Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Overclocking

X58 On A Budget: Seven Sub-$200 Core i7 Boards
By
BIOS Frequency And Voltage Settings For Overclocking

 

ASRock X58 Extreme

Asus P6T SE

ECS X58B-A

CPU Base Clock

100 - 300 MHz (1 MHz)

100 - 500 MHz (1 MHz)

133 - 511 MHz (1 MHz)

CPU Multiplier

Yes

Yes

No

DRAM Data Rates

BCLK x6 - x16 (x2)

BCLK x6 - x16 (x2)

BCLK x6- x12 (x2)

PCIe Clocks

50 - 150 MHz (1 MHz)

100 - 200 MHz (1 MHz)

100 - 200 MHz (1 MHz)

CPU Vcore

0.84 - 2.00V (6.25 mV)

0.85 - 2.10V (6.25mV)

0.50 - 1.60V (6.25mV)

Uncore Voltage

1.20 - 1.90V (70mV)

1.20 - 1.90V (6.25mV)

+481mV (12.5mV)

IOH Core

1.10 - 1.49V (6.25mV)

1.10 - 1.70V (20mV)

+693mV (11mV)

ICH Core

1.12 - 1.56V (20mV)

1.10 - 1.40V (10mV)

+150mV (50mV)

DRAM Voltage

1.56 - 2.00V (15mV)

1.50 - 2.46V (20mV)

+945mV ((15mV)

CAS Latency

6 - 11 Cycles

3 - 11 Cycles

3 - 11 Cycles

tRCD

3 - 15 Cycles

3 - 10 Cycles

3 - 15 Cycles

tRP

3 - 15 Cycles

3 - 10 Cycles

3 - 15 Cycles

tRAS

9 - 31 Cycles

3 - 31 Cycles

9 - 30 Cycles

BIOS Frequency And Voltage Settings For Overclocking

 

Foxconn
FlamingBlade

Gigabyte
EX58-UD3R

Jetway BI-600

MSI X58 Pro-E

CPU Base Clock

66 - 500 MHz (1 MHz)

100 - 1200 MHz (1 MHz)

133 - 500 MHz (1 MHz)

133 - 400 MHz (1 MHz)

CPU Multiplier

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

DRAM Data Rates

BCLK x6 - x16 (x2)

BCLK x6 - x18 (x2)

BCLK x6 - x16 (x2)

BCLK x6 - x16 (x2)

PCIe Clock

Not Adjustable

90 - 150 MHz (1 MHz)

Not Adjustable

100 - 200 MHz (1 MHz)

CPU Vcore

+1260mV (10mV)

0.50 - 1.90V (6.25mV)

0.80 - 1.55V (10mV)

-0.32 - +0.63V (10mV)

Uncore Voltage

+1260mV (10mV)

1.08 - 2.02V (20mV)

Not Adjustable

0.88 - 1.83V (10mV)

IOH Core

1.10 - 2.36V (20mV)

1.0 - 2.0V (20mV)

1.10 - 1.25V (50mV)

0.80 - 2.35V (10mV)

ICH Core

1.40 - 1.80V (12mV)

0.92 - 2.38V (20mV)

Not Adjustable

0.70 - 2.13V (10mV)

DRAM Voltage

1.50 - 2.86V (10mV)

1.30 - 2.60V (20mV)

1.50 - 1.65V (25mV)

1.20 - 2.477V (10mV)

CAS Latency

5 - 15 Cycles

6 - 15 Cycles

3 - 18 Cycles

6 - 12 Cycles

tRCD

5 - 15 Cycles

1 - 15 Cycles

3 - 15 Cycles

3 - 15 Cycles

tRP

5 - 15 Cycles

1 - 15 Cycles

3 - 15 Cycles

3 - 15 Cycles

tRAS

10 - 31 Cycles

1 - 31 Cycles

9 - 30 Cycles

9 - 31 Cycles


Most enthusiasts are unwilling to settle for the hardware manufacturers desire to sell us at the prices they want us to pay, a fact that makes overclocking stability a big factor in many of our purchasing decisions. Let’s see how the “cheap” boards stack up.

Anyone willing to cope with a few limitations, such as its support for a maximum of three memory modules, will find Foxconn’s FlamingBlade an exceptional overclocker, while those looking for more traditional features should be able to appreciate the MSI X58 Pro-E’s close second place. Jetway’s BI-600 was limited by issues discussed in its page-eight description.

A difference of two megahertz puts the ECS X58B-A ahead of most contenders in achievable base clock.

Foxconn and Gigabyte had the highest memory clocks, but fall to the bottom of our chart due to their inability to support six modules. While either of those motherboards would make a good choice for anyone who will never use more than one matched set of memory, the MSI X58 Pro-E forges ahead in a six-DIMM configuration.

Display all 56 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    midnightgun , July 29, 2009 7:00 AM
    If I am not mistaken, the reason the Asus P6T SE is so cheap is because it does not support SLI, only supports Crossfire. Is that not correct?
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 29, 2009 7:24 AM
    Quote:
    If I am not mistaken, the reason the Asus P6T SE is so cheap is because it does not support SLI, only supports Crossfire. Is that not correct?


    At the time the review was written, the P6T SE web page read that it supported SLI. Perhaps Asus changed the web page following a complaint?

