Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

For Reference, SSD Versus HDD: Power And Performance

Best SSDs For The Money: July 2012
By

Do you transcode video, copy large amounts of data, or run your own Web server? If you consistently perform I/O-intensive tasks, SSDs are a great way to improve speed. But even if you only browse the Internet, SSDs still offer tangible benefits in performance and power. Take a look at the CPU utilization and power consumption results from one of our recent reviews:

A disk-based drive will always consume more power absolutely. At the system level, an SSD increases power consumption because CPU and memory utilization rises in response to increased I/O activity (they're not sitting there, waiting on a hard drive to send data). But remember that an SSD-based configuration will always finish those operations faster. You see that reflected in the charts above. At the end of the day, an SSD lowers power consumption. This is why performance and power go hand-in-hand.

PCMark Vantage (x64)
HDD Suite
Average
Power Rating (W)
Actual
Power Used (mW)
Average
CPU utilization (%)
Completion Time (mm:ss)
Kingston SSDNow 100 V+
0.68514.78:06
OCZ Agility 2
1.418610.97:54
Intel X25-M
1.424210.810:17
OCZ Vertex 3 Pro
1.620715.17:41
OCZ Vertex 2
1.926913.98:28
Seagate Momentus 5400.6
2.242610.411:40
OCZ Vertex 3
2.3
305
15.1
7:50
G.Skill SATA II FM-25S2S-64GB
2.636913.58:40
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 41 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -1 Hide
    ipopeidr , July 30, 2012 4:21 AM

    Grazie per la condivisione!
  • 5 Hide
    blazorthon , July 30, 2012 4:27 AM
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0057VOVE8/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new

    $180 for the Mushkin Chronos Delux 240 GB rather than the $200 in the article. Not only that, but free shipping and this purchase is offered directly from Amazon, meaning that you get their excellent (in my experience) customer service should a problem arise. That's only $0.75 per GB for one of the fastest SandForce SSDs available!
  • 5 Hide
    bdizzle11 , July 30, 2012 5:04 AM
    "At under $1/GB, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better deal below $100."

    With daily sales and other promotions the prices of 120gb drives are especially good. I just got a 120gb kingston hyperx for $80, no MIR required. Best PC purchase in awhile in my opinion.
  • 3 Hide
    EzioAs , July 30, 2012 5:04 AM
    The title on page 2 and 3 is wrong. The recommendation was supposed to start with below $100. Please fix it guys :) 
  • 2 Hide
    envy14tpe , July 30, 2012 6:11 AM
    No Intel? 128GB for $95.
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , July 30, 2012 6:44 AM
    I was lucky enough to snag a Samsung 830 256GB for $230 on Newegg this evening. Lowest price of the year so far!

    I have three of them that I've been able to work with so far, both of the 256GB versions perform up to and above their rated speeds in real world testing. Nice having an SSD that works well with compressible and non-compressible data equally well.

  • 4 Hide
    sayantan , July 30, 2012 9:25 AM
    Price ranges are incorrect!!
  • 0 Hide
    cmcghee358 , July 30, 2012 12:22 PM
    Aww. I got a Samsung 830 128GB SSD on 6/17/2012. But my SKU is MZ-7PC128B/WW. I got it from newegg.com. I'm curious why this /WW isn't included in the list of SSDs that can get the code?
  • 1 Hide
    odiervr , July 30, 2012 12:39 PM
    FYI: Intel 330, 180 GB SSD. Great product. Newegg $160. Got one w/ rebate for $140.
  • -4 Hide
    envy14tpe , July 30, 2012 12:51 PM
    tomshardware is starting to drop the ball on why they are making choices. Now I see why people are telling me not to trust their price ratings.
  • 0 Hide
    spookyman , July 30, 2012 2:54 PM
    Sold on the Samsung. Get a free game.
  • 0 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , July 30, 2012 3:14 PM
    The problem with quoting prices is they fluctuate all the time. Prices can change daily.

    Tom's Hardware has a link to daily deals located in the news section on the left hand side of the home page. Eventually readers who follow the link find themselves at LogicBuy which is a service that lists the lowest prices at any given time. The sale prices and special promotions fluctuate daily. LogicBuy also has a web page just for drives. If you are thinking about purchasing an ssd, then it pays to check the prices at LogicBuy. The prices are well below $1.00 per GB. Recently an ssd was down to $0.50 per GB. Heck of a price but the ssd was not one I would buy.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , July 30, 2012 3:29 PM
    I don't understand why there is no Corsair Force GT in these recommandations.
    http://www.hookbag.ca/product/H3C06MOP8/ 120GB
    Maximum Read Transfer Rate 555 MBps
    Maximum Write Transfer Rate 515 MBps
    For 123$ ?
    BTW i got 2 OCZ Agility 2 and both dead withing 1 month of installling ,then went to Corsair which is more then you need ... 7.9 windows score
  • 0 Hide
    jerreddredd , July 30, 2012 3:29 PM
    interesting how the Crucial M4 is absent.... 128Gb version can be found for $90-115 on sale all throughout July, with a regular price of $130-150. very solid SSD
  • 1 Hide
    blazorthon , July 30, 2012 3:35 PM
    jerreddreddinteresting how the Crucial M4 is absent.... 128Gb version can be found for $90-115 on sale all throughout July, with a regular price of $130-150. very solid SSD


    The Samsung 830 is around for about the same price, but is significantly faster despite being similarly reliable and using slightly even lower power. The M4 is kinda like the 830's little brother when it comes to performance and unless it is priced accordingly, it is not as good of a deal as the 830 has been lately.
  • 0 Hide
    blazorthon , July 30, 2012 3:38 PM
    Yoshi ToshiI don't understand why there is no Corsair Force GT in these recommandations.http://www.hookbag.ca/product/H3C06MOP8/ 120GBMaximum Read Transfer Rate 555 MBpsMaximum Write Transfer Rate 515 MBpsFor 123$ ?BTW i got 2 OCZ Agility 2 and both dead withing 1 month of installling ,then went to Corsair which is more then you need ... 7.9 windows score


    Maybe the Kingston Hyper 3K that they recommended instead of the Corsair Force GT was cheaper than the Force GT when they looked up the prices for this article.
  • 0 Hide
    g-unit1111 , July 30, 2012 3:59 PM
    I'm planning on switching out my Intel 320 for either a Crucial M4 or an OCZ Vertex 4 - I'm waiting on the next firmware update before I decide.
  • 0 Hide
    blazorthon , July 30, 2012 4:00 PM
    g-unit1111I'm planning on switching out my Intel 320 for either a Crucial M4 or an OCZ Vertex 4 - I'm waiting on the next firmware update before I decide.


    I think that a Samsung 830 versus a Vertex 4 is a better decision to make. The M4 is a great drive, but it's not as fast as the 830, especially in the 256GB capacity. The M4 has no other perks that I know of that the 830 lacks.
  • 1 Hide
    inmytaxi , July 30, 2012 4:03 PM
    The Agility 3 is $90 not including $10 rebate for the 120 GB model at a place that doesn't advertise here.

    The Agility 4 is $100 with no rebate for the 128 GB model at ditto.
  • 0 Hide
    jacobdrj , July 30, 2012 4:14 PM
    g-unit1111I'm planning on switching out my Intel 320 for either a Crucial M4 or an OCZ Vertex 4 - I'm waiting on the next firmware update before I decide.

    I don't see why you would do that unless you were also significantly increasing your storage size simultaneously. The speed differences in most scenarios between the drive you have and the ones you are considering are negligible at best...
Display more comments