Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Compression Apps

The Core i7-4770K Review: Haswell Is Faster; Desktop Enthusiasts Yawn
By

Once upon a time, we were able to get decent scaling out of WinRAR. Now the Core i7-3930K, -4770K, and -3770K all pile up on top of each other, trailed closely by the -2700K. FX-8350 and A10-5800K are the laggards.

7-Zip typically responds much better to the addition of cores, and we certainly see the Core i7-3930K’s six cores distance themselves from Core i7-2700K’s four, both chips  based on Sandy Bridge. Of course, Ivy Bridge and Haswell chip away at that advantage with greater IPC throughput. However, neither newer architecture is able to overcome the raw performance of Sandy Bridge-E. If you spent $500-something on a Core i7-3930K more than a year and a half ago, you’re still very happy with it today.

Our WinZip chart includes several results, since we first test using the CPU cores, and then follow that up by enabling OpenCL acceleration to offload some of the workload. Of course, we know from talks with Corel that the GPU only kicks in on files larger than 8 MB. Because our 1.3 GB archive is a mix of different sizes and types, only some of this benchmark is aided by turning on OpenCL.

The red CPU bar shows us that Core i7-4770K turns in the fastest result, outpacing the six-core -3930K (the assumption there is that WinZip doesn’t scale much beyond four cores, since the Sandy Bridge-E part also loses to Ivy and Sandy Bridge).

Adding OpenCL support brings down the time of all solutions by at least a few seconds, since we’re maintaining the same GeForce GTX Titan graphics card through our suite’s benchmark runs.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 410 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 54 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 49 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 44 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
Other Comments
  • 49 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 44 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
  • 3 Hide
    Danny N , June 1, 2013 7:16 AM
    Biggest question is if its worth upgrading my cpu i5 750 4.0ghz to Haswell or my gfx card ati 5870 to nvidia 7xx, my main pc use is for Maya, After FX and some fps gaming. Any input would be appriciated cause I'm leaning towards a cpu upgrade atm.
  • 15 Hide
    bergami , June 1, 2013 7:29 AM
    I want to know more about Iris
  • 20 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:34 AM
    Seriously. What did people expect? Of course it's better but nothing out of the ordinary for Intel.
  • 5 Hide
    enewmen , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    For me it's not about the 10% gain over SB. It's more like a huge gain over a C2Q, floating point performance over SB (should matter later), and lower watts. I hope THG can expand the Power Consumption and Media Encoding later - check the Watts idle more and fast quick-sync media encoding quality loss. My 2 cents..

    EDIT:
    other sites have reported much lower watts idle, so a lot doesn't make sense or the 4770k has a very slow throttle.
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/56005-intel-core-i7-4770k-22nm-haswell/?page=15
    http://www.techspot.com/review/679-intel-haswell-core-i7-4770k/page13.html
  • 29 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    thiemo56Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.

    Of course not. No one should upgrade from Sandy or Ivy to this, unless you are the 1%.
  • 54 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 12 Hide
    sl6 , June 1, 2013 7:46 AM
    I was looking to make a new system based around this. Looks like Ivy-E will be more promising for the FPS.
  • -4 Hide
    tomfreak , June 1, 2013 7:50 AM
    Still dont get it, can we still OC the lock CPU via BCLK?
  • 26 Hide
    anort3 , June 1, 2013 7:51 AM
    Well crap. And early overclocking looked so good.
  • 3 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 1, 2013 7:53 AM
    1.4770K sucks harder than the preview showed it to be.

    2. Another thing i noticed, the FX8350 was a big total energy hog. That is one point AMD fanbois dont talk.

    3. Chris , no specialized AVX2 softwares ? No AVX enabled Handbrake in tests ?
    4. Would have liked to see some -/AVX2 compiled software in here. Maybe left for another "compiler tuning on Haswell piece" ?
  • 16 Hide
    DAsianFatass , June 1, 2013 7:54 AM
    016iveIntel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenome X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generations to make more money

    Yeah, I agree with ya. Without competition there is no innovation. As for intel, "I am disappoint"
  • 14 Hide
    unknown9122 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    I still don't get why intel went with a new socket if they consider the desktop to be "dying"... I think this is AMDs chance to shine
  • 6 Hide
    thasan1 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    is it me or the most exiting news in this review powerPC thing and im not even from US.......
  • 8 Hide
    Icecweam7 , June 1, 2013 8:04 AM
    Is Intel changing its ways to now slownevate the industry? What is Intel's R&D doing? Are they too busy counting their bonuses, stocks, cigars, wine, tee time golf, and vacation trips? *Looks skyward with palm to the face and many yawns
Display more comments