10(.1) playable.

    With a little luck, a few months from now, I will only need to look at the 5 series charts.
  • 4 Hide
    Gin Fushicho , April 26, 2010 6:36 AM
    unnn. I wanna play this game, now I feel like your teasing me Tom's.
  • 7 Hide
    IzzyCraft , April 26, 2010 6:36 AM
    "For example, Terran Wraiths are gone and there are no more Terran air units that can cloak"
    banshees yo...
  • 7 Hide
    patdohere , April 26, 2010 6:40 AM
    Cool, so one question. When does starcraft 2 come out?
  • 9 Hide
    Ragnar-Kon , April 26, 2010 6:43 AM
    lljonesWould you be so kind as to include a 4 series Radeon in your next review? Maybe a 4870 or 90.


    I have a Radeon HD 4870, and my performance on the Starcraft 2 beta is about the same (usually better) as my roommate, who has 5770. When I'm looking at the FPS it usually sits around the 78fps mark. I couldn't tell you during an intense battle because... well... I'm not looking at the FPS meter. In general, our cards performs about the same in most games we play. The rest of our systems are also comparable, with the exception that he has a significantly faster hard drive than me, which usually only comes into effect on load times (he can load a Bad Company 2 map about 15 seconds before I can load mine).

    Of course our little benchmarking isn't as precise and Tom's is, but maybe that'll give you a starting point.
  • 1 Hide
    Ragnar-Kon , April 26, 2010 6:44 AM
    ragnar-konWhen I'm looking at the FPS it usually sits around the 78fps mark..


    This should be 48 fps, not 78. Damn lack of edit.
  • 0 Hide
    drutort , April 26, 2010 6:57 AM
    i would have hopped to see more scaling and not so much cpu dependent oh well... also the multi core code hope that will improve cause everyone will soon have 3-6 cores... and if only 2 cores are giving you any advantage i hope they optimize it at least down the road
  • -2 Hide
    Lessqqmorepewpew , April 26, 2010 6:59 AM
    why does fps cap seem so low?
  • -1 Hide
    deividast , April 26, 2010 7:05 AM
    I was dissapointed that there were no GTX470/480, since i'm planning on buying them :) 
    Other thing that bothers me is a CPU :(  i have Phenom x4 at 2,3ghz and as i see this game runs better on faster CPU's :( 
    and man, i can't wait to get my hands on this game :D 
  • 4 Hide
    fragkrag , April 26, 2010 7:05 AM
    Wow, I did not expect this. I actually made a thread on TeamLiquid.net about preparing computers for this game, but a 3.06GHz i7 and an ATi 5870 getting a lowly 46FPS @ 1920x1200? That's surprising to say the least. People on TL were reporting 50ish FPS at Ultra with ATi HD 5770s..

    It also conflicts (imo) with the LegionHardware benches from about 2 months ago..
    http://www.legionhardware.com/articles_pages/starcraft_ii_wings_of_liberty_beta_performance,1.html
  • -4 Hide
    haplo602 , April 26, 2010 7:07 AM
    hmm ... so clearly widescreen is an advantage in the game ...

    anyway I do not like the ground detail in the higher (med+) graphics settings. it looks very plastic and unnatural to me ... I guess for all the eye-candy, my most used setting will be low ...
  • 8 Hide
    fragkrag , April 26, 2010 7:10 AM
    If the game is truly as CPU bound as these benchmarks suggest, what the hell is blizzard doing not making it multithreaded...
  • 8 Hide
    cangelini , April 26, 2010 7:23 AM
    bmaddno GTX480/470??


    I'd go so far as to suggest a 470 or 480 would be overkill for this, just as they'd be overkill for WoW.
  • 0 Hide
    sinny1 , April 26, 2010 7:26 AM
    920 i7 @ 3.9 with 5870 @ ultra setting and 1080 res, i get around 150-200+fps even in crazy battles (from frap)

    p.s pre-order starcraft 2 at amazon or gamestop and get a beta keys (for those who want to play NOW!)
  • 0 Hide
    CTPAHHIK , April 26, 2010 7:57 AM
    Works fine with Agena 9600 + 9600GT (197.45) on ultra preset @ 1680x1050. Latest v10 patch (one with editor). Have not noticed any slowdowns during battles.

    Offline version is limited to 1 player and 3 AIs. Not sure how online game play would be - don't have a key. Maybe playing against 7 AIs will lag.
  • 0 Hide
    amnotanoobie , April 26, 2010 8:10 AM
    Lovely to see a title with proper level of detail at the medium setting. The lastest crop of games from the past years, usually looked like crud when you even get to medium settings.
  • 9 Hide
    blacksci , April 26, 2010 8:25 AM
    Im gonna agree with these other folks up above. Sure the 5770 is a lower newer card, but most of us are rockin older cards like the 4870. Why not review with some of those, instead of just givin a review with a new card that just came out a few months ago ? No offense inteded to Toms, i read the page everyday, but lets be more realistic here. Those cards just came out,a greater majority of your reader arent even using them yet.
  • 17 Hide
    JonnyDough , April 26, 2010 8:31 AM
    lljonesNice review, never played the original...


    ...and....STOP. Are you serious? Git out!
  • 0 Hide
    listerd , April 26, 2010 8:40 AM
    Hopefully they've gotten around to fixing that nastiness in Win7 so I don't have to leave my display settings window open in order to get the colors to display correctly like I have to do when playing the original StarCraft.

    Oh... and thank goodness for the widescreen options now!
Display more comments