Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Temperatures And Noise

Cooler Master Cosmos SE Case Review
By

Temperatures

Airflow, and in turn temperatures, look good thanks to a generous fan setup straight from the factory, including three 12 cm and one 14 cm fans. This is in spite of the side wall, which is closed as a concession to the case’s looks. If you want even better cooling performance, you can instead opt for the version of this chassis with a mesh side wall instead.

A combination of the hot Haswell-based CPU and Radeon HD 7970 poses no problem for the Cosmos SE model we're reviewing, though. Because Cooler Master doesn't outfit the enclosure with a fan controller, we only really had one configuration to benchmark. Our thermal results show that even lower fan speeds are possible with headroom to spare.

Temperatures under Full Load: Cooler Master Cosmos SE
Ambient Temperature
19.3 °C
CPU (Core i5-4670K) TCore 60.9 °C
GPU (Radeon HD 7970)
70-71 °C
(Fan 37% = 2122 RPM)
Hard Drive
22 °C

An average core temperature of 60.9 °C under load during the last 10 minutes of our benchmark represents admirable cooling performance. Thermalright's True Spirit 140(BW) is a well-built (and yet quiet) CPU cooler that leaves enough headroom for overclocking within the usual limits imposed by the Haswell architecture. The power-hungry Radeon HD 7970 hovers between 70 and 71 °C at only 37 percent of its fan’s maximum speed (2122 RPM). The hard drive bays are right behind the two front case fans, which keep our storage device at a frosty 22 °C. We did measure all of those temperatures at a relatively low ambient temperature of 19.3 °C, though.

Noise

The Cosmos SE looks nice, is built using high-quality materials, and delivers solid cooling performance. Silent, however, it is not. Aside from the whole system's noise measurements, which vary depending on the specific components used and are only included in the table for completeness, the case falls somewhere between 38.9 and 39.1 dB(A). This is the base noise level produced by the bundled fans at their stock 1200 RPM, from a distance of 50 cm. It’s too bad that Cooler Master doesn't also include a fan controller. Lower rotational speeds would be just fine for a non-overclocked system.

Noise: Cooler Master Cosmos SE
 Case Fans Only
Entire System, IdleEntire System, Full Load
Front (50 cm)39.1 dB(A)41.9 dB(A)44.4 dB(A)
Upper-Left Diagonal (50 cm)38.9 dB(A)40.2 dB(A)43.1 dB(A)
Upper-Right Diagonal (50 cm)39.1 dB(A)39.5 dB(A)42.1 dB(A)

The stock fans do rattle a bit. This is barely noticeable as long as they operate at their stock RPM, but much more prominent if their speed is decreased. If you're planning to turn the Cosmos SE into a quiet system, you'll probably want aftermarket fans in addition to a controller. Conversely, if you don't care about the stock rotational speed or if you actually want the higher airflow, Cooler Master's Cosmos SE provides a satisfactory cooling solution right out of the box.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 30 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -6 Hide
    VVV850 , February 12, 2014 12:57 AM
    Why put "carrying handles" on a 10KG (when empty) case? IMHO they are useless and add to the total weight and from my experience, when you have finished assembling your new PC you add approximately 5KG to the weight of the case. 15Kgs with carrying handles...
  • 6 Hide
    SessouXFX , February 12, 2014 1:09 AM
    The handles, more or less adds to the look, and strangely enough, some guys take theirs to a Lan party. I once read a review where some guy complained about not having a way to carry his Corsair 800D around to Lan parties,and complained about the case feet breaking off. So there's some numbskulls out there that can't seem to figure it out for themselves...The way I see it, in the case you need to move your case around, at least you have them. You may not want to move it around all the time, but it's better to have them and not need them, than to need them and find your back thrown out of whack because of lifting it without them.
  • 2 Hide
    blackmagnum , February 12, 2014 1:13 AM
    $170 gaming god of a case. Nothing can beat it at this price. If only it would come in pink... for Valentine's...
  • 1 Hide
    JOSHSKORN , February 12, 2014 2:36 AM
    Was this case not available 3 months ago?
  • 5 Hide
    cypeq , February 12, 2014 2:58 AM
    Quote:
    Why put "carrying handles" on a 10KG (when empty) case? IMHO they are useless and add to the total weight and from my experience, when you have finished assembling your new PC you add approximately 5KG to the weight of the case. 15Kgs with carrying handles...
    No one is forcing you to get this one with carry handles... CM and others provide you with plenty of choice. I for one would prefer to have them on quality case. Even if I have to move it only few times a year ( I have CM Storm Scout ).I say bless that handle it's so much easier to pick up and move around, and I have one hand free to open doors grab cables whatever. I is just very convenient.

