Sign-in / Sign-up

Features Comparison

X58 On A Budget: Seven Sub-$200 Core i7 Boards
By
Sub-$200 X58 Motherboard Features

 

ASRock X58 Extreme

Asus P6T SE

ECS X58B-A

PCB Revision

1.01

1.01G

1.0

Northbridge

Intel X58 Express

Intel X58 Express

Intel X58 Express

Southbridge

Intel ICH10R

Intel ICH10R

Intel ICH10R

Voltage Regulator

Eight Phases

Eight Phases

Six Phases

BIOS

1.0 (06/11/2009)

0403 (05/19/2009)

080015 (03/23/2009)

133.3MHz Bclk

133.9 MHz (+0.425%)

133.6 MHz (+0.20%)

133.3 MHz (+0.00%)

Clock Generator

ICS 9LPRS918JKLF

ICS 9LPRS918JKLF

IDT CV193CPAG

Internal Interfaces

PCIe 2.0 x16

3 (x16/x16/x4)

3 (x16/x16/x4)

2 (x16/x16)

PCIe x1/x4

2/0

1/0

2/1

PCI

2

2

1

USB 2.0

2 (4-ports)

3 (6-ports)

3 (6-ports)

IEEE-1394

1

1

1

Serial Port

1

None

1

Parallel Port

0

None

None

Floppy

1

None

None

Ultra ATA-133

1 (2-drives)

1 (2-drives)

None

SATA 3 Gb/s

6

6

6

4-pin Fan

2

1

2

3-pin Fan

3

3

2

FP-Audio

Yes

Yes

Yes

CD Audio

Yes

Yes

Yes

S/PDIF I/O

Output Only

Output Only

Output Only

Power Button

Yes

Yes

Yes

Reset Button

Yes

No

Yes

CLR_CMOS Button

Jumper Only

Jumper Only

Jumper Only

Diagnostics Panel

2-Character

None

2-Character

I/O Panel Connectors

PS/2

2

2

2

USB 2.0

7

6

6

IEEE-1394

1

1

1

Networking

Single

Single

Single

eSATA

1

1

2

CLR_CMOS Button

Yes

No

Yes

Digital Audio Out

Optical + Coaxial

Optical + Coaxial

Optical

Digital Audio In

None

None

None

Analog Aufio

6

6

5

Mass Storage Controllers

Chipset SATA

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

Chipset RAID Modes

0, 1, 5, 10

0, 1, 5, 10

0, 1, 5, 10

Add-in SATA

JMB380 PCIe
1x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

JMB363 PCIe
1x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

JMB362 PCIe
2x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

Add-in Ultra ATA

VT6330 PCIe

JMB363 PCIe

None

IEEE-1394

VT6330 PCIe
2x 400 mb/s

VT6315N PCIe
2x 400 mb/s

VT6308P PCI
2x 400 mb/s

Gigabit Ethernet

Primary LAN

RTL8111DL PCIe

RTL8111C PCIe

RTL8111C PCIe

Secondary LAN

None

None

RTL8111C PCIe

Audio

HD Audio Codec

ALC890B

ALC1200

ALC888S

Sub-$200 X58 Motherboard Features

 

Foxconn
FlamingBlade

Gigabyte
EX58-UD3R

Jetway BI-600

MSI X58 Pro-E

PCB Revision

1.0

1.6

1.0

3.1

Northbridge

Intel X58 Express

Intel X58 Express

Intel X58 Express

Intel X58 Express

Southbridge

Intel ICH10R

Intel ICH10R

Intel ICH10R

Intel ICH10R

Voltage Regulator

Six Phases

Six Phases

Six Phases

Five Phases

BIOS

P05 (04/13/2009)

FB (05/04/2009)

A03 (05/15/2009)

8.2 (04/20/2009)

133.3 MHz Bclk

133.7 MHz (+0.28%)

133.0 MHz (-0.25%)

133.0 MHz (-0.25%)

133.8 MHz (+0.35%)

Clock Generator

ICS 9LPRS139AKLF

ICS 9LPRS914EKLF

ICS 9LPRS139AKLF

ICS 9LPRS133BKLF

Internal Interfaces

PCIe 2.0 x16

2 (x16/x16)

2 (x16/x16)

4 (2x x16 or 4x x8)

3 (x16/x16/x4)

PCIe x1/x4

1/1

2/1

0/1

2/0

PCI

2

2

1

2

USB 2.0

2 (4-ports)

2 (4-ports)

