Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Content Creation

The Core i7-4770K Review: Haswell Is Faster; Desktop Enthusiasts Yawn
By

Intel's Haswell architecture is finally available in the flagship Core i7-4770K processor. Designed to drop into an LGA 1150 interface, does this new quad-core CPU warrant a complete platform replacement, or is your older Sandy Bridge-E system better?

We run a couple of different 3ds Max-based tests using this year’s and last year’s versions of the software. The outcome is pretty consistent from one to the other, though. Clearly-visualized utilization of all available physical and logical cores maps over to a result chart that rewards the CPUs armed with the most parallelized architectures. Core i7-3930K takes first place, with -4770K not far behind. The quad-module/octa-core FX-8350 takes third when we sort by 3ds Max 2013. However, it essentially ties Core i7-3770K. When you consider that’s a $330 Intel chip against a $200 AMD CPU, the Piledriver-based offering looks pretty good.

Our Blender workload favors Intel’s Core i7-3930K by more than 30 seconds compared to the second-place -4770K. Quad-core Ivy Bridge and Sandy Bridge processors file in behind, with AMD’s FX-8350 trailing closely.

Based on Maxon’s Cinema 4D software, our scripted Cinebench test measures single- and multi-core processor performance. We’re simply not concerned with OpenGL-based graphics frame rates in this piece.

Haswell turns in the fastest single-core time slip, just as we expected. Ivy Bridge is just behind, and both processors based on Intel’s Sandy Bridge architecture nearly tie. FX-8350 and A10-5800K are based on AMD’s Piledriver architecture, explaining why they’re so close, too.

Once we crank up the threading, Intel’s hexa-core Core i7-3930K screams into the lead, trailed by the Haswell-based -4770K and the Ivy Bridge-based -3770K. Core i7-2700K and FX-8350 nearly tie yet again.

Display all 410 comments.
Top Comments
  • 53 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 48 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 43 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
Other Comments
  • 48 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 43 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
  • 3 Hide
    Danny N , June 1, 2013 7:16 AM
    Biggest question is if its worth upgrading my cpu i5 750 4.0ghz to Haswell or my gfx card ati 5870 to nvidia 7xx, my main pc use is for Maya, After FX and some fps gaming. Any input would be appriciated cause I'm leaning towards a cpu upgrade atm.
  • 15 Hide
    bergami , June 1, 2013 7:29 AM
    I want to know more about Iris
  • 20 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:34 AM
    Seriously. What did people expect? Of course it's better but nothing out of the ordinary for Intel.
  • 5 Hide
    enewmen , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    For me it's not about the 10% gain over SB. It's more like a huge gain over a C2Q, floating point performance over SB (should matter later), and lower watts. I hope THG can expand the Power Consumption and Media Encoding later - check the Watts idle more and fast quick-sync media encoding quality loss. My 2 cents..

    EDIT:
    other sites have reported much lower watts idle, so a lot doesn't make sense or the 4770k has a very slow throttle.
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/56005-intel-core-i7-4770k-22nm-haswell/?page=15
    http://www.techspot.com/review/679-intel-haswell-core-i7-4770k/page13.html
  • 29 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    thiemo56Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.

    Of course not. No one should upgrade from Sandy or Ivy to this, unless you are the 1%.
  • 53 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 12 Hide
    sl6 , June 1, 2013 7:46 AM
    I was looking to make a new system based around this. Looks like Ivy-E will be more promising for the FPS.
  • -4 Hide
    tomfreak , June 1, 2013 7:50 AM
    Still dont get it, can we still OC the lock CPU via BCLK?
  • 26 Hide
    anort3 , June 1, 2013 7:51 AM
    Well crap. And early overclocking looked so good.
  • 3 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 1, 2013 7:53 AM
    1.4770K sucks harder than the preview showed it to be.

    2. Another thing i noticed, the FX8350 was a big total energy hog. That is one point AMD fanbois dont talk.

    3. Chris , no specialized AVX2 softwares ? No AVX enabled Handbrake in tests ?
    4. Would have liked to see some -/AVX2 compiled software in here. Maybe left for another "compiler tuning on Haswell piece" ?
  • 16 Hide
    DAsianFatass , June 1, 2013 7:54 AM
    016iveIntel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenome X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generations to make more money

    Yeah, I agree with ya. Without competition there is no innovation. As for intel, "I am disappoint"
  • 14 Hide
    unknown9122 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    I still don't get why intel went with a new socket if they consider the desktop to be "dying"... I think this is AMDs chance to shine
  • 6 Hide
    thasan1 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    is it me or the most exiting news in this review powerPC thing and im not even from US.......
  • 8 Hide
    Icecweam7 , June 1, 2013 8:04 AM
    Is Intel changing its ways to now slownevate the industry? What is Intel's R&D doing? Are they too busy counting their bonuses, stocks, cigars, wine, tee time golf, and vacation trips? *Looks skyward with palm to the face and many yawns
Display more comments
React To This Article