Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Assembly And Installation

Cooler Master Cosmos SE Case Review
By

Power Supply Installation and Cable Routing

The power supply is decoupled from the bottom of the Cosmos SE by two rubber strips. It isn’t isolated from the back of the case, though. Fortunately, most of today's PSUs run quietly enough to make this unnecessary. As Cooler Master often likes to do with its cases, the frame that the PSU is screwed onto stands out from the back to provide some extra space. This way, PSUs up to 28 cm-long can be accommodated without removing the hard drive cages.

Cooler Master's Cosmos SE provides plenty of opportunities for cable routing, keeping the case nice and tidy. There are enough rubberized cable holes in the frame and cable loops on the back of the motherboard tray to hold the wiring in place. A generously-sized opening up top can be used for eight-pin EPS connectors or fan cables.

You'll want to fasten a majority of the cables out of sight to the back of the motherboard tray. There are 3.4 cm worth of space for them there due to the pushed-out side wall.

Optical Drives and Hard Drives

The Cosmos SE offers space for three 5.25-inch drives, even though only the top two bays are usable in the stock configuration. The two side retention elements of the hard drive cage need to be reinstalled at a 90-degree angle to use the third one, which results in the loss of two 3.5-inch drive bays and the space for the top-front fan.

Without the front fan, all but the bottommost drive bays can be converted to the 5.25-inch format by simply and effectively refastening some screws. The space gained by removing the appropriate drive bay can be used to accommodate longer graphics cards.

Up to 12 drives in the 3.5-inch format can be installed using tool-less sledges that are pulled out to the side of the case. They feature basic decoupling and hold the hard drive with four metal pins instead of screws.

Alternatively, each sledge can be used to accommodate a 2.5-inch drive on the top and the bottom. The bottom one sits so tightly that it could have done without screws.

The two bottom bays are turned by 90 degrees from the factory, which means that the drives installed in them can be removed without opening the case. You simply have to remove the front dust filter and pull them out the front. We’re not sure why Cooler Master opted to forgo the obvious hot-swapping option, especially in a $170 case.

We did encounter a problem installing SSDs, and let Cooler Master know leading into our review. The company reacted quickly to our assertion though, and promised to fix it immediately. As proof, we were given internal documents that we can’t show here. The problem shouldn’t manifest starting with the next batch out of Cooler Master's factory. In case you already ended up with one of the older models, the company's support is promising to mail out the correct parts quickly.

Originally, Cooler Master provided only M3x8 screws for the SSD installation. Using them, some (but not all) SSDs could be screwed on via the bottom, and barely any of them could be screwed on to the sides. The M3x5 screws needed for broader compatibility should be included moving forward.

Motherboard, Graphics Card, and CPU Cooler

The motherboard spacers have to be screwed in using an included tool. The opening in the motherboard tray, which is perfect for servicing the CPU cooler's backplate, is, as usual for Cooler Master, generously-sized. Even if the installation holes on your platform are off to one side, as in the image below, they're still easy enough to access.

The Cosmos SE accommodates CPU coolers up to 17.5 cm-tall and graphics cards up to 27.6 cm-long. That last stat increases to 39.5 cm if the drive bays behind the graphics card are removed. We actually measured almost 40 cm-long in this configuration.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 30 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -6 Hide
    VVV850 , February 12, 2014 12:57 AM
    Why put "carrying handles" on a 10KG (when empty) case? IMHO they are useless and add to the total weight and from my experience, when you have finished assembling your new PC you add approximately 5KG to the weight of the case. 15Kgs with carrying handles...
  • 6 Hide
    SessouXFX , February 12, 2014 1:09 AM
    The handles, more or less adds to the look, and strangely enough, some guys take theirs to a Lan party. I once read a review where some guy complained about not having a way to carry his Corsair 800D around to Lan parties,and complained about the case feet breaking off. So there's some numbskulls out there that can't seem to figure it out for themselves...The way I see it, in the case you need to move your case around, at least you have them. You may not want to move it around all the time, but it's better to have them and not need them, than to need them and find your back thrown out of whack because of lifting it without them.
  • 2 Hide
    blackmagnum , February 12, 2014 1:13 AM
    $170 gaming god of a case. Nothing can beat it at this price. If only it would come in pink... for Valentine's...
  • 1 Hide
    JOSHSKORN , February 12, 2014 2:36 AM
    Was this case not available 3 months ago?
  • 5 Hide
    cypeq , February 12, 2014 2:58 AM
    Quote:
    Why put "carrying handles" on a 10KG (when empty) case? IMHO they are useless and add to the total weight and from my experience, when you have finished assembling your new PC you add approximately 5KG to the weight of the case. 15Kgs with carrying handles...
    No one is forcing you to get this one with carry handles... CM and others provide you with plenty of choice. I for one would prefer to have them on quality case. Even if I have to move it only few times a year ( I have CM Storm Scout ).I say bless that handle it's so much easier to pick up and move around, and I have one hand free to open doors grab cables whatever. I is just very convenient.