2 (4-ports)

3 (6-ports)

IEEE-1394

None

1

None

1

Serial Port

None

1

1

1

Parallel Port

None

None

None

None

Floppy

1

1

1

None

Ultra ATA-133

1 (2-drives)

1 (2-drives)

1 (2-drives)

1 (2-drives)

SATA 3 Gb/s

6

8

6

7

4-pin Fan

1

2

1

1

3-pin Fan

2

4

2

3

FP-Audio

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

CD Audio

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

S/PDIF I/O

Output Only

Input + Output

Output Only

Output Only

Power Button

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Reset Button

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

CLR_CMOS Button

Yes

Jumper Only

Yes

Yes

Diagnostics Panel

2-character

None

2-Character

None

I/O Panel Connectors

PS/2

1

2

2

2

USB 2.0

6

8

8

6

IEEE-1394

None

1

None

1

Networking

Dual

Dual

Dual

Single

eSATA

2

None

2

1

CLR_CMOS Button

Yes

No

Yes

No

Digital Audio Out

Optical

Optical + Coaxial

Coaxial

Optical

Digital Audio In

None

None

None

None

Analog Audio

6

6

6

6

Mass Storage Controllers

Chipset SATA

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s

Chipset RAID Modes

0, 1, 5, 10

0, 1, 5, 10

0, 1, 5, 10

0, 1, 5, 10

Add-in SATA

JMB363 PCIe
2x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

JMB363 PCIe
1x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

JMB363 PCIe
2x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

JMB363 PCIe
1x SATA 3.0 Gb/s
1x eSATA 3.0 Gb/s

Add-in Ultra ATA

JMB363 PCIe

JMB363 PCIe

JMB363 PCIe

JMB363 PCIe

IEEE-1394

None

TSB43AB23 PCI
3x 400 mb/s

None

JMB381 PCIe
2x 400 mb/s

Gigabit Ethernet

Primary LAN

RTL8111C PCIe

RTL8111C PCIe

RTL8111C PCIe

RTL8111C PCIe

Secondary LAN

RTL8111C PCIe

None

RTL8111C PCIe

None

Audio

HD Audio Codec

ALC888

ALC888

ALC888

ALC889

Display all 56 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    midnightgun , July 29, 2009 7:00 AM
    If I am not mistaken, the reason the Asus P6T SE is so cheap is because it does not support SLI, only supports Crossfire. Is that not correct?
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 29, 2009 7:24 AM
    Quote:
    If I am not mistaken, the reason the Asus P6T SE is so cheap is because it does not support SLI, only supports Crossfire. Is that not correct?


    At the time the review was written, the P6T SE web page read that it supported SLI. Perhaps Asus changed the web page following a complaint?

    The big difference between the P6T SE and the P6T is the missing Jmicron SATA multiplier. By removing it, Asus killed the pathway that went to it, leaving the JMB363 controller with a "dead port".
  • 0 Hide
    midnightgun , July 29, 2009 7:51 AM
    Perhaps. I have had my eye on this board since I started planning my eventual upgrade to i7/i5 architecture (MSI and Gigabyte as well). I know on ncix's forums (canada's equivalent to newegg in the states) the P6T SE had been listed as only crossfire since at least mid May.
  • 2 Hide
    midnightgun , July 29, 2009 7:52 AM
    Anywho, thanks for the review. Interesting read.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , July 29, 2009 8:25 AM
    midnightgunPerhaps. I have had my eye on this board since I started planning my eventual upgrade to i7/i5 architecture (MSI and Gigabyte as well). I know on ncix's forums (canada's equivalent to newegg in the states) the P6T SE had been listed as only crossfire since at least mid May.


    I never trust a seller as a source: Asus listed the P6T SE as having SLI support as little as four weeks ago, and now has a completely different page for it. They weren't the only company that advertised SLI capability and leave out the bridge, but it now appears the former P6T SE web page must have been an error, probably from the company copying its P6T page and editing it for the P6T SE, but missing one detail.
  • 0 Hide
    anamaniac , July 29, 2009 9:16 AM
    Personally I will (atleast attempting to now) head straight for the Foxconn Bloodrage with a i7 920 and 3 ddr3 1333 sticks (and give them good timings, ignoring bandwidth and attempting a lower voltage) and a 4870 1gb (due to them being quite cheap now). =D
    Though first on my priority list is a better monitor (and rent).

    Neat article regardless.
  • 2 Hide
    ceteras , July 29, 2009 10:03 AM
    What an inspiring name for the Foxconn mainboard... looks like it's a corporate culture thing.