    P.S. 15 kg one handed should not be a problem for you, bro do you even lift ? ;-D
  • 5 Hide
    pf12351 , February 12, 2014 3:50 AM
    I am actually quite glad this review is out, I bought this just last week. I got all my components in!
  • 2 Hide
    pf12351 , February 12, 2014 3:50 AM
    Also, it is 10.8 KG. The handles do help a tonne.
  • 0 Hide
    ubercake , February 12, 2014 4:46 AM
    I never really got the point of putting front fans in a case whose airflow is immediately blocked by HDD bays or mounts turned sideways (even those not occupied due to design). I understand turning the mounts saves space in the depth direction, but completely blocks the intake's airflow. This is why I think it is key for any advanced case to be designed to allow you to remove the HDD bays that aren't in use. Why even bother with fans whose output has to pass through a bunch of obstacles? This renders the intake of airflow virtually ineffective.
  • 0 Hide
    GoliathPtXs , February 12, 2014 5:37 AM
    This case needs a REV.2 with that 3rd optical issue solved. waiting for it. either that or the new fantastic corsair graphite 760T...decisions... decisions...
  • 2 Hide
    Au_equus , February 12, 2014 5:41 AM
    "The screw holes for the radiator could have been a bit more toward the side of the case to avoid collisions between tall CPU coolers and thick radiators (or radiators with fans on both sides)."

    Is it not the idea of using radiators is to avoid using tall CPU coolers? The biggest concern for watercooling in regards to the top radiator mount is clearing the tall memory heatsinks that some memory manufacturers use.
  • 0 Hide
    ubercake , February 12, 2014 5:47 AM
    Quote:
    "The screw holes for the radiator could have been a bit more toward the side of the case to avoid collisions between tall CPU coolers and thick radiators (or radiators with fans on both sides)."

    Is it not the idea of using radiators is to avoid using tall CPU coolers? The biggest concern for watercooling in regards to the top radiator mount is clearing the tall memory heatsinks that some memory manufacturers use.


    True. Also, the heatsinks over the power section of the motherboard need to be considered. This usually becomes an issue with a lot case designs. A case with a motherboard that mounts too close to the top of the case itself is definitely a design flaw in the age of radiators and low-cost self-contained liquid coolers.
  • 1 Hide
    VVV850 , February 12, 2014 7:08 AM
    The reason I wrote that I don't find the point in putting handles on a heavy case (15Kgs built PC is not by any chance LAN party material even if you lift bro :) ) is because I would love to see handles on quality cases made of aluminum (Lian Li for example) from which a full ATX case weighs about 5-6 Kgs empty. Believe me: a 10kg full ATX PC (that I drag around at the end of the week) is significantly light than a PC built using this case.Another thing, cases made of plastic and steel are not quality cases (my opinion) even if they are properly built and properly designed.In the end, I agree that the handles may help some.
  • 0 Hide
    ram1009 , February 12, 2014 7:33 AM
    I wish I could still buy an Enlight.
  • 0 Hide
    burkhartmj , February 12, 2014 7:37 AM
    I think the reason the handles don't necessarily make huge sense is because if you're looking to lug a desktop to LAN parties, it's becoming more and more feasible to get a mini-ITX or even micro-ATX case that is WAY smaller and WAY lighter than this. This is the route I'll be going for my next desktop build, either with a Cooler Master Elite 130 or a BitFenix Prodigy.

    On the other hand extra features don't hurt, especially when they're executed well, and we all have to transport our desktop at some point, even if it's only once in a blue moon or when moving. On top of that, while smaller computers are getting feature parity fast, they can't quite measure up to something like this yet, and will never have the expandability of something this size.
  • 1 Hide
    James Mason , February 12, 2014 7:38 AM
    From my experience with the original Cosmos S, the handles on the bottom actually make the case super easy to push around on a carpeted floor, which is nice because when you have 4 hard drives 4 graphics cards and a 1000W psu in the thing it gets pretty freaking heavy, and the handles on top do make carrying it around a bit easier, the Cosmos S was freaking huge for a computer case, carrying it by like you would a mid tower or mini tower is a bit unfeasible because it's so big it blocks your vision.
  • 0 Hide
    chumly , February 12, 2014 9:13 AM
    Ugly!
  • 0 Hide
    lp231 , February 12, 2014 9:43 AM
    Those who had this case says the motherboard tray isn't enough room to allow easy installation of SATA cables and other connectors that needs to be plugged along the edge.
  • 0 Hide
    jimmysmitty , February 12, 2014 10:12 AM
    Quote:
    The handles, more or less adds to the look, and strangely enough, some guys take theirs to a Lan party. I once read a review where some guy complained about not having a way to carry his Corsair 800D around to Lan parties,and complained about the case feet breaking off. So there's some numbskulls out there that can't seem to figure it out for themselves...The way I see it, in the case you need to move your case around, at least you have them. You may not want to move it around all the time, but it's better to have them and not need them, than to need them and find your back thrown out of whack because of lifting it without them.
    In all honesty, I have lifted one of these filled with components and the handles do not help in lifting the case much in that case as it puts all the weight pulling down. It is still easier to properly lift it with your legs and arms around it. I honestly was never a fan of the Cosmos series, mainly as I don't know who would want to move such a large case around very often. If I got a case like this, or the Corsair 900D which I would over this, I wouldn't move that thing around much at all. Just too large and too heavy for that.
  • -2 Hide
    ZippyPinhead , February 12, 2014 4:46 PM
    Another cheap wannabe NERD case from CM, the king of the nerd case mfg's!
  • -1 Hide
    toddybody , February 12, 2014 6:28 PM
    170.00 for that? Oh gosh, its one ugly case. I hope the feature set provides value to folks though...
Display more comments