    P.S. 15 kg one handed should not be a problem for you, bro do you even lift ? ;-D
  • 5 Hide
    pf12351 , February 12, 2014 3:50 AM
    I am actually quite glad this review is out, I bought this just last week. I got all my components in!
  • 2 Hide
    pf12351 , February 12, 2014 3:50 AM
    Also, it is 10.8 KG. The handles do help a tonne.
  • 0 Hide
    ubercake , February 12, 2014 4:46 AM
    I never really got the point of putting front fans in a case whose airflow is immediately blocked by HDD bays or mounts turned sideways (even those not occupied due to design). I understand turning the mounts saves space in the depth direction, but completely blocks the intake's airflow. This is why I think it is key for any advanced case to be designed to allow you to remove the HDD bays that aren't in use. Why even bother with fans whose output has to pass through a bunch of obstacles? This renders the intake of airflow virtually ineffective.
  • 0 Hide
    GoliathPtXs , February 12, 2014 5:37 AM
    This case needs a REV.2 with that 3rd optical issue solved. waiting for it. either that or the new fantastic corsair graphite 760T...decisions... decisions...
  • 2 Hide
    Au_equus , February 12, 2014 5:41 AM
    "The screw holes for the radiator could have been a bit more toward the side of the case to avoid collisions between tall CPU coolers and thick radiators (or radiators with fans on both sides)."

    Is it not the idea of using radiators is to avoid using tall CPU coolers? The biggest concern for watercooling in regards to the top radiator mount is clearing the tall memory heatsinks that some memory manufacturers use.
  • 0 Hide
    ubercake , February 12, 2014 5:47 AM
    Quote:
    "The screw holes for the radiator could have been a bit more toward the side of the case to avoid collisions between tall CPU coolers and thick radiators (or radiators with fans on both sides)."

    Is it not the idea of using radiators is to avoid using tall CPU coolers? The biggest concern for watercooling in regards to the top radiator mount is clearing the tall memory heatsinks that some memory manufacturers use.


    True. Also, the heatsinks over the power section of the motherboard need to be considered. This usually becomes an issue with a lot case designs. A case with a motherboard that mounts too close to the top of the case itself is definitely a design flaw in the age of radiators and low-cost self-contained liquid coolers.
  • 1 Hide
    VVV850 , February 12, 2014 7:08 AM
    The reason I wrote that I don't find the point in putting handles on a heavy case (15Kgs built PC is not by any chance LAN party material even if you lift bro :) ) is because I would love to see handles on quality cases made of aluminum (Lian Li for example) from which a full ATX case weighs about 5-6 Kgs empty. Believe me: a 10kg full ATX PC (that I drag around at the end of the week) is significantly light than a PC built using this case.Another thing, cases made of plastic and steel are not quality cases (my opinion) even if they are properly built and properly designed.In the end, I agree that the handles may help some.
  • 0 Hide
    ram1009 , February 12, 2014 7:33 AM
    I wish I could still buy an Enlight.
  • 0 Hide
    burkhartmj , February 12, 2014 7:37 AM
    I think the reason the handles don't necessarily make huge sense is because if you're looking to lug a desktop to LAN parties, it's becoming more and more feasible to get a mini-ITX or even micro-ATX case that is WAY smaller and WAY lighter than this. This is the route I'll be going for my next desktop build, either with a Cooler Master Elite 130 or a BitFenix Prodigy.

    On the other hand extra features don't hurt, especially when they're executed well, and we all have to transport our desktop at some point, even if it's only once in a blue moon or when moving. On top of that, while smaller computers are getting feature parity fast, they can't quite measure up to something like this yet, and will never have the expandability of something this size.
  • 1 Hide
    James Mason , February 12, 2014 7:38 AM
    From my experience with the original Cosmos S, the handles on the bottom actually make the case super easy to push around on a carpeted floor, which is nice because when you have 4 hard drives 4 graphics cards and a 1000W psu in the thing it gets pretty freaking heavy, and the handles on top do make carrying it around a bit easier, the Cosmos S was freaking huge for a computer case, carrying it by like you would a mid tower or mini tower is a bit unfeasible because it's so big it blocks your vision.
  • 0 Hide
    chumly , February 12, 2014 9:13 AM
    Ugly!
  • 0 Hide
    lp231 , February 12, 2014 9:43 AM
    Those who had this case says the motherboard tray isn't enough room to allow easy installation of SATA cables and other connectors that needs to be plugged along the edge.
  • 0 Hide
    jimmysmitty , February 12, 2014 10:12 AM
    Quote:
    The handles, more or less adds to the look, and strangely enough, some guys take theirs to a Lan party. I once read a review where some guy complained about not having a way to carry his Corsair 800D around to Lan parties,and complained about the case feet breaking off. So there's some numbskulls out there that can't seem to figure it out for themselves...The way I see it, in the case you need to move your case around, at least you have them. You may not want to move it around all the time, but it's better to have them and not need them, than to need them and find your back thrown out of whack because of lifting it without them.
    In all honesty, I have lifted one of these filled with components and the handles do not help in lifting the case much in that case as it puts all the weight pulling down. It is still easier to properly lift it with your legs and arms around it. I honestly was never a fan of the Cosmos series, mainly as I don't know who would want to move such a large case around very often. If I got a case like this, or the Corsair 900D which I would over this, I wouldn't move that thing around much at all. Just too large and too heavy for that.
  • -2 Hide
    ZippyPinhead , February 12, 2014 4:46 PM
    Another cheap wannabe NERD case from CM, the king of the nerd case mfg's!
  • -1 Hide
    toddybody , February 12, 2014 6:28 PM
    170.00 for that? Oh gosh, its one ugly case. I hope the feature set provides value to folks though...
Display more comments