    I've skipped the Foxconn page, wouldn't buy from them anyway.
  • 2 Hide
    Onus , July 29, 2009 1:10 PM
    Interesting read. If I were going to build an i7 rig for myself, that ASRock would probably be my choice. I'm not thrilled about the VRM heating up so much, but I only do low-moderate overclocks so it ought to be ok. The feature set of that board looks suitable.
  • 2 Hide
    gxpbecker , July 29, 2009 1:46 PM
    I am kinda surprised that the ECS board held its own against these "sronger" boards. From my past experieces ECS has been the walmart brand of mobos. :) 
  • 0 Hide
    Ryun , July 29, 2009 2:02 PM
    Question: Is the Asrock board able to go into S3 state/Standby mode? The one board I got from Asrock would not and after emailing their tech support they responded by saying that their boards do not support S3 state.
  • 1 Hide
    Aerobernardo , July 29, 2009 2:10 PM
    This is just the perferct article for me. And the timing couldn't be any bette with i5 just sround the corner. As soon as it's reviews comes out, we will now be able to compare performance and price of i5's and i7's rigs.

    Thank you Tom's. Reminds me why this is my home page since 2001.
  • 0 Hide
    Proximon , July 29, 2009 2:28 PM
    That's a whole lot of work. I agree the ASRock is maybe too hot to be my first choice, but I can't quibble on the award. Good work.
  • 0 Hide
    dman3k , July 29, 2009 2:34 PM
    Tom's should take a stand and don't even feature any Foxconn products in any reviews.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , July 29, 2009 2:40 PM
    I would like to disagree with all this talk about useless IDE connectors, I still use it for optical drives as it is still fast enough. Most systems only come with 6-8 SATA ports, why would i waste one on a crappy optical drive when i need them for faster HDDs.
    Give parallel ATA a break! it still has a valuable place on the mb!
  • 1 Hide
    randomizer , July 29, 2009 3:21 PM
    scott314159Give parallel ATA a break! it still has a valuable place on the mb!

    A very large valuable space mind you. Not to mention the air space ;) 

    The X58 Pro-E doesn't seem to like S3 sleep. The power and HDD LEDs turn off but the fans are still going and I think the HDDs might be as well. I've made it turn off completely once, but then USB didn't work right once it woke, so I had to restart anyway.
  • 0 Hide
    Kill@dor , July 29, 2009 3:46 PM
    AerobernardoThis is just the perferct article for me. And the timing couldn't be any bette with i5 just sround the corner. As soon as it's reviews comes out, we will now be able to compare performance and price of i5's and i7's rigs.Thank you Tom's. Reminds me why this is my home page since 2001.


    I don't think there will be too much difference between the 2.
  • 0 Hide
    Shadow703793 , July 29, 2009 3:49 PM
    ceterasWhat an inspiring name for the Foxconn mainboard... looks like it's a corporate culture thing.I've skipped the Foxconn page, wouldn't buy from them anyway.

    Agreed, the Foxconn boards are fine (actually quite good) for one time things on LN2 etc, but reliability for 24/7 is lacking.
  • 0 Hide
    Shadow703793 , July 29, 2009 3:52 PM
    scott314159I would like to disagree with all this talk about useless IDE connectors, I still use it for optical drives as it is still fast enough. Most systems only come with 6-8 SATA ports, why would i waste one on a crappy optical drive when i need them for faster HDDs.Give parallel ATA a break! it still has a valuable place on the mb!

    Agreed. However, they should eliminate floppy, Parallel,MIDI/GAME ports.
  • -2 Hide
    freak77power , July 29, 2009 4:17 PM
    Better purchase then board with LGA1156 socket.
  • 0 Hide
    kaydee , July 29, 2009 4:27 PM
    I've been using the MSI pro-e sli since the initial launch of this mobo. Anyhow, I've used both of the x58 pro and pro sli, and the northbridge temnperature IS a problem for both of the boards. When the PC full loaded (tried using prime, everast stability test) the NB temperature rises up to 114 degrees C. With a thermal paste and a small fan work, the temperature is lowered to 70 dC. at max, but still, it really concerns me. OC ability is at top notch. With air cooling, it is OCed at 3.2Ghz. (150Mhz) no problem what so ever. With the 3R system's prima boss 2 heatsink and enermax 120mm fan, the temperature is at 30 dC. under normal load, and 35 at max load.
Display more comments