    The big difference between the P6T SE and the P6T is the missing Jmicron SATA multiplier. By removing it, Asus killed the pathway that went to it, leaving the JMB363 controller with a "dead port".
  • 0 Hide
    midnightgun , July 29, 2009 7:51 AM
    Perhaps. I have had my eye on this board since I started planning my eventual upgrade to i7/i5 architecture (MSI and Gigabyte as well). I know on ncix's forums (canada's equivalent to newegg in the states) the P6T SE had been listed as only crossfire since at least mid May.
  • 2 Hide
    midnightgun , July 29, 2009 7:52 AM
    Anywho, thanks for the review. Interesting read.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 29, 2009 8:25 AM
    midnightgunPerhaps. I have had my eye on this board since I started planning my eventual upgrade to i7/i5 architecture (MSI and Gigabyte as well). I know on ncix's forums (canada's equivalent to newegg in the states) the P6T SE had been listed as only crossfire since at least mid May.


    I never trust a seller as a source: Asus listed the P6T SE as having SLI support as little as four weeks ago, and now has a completely different page for it. They weren't the only company that advertised SLI capability and leave out the bridge, but it now appears the former P6T SE web page must have been an error, probably from the company copying its P6T page and editing it for the P6T SE, but missing one detail.
  • 0 Hide
    anamaniac , July 29, 2009 9:16 AM
    Personally I will (atleast attempting to now) head straight for the Foxconn Bloodrage with a i7 920 and 3 ddr3 1333 sticks (and give them good timings, ignoring bandwidth and attempting a lower voltage) and a 4870 1gb (due to them being quite cheap now). =D
    Though first on my priority list is a better monitor (and rent).

    Neat article regardless.
  • 2 Hide
    ceteras , July 29, 2009 10:03 AM
    What an inspiring name for the Foxconn mainboard... looks like it's a corporate culture thing.

    I've skipped the Foxconn page, wouldn't buy from them anyway.
  • 2 Hide
    Onus , July 29, 2009 1:10 PM
    Interesting read. If I were going to build an i7 rig for myself, that ASRock would probably be my choice. I'm not thrilled about the VRM heating up so much, but I only do low-moderate overclocks so it ought to be ok. The feature set of that board looks suitable.
  • 2 Hide
    gxpbecker , July 29, 2009 1:46 PM
    I am kinda surprised that the ECS board held its own against these "sronger" boards. From my past experieces ECS has been the walmart brand of mobos. :) 
  • 0 Hide
    Ryun , July 29, 2009 2:02 PM
    Question: Is the Asrock board able to go into S3 state/Standby mode? The one board I got from Asrock would not and after emailing their tech support they responded by saying that their boards do not support S3 state.
  • 1 Hide
    Aerobernardo , July 29, 2009 2:10 PM
    This is just the perferct article for me. And the timing couldn't be any bette with i5 just sround the corner. As soon as it's reviews comes out, we will now be able to compare performance and price of i5's and i7's rigs.

    Thank you Tom's. Reminds me why this is my home page since 2001.
  • 0 Hide
    Proximon , July 29, 2009 2:28 PM
    That's a whole lot of work. I agree the ASRock is maybe too hot to be my first choice, but I can't quibble on the award. Good work.
  • 0 Hide
    dman3k , July 29, 2009 2:34 PM
    Tom's should take a stand and don't even feature any Foxconn products in any reviews.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , July 29, 2009 2:40 PM
    I would like to disagree with all this talk about useless IDE connectors, I still use it for optical drives as it is still fast enough. Most systems only come with 6-8 SATA ports, why would i waste one on a crappy optical drive when i need them for faster HDDs.
    Give parallel ATA a break! it still has a valuable place on the mb!
  • 1 Hide
    randomizer , July 29, 2009 3:21 PM
    scott314159Give parallel ATA a break! it still has a valuable place on the mb!

    A very large valuable space mind you. Not to mention the air space ;) 

    The X58 Pro-E doesn't seem to like S3 sleep. The power and HDD LEDs turn off but the fans are still going and I think the HDDs might be as well. I've made it turn off completely once, but then USB didn't work right once it woke, so I had to restart anyway.
  • 0 Hide
    Kill@dor , July 29, 2009 3:46 PM
    AerobernardoThis is just the perferct article for me. And the timing couldn't be any bette with i5 just sround the corner. As soon as it's reviews comes out, we will now be able to compare performance and price of i5's and i7's rigs.Thank you Tom's. Reminds me why this is my home page since 2001.


    I don't think there will be too much difference between the 2.
  • 0 Hide
    Shadow703793 , July 29, 2009 3:49 PM
    ceterasWhat an inspiring name for the Foxconn mainboard... looks like it's a corporate culture thing.I've skipped the Foxconn page, wouldn't buy from them anyway.

    Agreed, the Foxconn boards are fine (actually quite good) for one time things on LN2 etc, but reliability for 24/7 is lacking.
  • 0 Hide
    Shadow703793 , July 29, 2009 3:52 PM
    scott314159I would like to disagree with all this talk about useless IDE connectors, I still use it for optical drives as it is still fast enough. Most systems only come with 6-8 SATA ports, why would i waste one on a crappy optical drive when i need them for faster HDDs.Give parallel ATA a break! it still has a valuable place on the mb!

    Agreed. However, they should eliminate floppy, Parallel,MIDI/GAME ports.
  • -2 Hide
    freak77power , July 29, 2009 4:17 PM
    Better purchase then board with LGA1156 socket.
  • 0 Hide
    kaydee , July 29, 2009 4:27 PM
    I've been using the MSI pro-e sli since the initial launch of this mobo. Anyhow, I've used both of the x58 pro and pro sli, and the northbridge temnperature IS a problem for both of the boards. When the PC full loaded (tried using prime, everast stability test) the NB temperature rises up to 114 degrees C. With a thermal paste and a small fan work, the temperature is lowered to 70 dC. at max, but still, it really concerns me. OC ability is at top notch. With air cooling, it is OCed at 3.2Ghz. (150Mhz) no problem what so ever. With the 3R system's prima boss 2 heatsink and enermax 120mm fan, the temperature is at 30 dC. under normal load, and 35 at max load.
Display more comments